We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Follow the leader......”
Review of Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Calypso
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Follow the leader......”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

What can I say about this hotel....perfect.

After a shakey start due to a mix up by Thomas Cook (who by the way were a totally unhelpful, disorganised and unresponsive tour operator) which resulted in us not having the sea view room we had booked, we settled into our room. Rooms at the back of the hotel look over the hotel behind and the hills - yes there is a road but its so quiet it didnt disturb us at all.

All the rooms have a balcony and are spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bathroom is modern and what you would expect from a 4* hotel.

Having never gone all inclusive before we were a bit sceptical about what to expect but we needn't have worried. Breakfast has loads of choice and we could turn up when whenever we wanted which was great. The pancakes and waffles were out faves but there were plenty of other options as well. We had lunch at the snack bar most days as this was easier for us and there was a lot of choice here as well. Way more than just a snack bar - ice cream, beer on tap, desserts, everything you could want. In the evening, the food was just as good - again plenty of choice and other than the staples nothing was repeated all the time we were there. Chefs specials are cooked in front of you and there was two choices each night. The hotel also does theme nights which are great fun and allow you to try all different foods - we loved the Rhodes night and the Fish night.

Drinks are also included and the cocktails were fab. International spirits (and in good quantities in cocktails), beer and wine but these were all served like in a normal bar - people weren't drunk or loud either. Milkshakes from the pool bar are great although the pool bar staff could be a bit more friendly to the English.

Entertainment was also great - lots of activities during the day and the ents team were lots of fun. the evening entertainment is also good and worth watchinig - just watch out for the fire show for any accidents! The pool is a good size and was never overly busy when we were there. The slide is fun as well and not just for kids. we had no trouble getting sun loungers by the pool at any time of the day and the loungers on the beach offer a great view.

We were the only English in the hotel but we enjoyed this and found people friendly.

We took the local bus the Rhodes and Lindos - its a great service and really cheap - the bus times are posted in the hotel lobby and it stops right outside so it couldnt be any easier.

Watch out for mosquitos if you go though - they are reknowned in the area.

All in all we had an amazing holiday at this hotel and would recommend it (if not Thomas Cook) to anyone who wants a top class hotel for reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    168
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
206
198
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My husband and I chose Calypso for our Honeymoon and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is lovely and clean with all the staff being very friendly. This was the first time that we had been on an All Inclusive holiday and were pleasantly suprised by the vast choice of fresh food and booze. Although there were 'sittings' for Breakfast, lunch and dinner, the 'snack bar' was open all day and you could help yourself to anything, even a full meal if you wanted it. You were also allowed to have a free 3 course meal at the a la carte restaurant which was definitely a highlight. The hotel is actually on the beach, so even if you chose to sit by the pool you still had an amazing view of the beach/sea and there were plenty of sunbeds available. As we went out of season all of the motorised water sports on the beach were a real bargain. We were the only English couple apart from a wedding party, but as the staff are so friendly it's not too bad and the German and Dutch were OK too. This is a really lively hotel with entertainment all throughout the day until about 1am. The entertainment team were brilliant - Lord of the Dance is a must. Faliraki is approx a ten minute walk away with plenty of bars and restaurants (although not open when we went). Rhodes Town is only 20 mins on the bus and I recommend taking a boat trip to Lindos, which has the most stunning white sandy beach. My only complaint is that I had requested a sea view in advance explaining that it was our Honeymoon, but we were brushed off when I asked for this on arrival.

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolly633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Arriving at a hotel at 5.30am in the morning is never nice, and when we got to our room to find that we did not have the sea view thomas cook had promised, we were disappointed. The view on the other side of the hotel is not offensive, in fact it is okay it is obviously just a lot nicer to see the sea. In the morning we asked the Thomas Cook rep why we had not got what we requested and she could not help as the hotel was now fully booked.

[My one downside to this resort was Thomas Cook - they were awful. They did not care, listen, inform and provide us with any help at all].

However after Thomas Cook left us to sort ourselves out, we had an amazing holiday! Read on and i will tell you why:

The review

Our room:

although we had no sea view, the room was fresh, extremely modern and clean, with good shower faciilities, bath towels and towels for sun lounging, nice balcony and stocked up mini bar! There was also a TV which mostly had German/Greek channels but as we were on holiday we did not watch tv at all really, although i did sneek a peek at the champions league football on night!

The people at the hotel

Guests:

We were one of only two sets of british guests staying at the hotel for the week. Most of the guests were German or Dutch with a sprinkling of French and Italians. However we liked this and found it relaxing and fascinating to be around other nationalities rather than just with British folk. Although language barriers were an issue we did join in with dancing of an evening, and games through out the day and had a very good time and found the other guests warm, kind and welcoming on the whole.

Me and my girlfriend are both 26 and the hotel does cater for all ages young and old, although the majority of people there were probably mid 30s. However there were other young couples, children and elderly, all having a great time.

Hotel Staff

My first impressions of the reception staff were that they were pretty rude but i was completely wrong as they were helpful and understanding throughout the holiday - they were just unable to provide me with a sea view room. the pool bar staff are not fantastic but the restaurant staff (Nikos and his team) and George and Stavros in the main bar are brilliant and should be commended for making the holday even more of an experience.

However as we were quite young and British, we became quite friendly with a mainly british Animation team who managed the kids club, sporting activities and also gave live evening entertainment. These guys were great and really helped us enjoy the holiday as well as give us other people to mix with - we even went to faliraki with them one night to experience what life is like as a rep! we had a great time and hope Chico does not get injured again during the sword show (could have been nasty!). We will always remember the end of show dance, and if you do go this summer - do join in with it it is silly but great fun!

facilities

The hotel has:

its own private beach - all sun loungers are free, as are pedaloes, canoes etc (it is all inclusive after all)
a very good swimming pool with a temperametnal slide 9the pool does feel chilly so if you're brave you are best entering the swimming pool via the slide!)
Lots of sunloungers - we could get a sun lounger at any time of day in a good spot which dispelled the myth that all germans wait till midnight falls and rush down with their towels to reserve all the sunbeds!
mini golf - not the gretaest course but ok to pass the time
table tennis, table football, pool tables
beach volleyball, boules, aerobics, stretching classes (very good) - The animation team always encouraged you to get involved in games including darts tournaments during the day.
indoor gym and massage centre
clotes, jewellery and mini supermarket all inside the hotel

Food and drink:

The hotel offers a great all inclusive. The main restaurant is where you eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is good varied choice. I recommend the waffles and pancakes at brekkie and also the fish for eveing meal. The choice was excellent pasta, chips, feta cheese, salads, kebabs, spaghetti, funny little sausage things (very nice). Mostly we ate lunch in the snack bar where there was great choice and meant you could stay by the pool. The drink choice is great. Throughout the day you can help yourself to wine, soft drinks, beer and water, and get cocktails from 10am until 2am! Do try the cocktails - they do not skimp on alcohol! the bar staff will make you most drinks so just ask.

Also if you love strawberries, this is the hotel for you, they are everywhere! available at breakfast, lunch and tea!

Location:

Our Thomas Cook rep told us we were 50 minutes walk from Faliraki. She was so wrong; it was 10 minutes or 15/20minute if you walked along the beach. If you fancy a night out you can therefore either walk or pay 5 euros for a taxi. Straight outside the hotel are bus stops to Rhodes town (2 euros) and Lindos (3.8 euros) we went to both and although the buses were busy, they were generally on time and did not take long for us to get to places and allowed us to get out and about easily (not really worth hiring a car). In the summer you can also get the boat to Symi (do not go on Thomas Cook trip - cheaper and better to do self) as well as to Lindos and Rhodes, unfortunately the boat only started on our last day but when we go back we will def go on a boat trip.)

General

Had an awsome time and would definitely go back! (but not with Thomas cook).

Tip: if you easily attract mosquitoes take lots of spray - there are a lot of them.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iancharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

My partner and I decided to return after we had stayed here in July 2006 as it was such a lovely hotel and location!

We booked in early summer to hopefully book up for august/ september time, but only to find that every room had been fully booked!! So we took our chance and booked in oct... knowing that the weather wouldnt be as reliable as summer time.

We flew with Thomas cook (who were actually the most rubbish travel agent to book with! never again-first choice allll the wayy!!) and we landed at midday to find a dreary rainy day in rhodes!! we were very negative and just accepted that fact that this would probably be the same weather as it would be all week... :( but we were sooooo wrong!!!!!

The room we checked in to was great- although our sea view that we were expecting had been blocked by a beautiful palm tree- so my boyfreind went straight to reception to ask if we could change rooms.. the reception sorted a room out as quickly as they could and the next morning we were taken to the 7th floor and had the most amazing view of the resort and the sea- and to our suprize the blazing hot sun!

We spent most of our days on the beach bronzing ourselves very gradually!!!! it was approx 29Degrees every day that week and went down to 20Degrees Celsius on the evenings.. which is absolutly perfect if you ask me!!

The food was amazing, the hotel have a main buffet restaurant, beach cafe and a la carte restaurant (you are aloud 1 stay per week) . The hotel is all inclusive and do the most fantastic range of food and drinks you could ask for! I am the first to criticise food being well fed in the most exquisite restaurants in england and france.. and their food is simply great! For breakfast you have a choice of all the different types of breakfast you could imagine... including pancakes, sugar waffles and nuttella (mmm u can tell what i ate HAHA) ,for lunch there is lots of salad, home made pizza, chicken and rice dishes with yummy sweet dishes too and for dinner there are different types of sea food, pasta dishes, beef etc etc!!! Also, there are 3 bars in the hotel and do try the cocktails- they are amazing and they dont skimp on the alcohol either!!

We also had a treatment from the lovely little lady in the fitness suite- being a beauty therapist, i am very wary of therapists that claim to be firm and good.. but she really was good. I had a back massage for 25 euro and my boyfreind had a face and scalp massage for 25 euro! very relaxing and she was very nice (Take your own towel to cover yourself though if you are body shy) .

Just a few more tips- Dont go on the rhodes town excursion!! i think its 15euro per person?! you can get the bus straight outside the hotel for 2euro! the lady who does the excrsion is very unfriendly and we could not understand a word she said where she spoke sooo fast! and you only have 2 hours to look around the new and old town- when you should be spending a minimum of 4-5hrs!! the coach left without us so we got a taxi back for 11euro!

Do go on the marmaris trip!! Its soo fun, especially if you love to shop and LOVE BARGAINS!! dont take any messing from the turkish shop owners though, be straight and say NO! because they will try and pester you to buy everything you look at- wear dark sunglasses and try and cover up a bit, i made the mistake of wearing something skimpy and attracting the whole of marmaris!!a very bad idea haha! But they are absolutly charming people!! and go to the same restaurant as your excursion rep goes to, as it is cheap but amazing food!!

Overall, Calypso beach is amazing!!! I love it and if you like classy hotels and warm, freindly service.. this is the place for you!!

Thankyou everyone who made our stays memorable!


Ps. One more thing, on your way through to faliraki, on the right hand side of the road, before you get into the busy part, is an amazing mexican restaurant/ bar... all i can say is WOW the food and cocktails are out of this world and the owners are sooo lovely!!

  • Liked — The pools, beach, room, restaurant, bar and the lovely staff!
  • Disliked — ....nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KaymarieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We spent a very enjoyable 2 weeks in the Calypso Beach Hotel for our honeymoon in May 2008. It was a gorgeous, clean hotel with a beautiful pool and surrounding area, directly on the beach.

We were all inclusive and there was a good choice of food and drink throughout the day and night. Amazing cocktails and very generous with the alcohol.

All the staff were friendly and helpful - we made friends with several members of the animation team as they were down to earth, friendly people who went over and above to make the holiday special. Evening entertainment was ok but when the animation team took over the night life was amazing.

We were very keen to join in the hotels many daily activities, of which there were many which were well organised and good fun.

The only real downside to the hotel is that is was 99% German, so it was difficult to find other people to talk to and a lot of the food and entertainment was focused on the Germans rather than the minority british people.

It was a great place at this time of year - quite and romantic - might not be as nice in the busier summer periods when Faliraki is at it's peek.

It was easy to travel into Rhodes Town as there is a bus stop outside the hotel and from Rhodes Town there are regular buses to anywhere on the island.

We would definately recommend the jeep trip around the island, which can be booked through the travel agents - it takes you all around the island to some very unusual and hard to find places as well as off road and to hidden beaches whilst sharing history and insights into Greece. The driver was funny and entertaining and it was one of the best days of the holiday.

Not the time of year to go if you want to go to Butterfly Valley however, as they don't arrive until June!

Would definately want to return to Rhodes and the Calypso beach hotel - a truly brilliant holiday.

  • Liked — The Pool and access the beach
  • Disliked — The Germans being the main focus as it was 99% German hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We recently arrived from a 2 week stay in the Hotel Calypso Beach, I have to say that food wise I would give it 5 stars, My Kids are pretty fussy but I've never known them look forward to meal times so much we used to joke that we wouldn't fit in our plane seats on the way back. The staff were all really friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Drinks were the real thing and service was excellant. Get the bus into roads town just outside the Hotel 2 euros per adult and 1 euro for a child wonder round the old town, we used to go in the evening when it was cooler. Get up early to get a sun bed near the pool but to be honest we preferred the beach. You can walk to Faleraki we went one evening and took the kids had a meal and a walk down bar street came home at midnight in a taxi five euros. Water park is near by we got a taxi five euros but there is a free bus which we got on the way back. It is full of Germans but I found them all friendly and polite not many brits so not the place to go if you want to make lots of friends. The entertainment was ok the kids seemed to like it. I used to sneak off to the beach bar where the barman brought me my favourite tiple over as soon as I sat down, what a guy. I think I chilled more after this holiday than I have ever done very relaxed nice place.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CeceliaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Just arrived back from the Calypso and must say we were very impressed with the place.
Start with the bad points though not that many. Evening entertainment was poor on some nights although it didn't seem to bother my two girls aged 14 & 11, not that many Brits use this hotel (can't understand why) so some of the entertainment is not really in English though both my girls joined in the daytime activities and loved it with all the other kids whatever nationality. One down side was sometimes the beer is not quite cold enough (very minor problem).
Good points......hotel is spotless, modern rooms, fantastic staff, plenty of sports for the kids, lovely beach, food is great, cocktails even better, great location (for us anyway).
Overall I would say give this great hotel a go because it's well worth a try, we've done all inclusives all over the Med and this ranks up there with the best. As for the Germans, there were lots of them and not a rude one in sight, they all came across as being really friendly and nice people.

  • Liked — Modern and spotless
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesserschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#8 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso

Property: Hotel Calypso
Address: Faliraki 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
#11 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calypso 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Faliraki
Hotel Calypso Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing