We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little get away”
Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Myself and my partner had been looking for a while and found this holiday on Thompson, an all inclusive break on the date we wanted for a great price.

Hotel: public areas are extremely clean and well kept, our room was a tad dated but again clean, the bathroom was nice however I would advise staying in the newer part of the building if this is an option, particularly if you are a family.

Facilities: the pool is excellent, cold but that's probably due to the weather. Don't miss out on the water park, we went twice during our stay, towels are provided, there is food, soft drinks and beer available at all times, the rides are good and there's something for everyone. The wave pool only seems to run at 4pm though. The entertainment team are ok, personally if I had children I wouldn't want to leave my kids with them but there was always something going on.

Food: don't go here if you are expecting gourmet dining! the food is edible and there is a decent choice, it can be repetitive but you get what you pay for. It was quiet when we were there and I can see it may be a struggle to seat and feed everyone during peak season. There were snacks between meals and pizza, chips, gyros etc. at the water park.

Transport links are good into Rhodes town and Lindos, Faliraki seemed derelict but again it was out of season. Overall a good holiday, bettered my expectations and staff are helpful. I personally wouldn't visit Rhodes again but I would recommend the sun palace.

Room Tip: Book into new part, closer to water pRk and higher quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Okay, just got back from a weeks stay here at the Sun Palace with a friend of mine! Late deal booked 2 weeks before for a fantastic price, all inclusive.
Arrived at the hotel at around 11:30pm and after the usual queuing to check in we were gagging for a drink and pretty peckish to find that the bar shuts at 12pm and there isn't any exceptions and no food available at all, not even snacky things so we just pondered off to our room to at least have a bottle of water from the mini fridge... nope nothing in there either...We gave up and unpacked!

The Room:
The one we were in was okay, it was a little dated and the bathroom wasn't great. Was a shower tray with a flowery shower curtain around, which might I add, does not keep the water in the tray!
Beds were surprisingly comfy and I slept really well, which I generally don't do!
Our aircon didn't work but this didn't matter as we didn't need it and we did have a few problems with the lights but they were soon sorted by the maintenance.
The courtesy room we used on the last day was awful, wish we would have asked to see them before we let our room go!

Pool:
Fab, no problems at all!

Main restaurant:
Good food, ate at every meal and was a good choice, some things a little repetitive but it's the things that most of the people will eat so that's fine! The soups were lovely! Staff were very efficient at meal times and very friendly!

Al a carte restaurant:
Really bad, don't waste your time and just go the buffet! There was around 7 tables with people on when we were there and the service was unbelievably slow so god help when its full.Waited 15 minutes to be asked if we wanted a drink, then around 30 minutes for the first starter which was all the dips and breads they have in the buffet but forgot to give us the bread...the second "mezes" were also another 20 minutes to follow after we had to tell the waiter to take our starters away after had tried them and we could have also got these from the buffet apart from the cheese balls.. the main we looked at then got up and left. It was awful, needs a lot of improvement!

The Bar:
Special mention to Andreas! Lovely guy and attentive!

Animacion team:
The guys were lovely, Lemar was very personable and just a genuine, entertaining young man! kids and adults loved him!
The two young girls from the kids club however didn't make any effort with us and were more interested in flocking around the young lads in the hotel. One of the girls came in to do the kids club on our last day, hair greasy and a mess, hungover to high hell and hadn't changed her outfit for the past 3 days. disgusting that this person is looking after children, a few parents in the hotel felt the same. This was a usual sight but particularly bad that day!

For what we paid we can't grumble, but there were just a few niggles that definitely do need ironing out! All in all not a bad holiday for two young girls that just wanted to get away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leahb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in sun palace and loved ever second, the staff are friendly the food is good and it's a short walk from king Arthur's bar for sports :) would recommend to anyone.... And the water park is out of this world 11/10 :) or a quiet swim in the relax pool to finish it all off.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank DanninAsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

we went as 3 couples in our sixty's. we all would use this hotel again if in Rhodes .the staff were excellent and so friendly . food to a good standard and the pool facilities very good. very pleased with our room. we had one problem with the wardrobe door falling off its runner but it was sorted straight away. only thing that stops us rating higher is the entertainment , and during these hard times they may not be able to afford any better. the kids seemed to like it a lot more than us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just back from 11 days at the sun palace. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the pool which was clean and well presented. There was a flat screen tv on the wall but only a couple of English channels. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, modern bathroom with plenty of hot water. We had a change of sheets three times in 11 days and fresh towels every day. The food was excellent, plenty of choice and constantly topped up. The dining room staff were very hard-working and pleasant. The bar staff were also very efficient and the choice of cocktails was very good. Hot drinks and soft drinks were available from self-service machines. The waterpark was good fun, well run with excellent staff. The snack bar at the waterpark served salads, chips etc. and great freshly-made pizzas. All in all, a very good hotel, perhaps let down by the lack of evening entertainment. Unfortunately, Faliraki is quite run-down with a lot of places left derelict, obviously still suffering from the recession. I would recomment this hotel to families (the kids will love it) and young people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsybee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I'm 16 and I went last year with my mum and her boyfriend and my younger brother 12, I met some amazing people here and so did my brother so don't worry, there are plenty of people all ages! the whole place is just awesome! I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to any families or couples out there! The staff so nice! the food high quality, entertainment is good and even the beach and outside the hotel is worth having a look at! I hope you chose to go experience this wonderful holiday destination

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukehayden21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A nice friendly hotel. Accomodation ok. Food average. Cocktails very good. I think our problem was that we went just as the hotel opened for the season. The reps were not ready for action, no kids club available. Hardly any evening entertainment apart from Bingo. We had one act during a seven day stay, not enough! Waterpark ok apart from they upped the height limit. Advised 1m 30cm on first choice, when we got there the height limit was 1m 40cm which meant one of my daughters could not go on some of the slides. Faliraki has seen better days, probably 20 years ago. Resort run down and most shops boarded up. Beach needed cleaning up, lots of rubbish everywhere.

Room Tip: Keep reception on your side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
1.2 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#2 of 70 in Faliraki
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pegasos Deluxe Beach Hotel
29.8 mi away
Thomas Hotel
Thomas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monolithos
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel & Spa
22.7 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
947 reviews
1.1 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Address: Faliraki Road, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#9 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range: £92 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMMODATION: Total number of rooms: 322 hotel rooms, bungalows and family rooms. They all feature individually controlled A/C, mini fridge, direct dial telephone, satellite T.V, bath/shower, balcony or patio. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Snack Bar: Serves a wide choice of home made snacks. Main Bar: Enjoy a great variety of exotic cocktails, long drinks, coffees and cakes. Pool-side Bar: Directly on the pool offering all kinds of cool drinks and exotic cocktails. LEISURE AND SPORT FACILITIES: Large swimming pool, children's pool, sun terraces with umbrellas and sun beds, tennis court, table tennis, children's playground, billiard, backgammon and chess. WATERPARK FACILITIES: Speed Slides Three Lane Multi Slide Open Body Slide Enclosed Body Slide Open Tube Slide Bowl Ride Mini Sidewinder Children's Play Swimming Pool Wave Pool Lazy River OTHER FACILITIES: Reception, foreign exchange, mini market, safe deposit boxes, full excursion programs, car hire, parking area and internet corner. ENTERTAINMENT AND ANIMATION: Various weekly animation programs including Greek and other theme nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Rhodes
Hotel Sun Palace
Sun Palace Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing