We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grecotel Rhodos Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just back from Rhodes flying from Bournemouth. Hot and sunny every day and the rooms lovely-we, were on the 4th floor in the main block so had a good view of the pool, the lovely gardens, and lots of sea! Towels are provided in the rooms and for the beach/pool, which you can change every couple of days. The pool gets quite crowded so we went into the nice garden and used the shade of the trees around midday. Sunbeds seem plentiful and you do not have to 'reserve' them by putting towels on them, but there are a limited number near the pool. The beach is quite stony so you need 'sand shoes/aqua shoes' as even in the water it is a bit rocky. Seems to get deep quite quickly too, you can see the bottom, but its further down than you think.
The hotel is in need of refurbishment which someone said its getting when it closes this autumn, as the rooms needed a coat of paint and bits needed doing outside. I had to push my wife in a wheelchair sometimes, and although they have ramps around the hotel, there is no easy way for semi-disabled people to get into or out of the pool. We saw some 'older people' struggling. The gaps in come of the pathways certainly need smoothing over and levelling.
Food is good and plentiful, and has a wide variety-salads are lovely. There are 2 good separate restaurant to visit- Madame Butterfly serving Asian food and the Yacht Club serving Greek. This one doubles as the beach restnt during the day, and has a bar. There are also free drinks machines here, and another one near the main pool, where you can get coke, orange, sprite, beer, water and coffee all day long, which must have saved employing several waiters. These are also in the main restnt for meals, and in the evenings you get free wine.
There were quite a lot of Germans and Russians staying, but they tend to keep to themselves, although we did chat to a nice young couple from Stuttgart who hired a car for 3 days. (Good idea-not that dear, and you can get around the island easily-I forgot to take my license).
Must say thanks for looking after us to a couple of people-Nectaria, Dragana, and the 'fried egg man'.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_shute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    186
    70
    22
    9
See reviews for
258
160
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This would have been our fourth time that we had been to the Rhodos Royal and it never fails to make our holiday OUTSTANDING - this time was our Honeymoon and it was the best ever (Chris the Guest Relation Manager made sure that we were really looked after - Thanks). Yes it is a more traditional hotel, but is just has something that makes us want to come back year after year - is it the outstading staff, is it the hotel, is it the food & drink - it is all of it!. As two adults we cant comment on the family details, but there were plenty of WELL BEHAVED kids that seem to have a great time, but here I will try to explain our feelings:

Rooms: We go for a sea view as they are all a good size and to look over the grounds and the sea is fantastic. They are traditional rooms, comfy beds, towels and bedding changed daily with plenty of hot water and decent air conditioning (if you are british the TV is rubbish with only BBC world, but who goes away for the TV). We loved to sit on the balcony to watch the sun set!

Hotel: The hotel is spread out over a few levels with the fantastic well developed grounds and plenty of places for peice and quiet. There are two out door pools with loads of beds and unbrellas and an indoor spa / pool. We sat on the beach each day, had no issue with getting a sun bed any time of the day and the hotel supplied towels that were changed daily (the beach is part sand part shingle so take beach shoes) - the sea / beach is Blue Flag and is just heavenly. if the pool or the beach were not for you, plenty sat on the grass under the trees. Being all inclusive, the drinks are decent quailty (mainly local) with self serve soft drinks machines, beer, wine and coffee at the beach bar and in the hotel. The bar staff remember what you like and happily keep you topped up - we loved the cocktails! Also there is ice cream ready to self scoop, pop corn being cooked and mid afternoon Crepes being cooked fresh, just in case you get hungry!

Food: The main buffet restaurant is well laid out, with plenty of FRESH food cooked on show and a theme each day. The salads, meats (grilled, in sauce and carvery), fish, pasta and greek choices made you want to dive in and boy did we!, there is plenty of fresh fruit, desserts and lovely ice cream! - what more could you want The staff were just fantastic lead by Nectaria who has been at the hotel for 17 years and she remebers us each time we come - it makesyou feel really special. Do sit on the terrace, you over look the hotel grounds and the sea - very romantic!
The other resturant we went to is Madame Butterfly with decent asian food and table service - we went twice it was so good. This time we did not eat at the other one, but heard good comments.

Entertainment: The team do try, but it was not for us! we did love the outside entrainment they bought in with the tribute groups like the Drifters and Ill Divo.

Conclusion: We just keep comming back and will be booking for 2014 again. I would recomend that you do try this hotel and see if it gets under your skin like it has ours. Oh by the way there is only a smattering of Brits (which we fine with us), there plenty of Germans and Russians and NONE were drunk or too rude. They expect decent service hence why this hotel is so popular.

In the UK the best way of getting there is through First Choice, they are OK, our flight was on time and it is just a 20min transfer (on the way we were first drop off).

In some way I feel guilty about writing this report as this hotel has been our secret, but I cant help myself - I hope you find it of interest.

Room Tip: Get a Sea View or a Garden Room (remeber though the Garden Rooms can be looked into)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We had our honeymoon here last year with 23 of our family and friends joining us. We stayed in 1 of the bungalows in the grounds of the hotel, it was lovely. The hotel also has 2 blocks. Our families were spread amongst both blocks and the rooms were mostly lovely.
Lots of entertainment going on daily in the pool. The animation team work so hard keeping everyone amused throughout the day and it was nice havibg clean towels daily. The evening entertainment does get samey but a lot of effort goes into it.
The 2 pools are lovely, water aerobics and polo keep everyone amused as do the water slides for the little ones.
We preferred the beach bar. The bar manager down there was amazing, nothing was too much trouble for him. Wine and beer on tap!!!!! We were ordering irish frappe most mornings by 11am. Pancakes every afternoon at 4 kept the kids amused.
The quality of the food was pretty good, when you're all inclusive food always tends to get a bit samey by the second week. However there was a good selection everyday. We also booked into the a la carte and chinese which was well worth it.
The hotel was in a good location for the water park, the animation team arrange a weekly trip there at a discounted rate. You can pick up the bus outside the hotel into rhodes town. Its beautiful and not to be missed.
There is also a lovely shopping centre outside the hotel selling leather bags
Gifts and niknaks. Also some nice bars when you feel the need to escape.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed for a week last September and will definitely return here. We had a bungalow room, close to the pool, restaurants and bars and a short walk to the beach. Perfectly situated, a week of sun, peace and relaxation. Room: a lovely roomy bungalow in the gardens, no one above us, our own patio and lovely lawn to relax on. Patio was furnished and we had 2 loungers as well which we used on the grass, either under the shade of a tree or in the sun. Room cleaned very well every day and towels replenished, cheerful and accommodating cleaners who looked after us well. Food: Main buffet restaurant was well laid out, good choice of hot foods, the most delicious salads, fresh bread at every meal, choice of desserts, fresh fruits etc. Different theme every night with show cooking stations as well as an authentic Greek Corner at every meal. In addition to the main buffet we could book at either the Greek or Asian al a carte restaurants. We tried the Greek, which was in the Beach bar and it made a nice change to be waited on, didn't get chance to try the asian. Breakfast was served in the main restaurent, also lunch or this was also available at the beach. We ate at the beach every day, always something different, nice salads, bread, desserts etc. Drinks: very drinkable wine - too drinkable some nights! Excellent range of cocktails, very friendly and efficient bar staff, especially at the beach bar. Beer, wine, soft drinks, tea, coffee, hot chocolate - all available to help yourself to from dispensing machines, ice cream whenever you wanted to help yourself to a scoop, popcorn machines - struggled to try all on offer!
Entertainment: a hard working team who tried their best to entertain everyone. Great show time productions, even tho we didn't understand some of it, it was still thoroughly entertaining. At the beach bar one night we had a Drifters Tribute band who were excellent, followed by a disco and dancing - a great evening.
Beach: Plenty of sun beds and parasols, beach towels complimentary and changed every other day, you need some beach shoes as the shore line is a bit stony and rocky in places. The grounds and hotel are spotless, the staff very pleasant and helpful, small shopping centre you can walk to for a mooch, Faliraki just down the road tho we didn't bother to visit. Rhodes town about 30 mins on bus which stops just outside hotel. Very easy trip, old town is just fantastic and well worth the visit.
Only negative was the smallish number of tables to eat al fresco and had to queue most times. Having said that, the staff were very efficient at getting you placed as soon as possible and you weren't rushed afterwards.
We had a really good time and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow perfect for 2. Ask for single storey as no neighbour noise at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bob4sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Riley, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed there for a week in October and absolutely loved it. The staff at the hotel is very attentive and polite. Initially we wanted to pay for an upgrade, because we were worried we would have a room facing towards the street but we ended up in a side-ocean view room and enjoyed the sunrise every morning. Room was cleaned and picked up nicely every day (even folded our clothes). I recommend taking advantage of the yacht club dinner, we didnt make it to the Asian place before it closed for the season. Loved the bars and all kinds of cocktails were served on request.
There is only two negative things, and I hate to say that, was the rude russians there (cut in line, bump in to you without apologizing, very ignorant) and the wooden path on the beach definitely needs a redo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

1 week holiday in july at grecotel,we stayed in one bungalow room.
The food is great!the roomservice is perfect,very clean everywhere,very friendly staff,nice wiews ,you have shops very close to the hotel(5 mins)but if you want some more fun and not a quiet place than this hotel is not for you(lots of childrens ,not too many young people)For me and my husband it was perfect because we wanted something like this(we are 25 and 27 years old).There are lots of spectacles for children and also a few for adults(opera,club music...etc)
It was interested and I loved it.........

Room Tip: bungalows are the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ancuta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from 26th September '12 for 10 nights and loved it! It was very relaxing and enjoyable. Hotel was lovely and clean, upon arrival were offered food in the restaurant even though evening meal time was nearly over. Nice room, nothing wrong with it at all, just slightly different to other hotels as it was carpeted instead of tiled floors. We also booked a sea view room which we got and it was very nice, better to do that if you don't want one of the back rooms with a view of a childrens playground or road. Also e-mailed the hotel after booking requesting a high floor room for personal preference which we received so was nice to know they'd listened to that. Very comfortable rooms overall as air con was included in the room, as was a safe and key at no extra cost, also a mini fridge with a bottle of water supplied every day. Was very clean, maid service every day. Beach towels were also supplied at no extra cost and could be changed every other day. The food was nice, always something on offer for everyone, lots of greek salad and different meats, but also things like spag bol and chips. Lovely service team in restaurant. Highly recommend the a la carte meal at the yachting club beach bar, was gorgeous and nice break from the usual buffet. However a couple we met did not recommend the asain a la carte at all so we gave that a miss. Good selection of drinks on offer, soft drinks available all day and evening to help yourself to, only downside for us was the wine! all the wine was dry so had to make them spritzers. Other than that the bar staff were lovely and by the end of the holiday we didn't even have to ask for our drinks as they knew what we had! We stayed by the beach the first half day but the rest of the holiday were around the pool, the beach just wasn't for us, not proper sand and full of slippery rocks on entry into the sea, it was clean and a lot of other guests used it, but we just preferred relaxing by the pool next to the bar! Only slight down side to the pool, and the hotel I suppose, was the amount of German people, not many English at all but they all kept themselves to themselves, just found the ones we did come across very arrogant and rude. We weren't very interested in the entertainment stuff, but the team were very friendly and not pushy at all. As we went outside school holidays, only kids around were foreign, not many but did notice kids clubs all day and in the evening and a few played on the slides so can still recommend the hotel for families with children. There was a little shop just outside the hotel across from reception where we went for a paper everyday and a little market to the left of the hotel to wander round with a few bars, old fashioned pharmacy and cash machine. We had a walk towards Faliraki one night after talking to our rep and walked about 20 mins to 2 bars she recommended, Georges and King Arthur's. It was end of season so not that busy but still a nice change from the hotel and can imagine them been busy mid season. Overall it was a fab holiday, so relaxing which is exactly what we needed, would recommend to anyone, any age. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Best to book a room with a view, also helpful to e-mail hotel with any preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#6 of 74 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#4 of 74 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#10 of 74 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
1.3 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Rhodos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Rhodos Royal

Property: Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Address: Rhodes-Kallithea Ave | PO Box 426, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Faliraki
#6 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Rhodos Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Grecotel Rhodos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Rhodos Royal Faliraki, Rhodes
Grecotel Rhodos Royal Hotel Faliraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing