We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Calypso
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

we have just returned from Calypso Hotel and would like to saywhat a great hotel this was, it is ideal for couples and families alike,the food was very good, location very good. The staff cant do enough for you and the waiters are so happy and pleasant we had Tsam sam for short and he knew just what to serve us every morning and night he remembered everything we had. The hotel is very clean the rooms were always spotless,the only downfall is I don't think it is ideal for anyone disabled

Room Tip: our room was on the5th floor and we slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 173jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    170
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
209
201
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at calypso hotel for 1 week. The hotel was very good, clean staff friendly. We like to go out at night and i had heard from a friend back home that she had visited a fantastic bar while here a few years ago called King Arthurs castle. We decided visit on our second night and we were very impressed. The staff were genuinely friendly and couldnt do more to make our experience there better. Lovely cocktails and great live music and really good hypnotist show. We visited the bowling alley also which was great fun and a good idea for a bar. We really enjoyed visiting lindos and rhodes town. Beautiful places and not hard to get to. Definitely would come back to faliraki!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megmb0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

After staying here for last two weeks of summer holidays , we were in a large group of 23 in week 1 down to 13 week 2 as my sister was getting married.
Our room was next to the lifts on roadside - very noisy ,both from road and lifts and had to be moved to another room also roadside end of week one as could cope no longer with the lifts bing all night.. room was huge but still noise from road but refused to pay extra for sea view. On this note room very clean , maids were great and attentive.
Hotel receptionists i found rude and not friendly or helpful at all except for one lady who was always smiling and extremely helpful shame the rest let her down (i was convinced this was we were english too defo favour the other nationalities here).
The food was very repetitive but always warm and areas kept clean.. negative on this is not alot of choice for kids therefore my daughter lived on chips and bread!
Entertainment was very disappointing .. no bbqs and much the same ... for a 4 star expected better. As we in a large group we could overcome this but would struggled had we been on our own.
As for the sunbeds.. although a large group we did only save beds for those that would use (ie not for kids) which were all taken up and used straight after breakfast if we didnt use them all would always remove towels to ensure others could use these.. but getting up at 6:30 every morning was awful however week 2 we could still get a bed at 8:30 so got better...
All in all a clean hotel, great all inclusive package but let down by entertainment ....

Room Tip: get a seaview room away from lifts and you be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniealexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Myself, husband and 2 chidren ages 13 and 9 spent the last 2 weeks of August at the Calypso Beach and had a great holiday. Having been all inclusive on virtually every holiday we have had since my eldest was born, I think the Calypso offers outstanding value in terms of the food and drinks available and facilities. We have been to some very fancy hotels in the past that despite their posh furnishing do not offer the standard of service here, particularly the restaurant and snack bar where tables are cleared and cleaned at lightening speed and not left to pile up as they are in so many buffet places.

A big plus for us is that our 13 year old is still classed as a child here which makes a huge cost difference. I do find it absurd with most hotels you are charged an adult rate for 12 years and over despite them obviously not drinking alcohol and if anything like my son eating mainly pasta dishes especially when you are 4 in a room. So all in all highly recommended. The kids loved the slide, and really enjoyed the twice daily water polo. The location is great with a little shopping centre 10 minutes up the road and within easy access to Rhodes town. Plenty of water sports and boat trips to choose from and spectacular virtually guaranteed sunshine.

There are 2 down sides firstly the entertainment which is fairly minor because they do try but the same fire show 3 times in 2 weeks is just too repetitive. Secondly the big downfall is the sunbed situation around the pool, which would put me off ever booking again. Being a pool person rather than a beach person we would have to set the alarm for 6 am to get a bed by the pool which is hardly a rest. Obviously peak season this is always a problem and there were a couple of large groups of 10 and 12 where one person was reserving beds for the whole group. However there has to be a better solution especially when some of those sun beds were then not even used until 3 in the afternoon! I have never understood why hotels never have enough sunbeds after all that's why we are there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAYCASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Calpso Beach.The rooms were very big and spacious, best rooms we have ever had. The food in the snack bar was very nice and the meals in the dining room of a night was delicious and up to a high standard. The only thing we didnt like about the meals was that they had a barbacue every fortnight and a fish night serving nothing but fish delacacies eg : swordfish with eyes and mouth in, prawns and other funny stuff that looked horrible. The hotel inside was very clean and nice. Every all inclusive hotel we have stayed in gives you coloured bands to prove your over or under 18 but they give you cards instead though we prefer bands. We got clean towels everyday and the pool area was very impressive with the slide. We got a few sunbeds by the beach which suited me and my parents though if you wanted a seat by the pool you had to get it at 5am in the morning. The entertainment was medioka but I think some of the entertainment staff didnt have a clue about what entertaining your guests mean. I have stayed in kalathea quite a few times and the Calypso beach and the Esperides hotel are the best hotels on the strip. There wasnt any faults with this hotel and I was very impressed with it as I had a lovelly holiday and stayed in a fabulous hotel, I would definatly come back again. ps The guy in the snack bar does very nice cheese and ham toasties. thankyou for a fab stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. XX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived at 6am to find people going out to get their sunbeds, when we got to our room shortly after we look out to find most of the beds already gone.
So unfortunately there is no lie ins at this hotel, if you want a sunbed you have to endure the shame of trudging past reception at 6am towels in hand.
Apart from that it is all good.
IF YOU BOOK WITH THOMAS COOK WATCH OUT, YOU ONLY GET 13 NIGHTS, AS THE 1ST NIGHT YOUR ARE TRAVELLING, THE ROOM IS BOOKED FOR YOU??
BUT ON THE LAST NIGHT WHEN YOU HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL 3am YOU ARE IN THE RECEPTION ALL NIGHT THEY ARE NO HELP YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN.
WE LUCKILY GOT ANOTHER ROOM AT A COST OF 90 EUROS.

Room Tip: We had a sea/pool view, other side looks onto a road and hotel opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScyphusSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just returned from 10 days here. myself, husband and teenage daughter shared a top floor sea view room.

daughters bed settee for large and comfortable compared to many in hotels she has slept on. Our pushed together twin beds were rock hard first night, but tipped off by reviews here we asked for mattress toppers and they were great after that.

Hotel is very clean, excellent service and friendly staff. Facilities are good, food is always available as is drink.

The food was very good, it is not totally repetative as many reviews say, it is always laid out the same but there is always a different choice of meats, fish, specials etc. I can see that for salad dodgers there might be an issue but if you are happy to try many different types of food, fruit and vegetables then it is a ball. Very heathly options always available.

There are a number of different seating options and areas at night so you can sit quietly and watch the sea at the pool bar or laugh at the kitsch entertainment if you are that way inclined.

There is a nice childrens pool seperate from teh main pool area with a lovely set of slides and mini paddle boat, it is close to the kids club and play area, well set out I thought. The more adult pool is good with seperate parts, some in shade which was handy. It is very clean and good water quality.

There are lots of different areas for laying around:pool side, grassy, beach, under trees, under umbrella's. If you want a particular type of spot then yes you need to get up and put towels out but I always saw some sunbeds around free even after 10am. There is an air line for pumping up blow up rings etc. The shot walk from hotel to sea is easy and the beach belonging to the hotel is sandy and clean. There are some stones as you first enter the sea but after that it is all sand. If you are particularly sensitive take swim shoes, as my husband did, but daughter and I were happy to kick flipflops off at the sea (sand was very hot) and just walk in. There are free facilitie son the beach like pedlos and kayacks and some thing you need to pay for like banana boats and paragliding. It is all close by but not intrusive.

There are great boat trips and boat taxis from right near the hotel, but we also hired a car for a few days so we could go inland to explore too.

The hotel shop is a fair price for essential medicals or beach hats, shoes, lilos, even swimmers and compared very well to local pharamcies and supermarkets. Suncream was cheaper in the hotel than other local shops.

We looked at a number of other hotels and pool/beach facilities and came to the conclusion this was one of the best in this area and this area is the best we saw in our trips around Rhodes.

I was really worried about how close to Falaraki it appeared to be and it's longstanding 'party' reputation. This hotel is so not that. It was perfect for us. I am very happy with the holiday we had.

I recommend paying for a sea view and being higher up to avoid noise. There is late evening discos at a nearby hotel that could be heard if the balcony door was open but it was perfectly quiet once shut. Air con worked great, good controls. Bathroom very clean and just enough space. The towels were changed regularly without request. We had lots of hotel pool towels too, at least 6 I think!

Don't be sold expensive tour operator trips without first checking out the hotel and beach trip prices. The glass bottom boat trip was good, the trip to Symi was great as was the 'sea link' to Rhodes old town. The waterpark is close enough to walk to but not in the heat, if you don't have a car, get a bus or taxi.

I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: high floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sally010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 71 in Faliraki
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 71 in Faliraki
649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#8 of 71 in Faliraki
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
1.4 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso

Property: Hotel Calypso
Address: Faliraki 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
#11 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calypso 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Faliraki
Hotel Calypso Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing