We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$183
View deal
eDreamsUS$183
PricelineUS$192
Agoda.comUS$192
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
373
212
62
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
373
212
62
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte snack bar rhodes town sister hotel free pedalos main bar veal english guests crepes bar staff bus stop outside the hotel pool towels sea view room the hotel shop plenty of sunbeds sun loungers hotel is lovely
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

At first look this hotel is great. All inclusive including all drinks - international brand alcohol. Food whenever you want it. Pool and own sunloungers on the beach. But look past this and you'll find a hotel that's fading a little. The pool was a little unclean and the paint was peeling off. The pool-side sunloungers were hit and miss - you'd sometimes get a broken one. But I'll give an objective review for you.

Room - twin room (even though was told it was double.) Hard beds as is the Greek way. Sofabed. We had a seaview which was lovely but noisy at night due to the entertainment being that side - but it was all over by 11pm. Good aircon. 2 wardrobes, one set of drawers, safe and hangers. Maid service every day with fresh towels for bath and pool/beach.

Food - mainly orientated to the German clientèle - 90% of guests were German. About 1% English. They did theme nights: Rhodian, Greek, Italian. Food very good and plenty of variety. A la carte restaurant which you can visit once per stay is rubbish. Really not worth it. Stick with the buffet and you'll be fine. Breakfast is a good mix of cooked and continental. Coffee and tea not quite up to UK standards but that's more to do with the milk. Lunch is served in snack bar where you can go in your swimming cossies. Good mix of salads, hot and cold dishes - and toasties & chips if you're missing them! Evening meal in restaurant - long trousers a must. Again a good mix but can get a little repetitive.

Entertainment - each night there is a mini disco for the kids (and the young at heart!) either in Calypso Hotel or Calypso Palace across the road. After that there is a mix of all sorts of things from karaoke to latin dancing. We enjoyed most of the entertainment but the "crazy show" would have made more sense if we were German.

Location - the hotel is about a 5 min. drive from Faliraki centre - 5 euros in a taxi or 2.20 on the bus. There isn't much in the vicinity - a 5/10min walk will take you to the Epsilon centre which has a few shops and restaurants. The beach side is good though with watersports discounted for hotel guests, glass bottom boat trips and the sea-bus to Rhodes town and to Faliraki.

Beach - take beach shoes. It's not quite sand and it's not quite shingle. Somewhere painfully in the middle! You can buy beach shoes from the hotel shop. The sea is quite shallow to the left side and deeper to the right. It is stony to get in and out and can be quite a struggle. There are plenty of sunloungers - they're not mean to be reserved but we saw people going down to the beach at 6am to put their towels down on the front row. Madness but true.

Excursions - there are plenty of excursions with Thomas Cook or you can do them separately. I would advise doing a few with TC as you get a lot more for your money. We went to Symi - a neighbouring island - 40 euros each. 5 hours on a boat, a random stop at a monastery and a visit to Symi town. It was ok but not the best. Went to Marmaris, Turkey - 50 euros each. Well worth it. Spent full day there and saw lots - spent lots too. Would recommend Kalithea Springs - go on the little train and take snorkels. Lots of fish to chase. Also do the glass bottomed boat trip - picks you up from the beach - do the last one in the day at 3pm because you get longer on the boat/in the sea. Again take snorkels. There are other excursions available.

Overall - a good hotel, friendly staff and a lovely two weeks in Rhodes. I would say that the only downside was the huge number of Germans there. Even the rep did admit that it was a very German hotel and not a usual Thomas Cook place. I didn't think it would matter too much as I grew up in Germany, but being surrounded by people who don't speak English was really claustrophobic. They also like to stare a lot and "give evils". Not the highlight of the holiday. We did meet a few other English people but they are few and far between.

This hotel is good for couples and families. Expensive but worth it. Try the spa treatments - amazing!

Room tip: Sea view is best - the other side over looks the sister hotel and a busy road.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank katystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Travelled with my partner on 8th Sept for 7 nights. Booked via Thomas Cook. Arrived at 8pm on the Saturday and decided to not get the transfer as it 1hr 30mins. Taxi was 15 mins and 28 euros which i would recommend doing. We did use the coach transfer going back.
At arrival to Hotel we checked in speedily and we were advised the restaurant was open until 9.30 so we could grab a bite to eat.
We were on the 6th floor which looked out on to the main road and facing the Calypso Palace which is the sister hotel.
Room was nice and clean. Towels are not massive. We used the blue ones for the beach and the maids were happy to change on request. Pillows are note great, i took my own after reading other reviews.
There is someone partrolling the beach so if you do take your own towels i would recommend you take one of the hotel towels with you as they ask if you dont have any what hotel you are staying at.
Breakfast was ok. ** I am pregnant so my tastes are a little all over the place** The hot stuff was the generic type to be expected. Didnt have this though as didnt fancy it. stuck to toast, cereal and pancakes. The fruit juice wasnt great seemed watered down.
Never had lunch in the restaurant we stayed down in the snack bar. Choice was good and varied and catered for most tastes. Was always something on offer that i thought was good.
Dinner was again decent. Due to my haywire tastes i didnt take full advantage but my partner did and was pleased with it.
Beach was lovely and clean. Went there every day apart from the last day. Went by the pool on the last day, had no issue in getting a sun bed. Pool was nice and my partner was like a big kid on the flume ! Also there were inflatables round the pool to use.
There is a shop on site which is reasonably priced and stocks everything. My flip flops broke so had to get some new ones.
all staff were friendly.
Was not a huge fan of the evening entertainment but thats personal choice. In the day they had Aqua Gym, volleyball, darts etc. Seemed to be fairly popular.
On the Friday evening there was a bbq outside which was really nice and had traditional greek entertainment.
We stayed on in the room until 5pm which cost an extra 50€ but it meant that we could enjoy the day before departing and could shower etc.
Was a lovely holiday, great hotel. Could not fault it overall.. Shall go back with the little one in a few years.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Me and my partner travelled here for a week Sep 2012, we originally booked another hotel however thomas cook moved us here due to an over booking. We arrived at 1am an were quickly given our room. The staff were excellent all week, very welcoming. Hotel was spacious and spotless!! minimal children, mostly older couples. Cant really fault this hotel, having never been to Greece and usually a regular at Sharm in Egypt, we would definitly go back to Greece and this hotel. However we would not trust Thomas Cook again. But the hotel was excellent, even the all inclusive were english brands such as smirnoff, southern comfort, bells etc. and wine was self service. Lovely week!!

Room tip: Ask for pool/sea view as we had a road view
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sophieee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Myself and boyfriend have just returned from the Hotel Calypso Beach after staying for 10days.
We booked through Thomas Cook and arrived at the hotel at 9pm. We checked in without a problem although the receptionist did speak at a rate of knots! Then the porter took our bags to our room on the second floor.
The room itself was great, lovely balcony that overlooked the sister hotel but we could still see the beach. Yiu are given beach towels as well as normal towels. These are changed daily which is a plus point. The bed is quite low and a bit hard but to be honest we still managed to have a good nights sleeps. The rooms are cleaned every day too.
That evening we went to the buffet restaurant and were greeted by Niko the restaurant manager, very welcoming and friendly. Afterwards we sampled the cocktail list from the main bar, very impressive!!
We had a meeting with our rep Milly, who was very approachable and knowledgable about the hotel and Rhodes itself. We booked the Medevial Knight trip to Rhodes Town, which includes a late afternoon tour of the town, a meal, time spent to wander the streets and then a evening cruise along Mandaki Harbour. Rhodes Town is beautiful packed with history and small windy streets. Our second trip was to Lindos for a half day. Fantastic day, we would recommend seeing the Acropolis! A fair climb to the top certainly in 35 degree heat but worth it!! 6 Euros to enter, you can also get a donkey to take you up and down. But the climb isnt too bad, just take water with you!
Back to the hotel- the sunbed situation that seems to be mentioned in most reviews wasnt a problem for us. It may be because we went in September but the hotel was still packed. We managed to get the same sunbeds for the 10 days we stayed. Perfect view of the beach but close to the pool bar. Plus the beach is just a short step away, loved swimming in the sea!
The hotel has a pool bar and snack bar, the snack bar is probably easiest for lunch, lots of salads, pasta, burgers, chips etc. Try the kebabs they are amazing!! The pool bar was great for beers, wine, coctails, ice teas and soft drinks. We did find sometimes the pool bar staff could be a tad off hand but whether that just be their nature we werent sure. The staff in the buffet restaurant, a la carte, snack and main bar were fantastic very friendly! Partiularly George in the main restaurant, such a lovely man, also chatty and friendly each day and we got the same table each night. Also George and Stavros we make the best cocktails in the main bar!!!
You can visit the a la carte once during your stay and should book within 2 days after arrival as it can get busy. We went half way through our visit, it didnt blow us away, the food was bit cold and my boyfriends chicken was very dry. It was fine but the main restaurant we found was much better.
The main restaurant was excellent, beautiful views over the sea. The food was great, lots of choice. The desserts in particular were fantastic! Most nights they have a theme whether it be Rhodian night, Italian night. But the best one was the Greek Night, they closed the restaurant and we ate on the terrace overlooking the pool and the sea, the spread of food was amazing. Salads, fruit, desserts, pastas and they had a BBQ cooking chicken, kebabs and ribs. What a super night!!
The entertainment is hotel standard but the animation team work so hard during the day and night. However, a few nights they were live music, singers, dancers. The one we enjoyed most was Stardust-four girls who dance and sing to 40s, 50s, 60, 70s music, They were great very enjoyable evening.
The pool area is great lovely lagoon style with a slide and water fall feature, perfect for cooling off. It was always clean and it had a lovely aray of plants, flowers and trees, very tropical feel.
We were only a 20minute walk to Falaraki which was great to stretch our legs and we did go out a few times, nice bars and clubs but the streets are lined with people trying to entice you to go in! There is only a shopping complex and some bars and cafes to the right of the hotel about a 10min walk. Great for a change and some souvenirs.
There were a few things that did niggle us, the mini bar is not restocked after you arrive. It would be nice if water or soft drinks could be topped up daily. In the evening when we were geting ready it would have been nice to watch other TV channels other than BBC World Service and CNN. Some of the reception staff could be friendly particularly when we checked out. We asked about the courtesey room to use and she basically said to us in a curt way come back after 6 and ask then, then she walked off. Not the best check out we have had, not even asked if we enjoyed our stay.
Overall the hotel is super, lovely pool area, most staff very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely time just relaxing and enjoying the high 30 degree sunshine. Would certainly return in the future.

Room tip: Our room was 246 and overlooked the road but could still see the beach. Can be a bit noisy if you sleep with the balcony door open but the AC works very well.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa22Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just returned from there. It is a lovely hotel with great atmosphere. You can spend 2 weeks in the hotel without ever leaving it and feel perfectly well, even if I would not recommend it because Rhodos is a very beautiful island with lots to discover. The rooms are very large and tastefully decorated, everything functioned perfectly in our room. The beds were quite hard, but this problem got solved with an additional mattress which was brought to your room 3 minutes after we complained at the reception. The food was very good too, consisting mainly of natural products which you can mix according to your taste. The meal/pork and the greek dishes are great too; there is always at least one greek speciality at every meal. For those who cannot find anything to suit their taste (which I can hardly imagine), there is always spaghetti and chips at every meal too. It is a pity that breakfast and dinner are served in the restaurant which is not open-air, but it has a nice atmosphere and is air-conditioned. Lunch is served both in the restaurant and in the snack bar outside. There are three bars to choose from, one open until 11 p.m., another one until 12 p.m. and the third until 2 a.m., you can order imported drinks and don't have to pay for it, it is really all inclusive. There is also a cosy open-air terrace with white sofas where you can take your drink and relax with sea-view. You can choose between a big lawn, the pool and the beach to spend your time during the day; there are sun beds everywhere, and while it is indeed complicated to find a sunbed near the pool if you get up after 8 a.m. (in September), there are ALWAYS free sun beds on the beach which is indeed very big. The staff is immaculately friendly; on our arrival, we were immediately greeted and welcomed by the restaurant manager who is there every day at all meals (!) and greets all guests personally. The waiters work very fast, and most of them always have a smile and nice words for you. There is no comparison to Turkey where I always had the impression that the staff wants something from me or tries to 'use' me in some way. In this hotel, everyone is friendly, whether you give them tips or not. The only persons who were not really friendly were at the beach bar, and they still did their job fast and without problems. ANY problem we have seen in these two weeks came from the guests; especially English guests are unfortunately often very unfriendly and ill-bred, though I generally have a very good opinion on the English. The hotel itself is just perfect and does everything to make you feel well. We saw many (obviously) regular guests cuddling the waiters and talking to them in the most intimate manner, which is a sign that you are not just treated a paying guest in this hotel but as a welcomed one.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schneewein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews