We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, Sofia's travel opposite is the best thing about the place”
Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel, Sofia's travel opposite is the best thing about the place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel average, bottled water not included in all inclusive and kids entertainment didn't start until approx. 21.30/22.00 (too late for our kids).
Sofia's travel shop opposite was they best thing about the place. Owner was lovely, accommodated and listened to all our needs. Gave us great tips, really kind to the kids. Glass bottom boat trip we went on was great, staff really professional, really fun, good value for money and all round super afternoon out. Visited pretty bays and all allowed to jump off and swim in lovely clear water. Definitely recommend using this travel place, we'll worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    487
    237
    57
    39
See reviews for
1,029
246
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family and i have just returned from our brilliant holida in faliraki, greece. We stayed at Sun Palace Hotel for one week. The area is brilliant there is something for every one. Every night we were at King Arthurs Bar as it is only 150m from the hotel, the highlight of our whole trip. The staff are so friendly and polite, its a very welcoming place and they couldnt do enough to help us. The have a programme to sell of course but they do not annoy you like futher down the strip and also give you much information about the area as well. The drinks are wonderful especially the cocktails and good priced our children drank soft drinks for free with free ice cream and popcorn all night as well. My husband enjoyed watching all the sports as we asked for the tennis and immediately it was put on. I loved the live music every night which brought a great atmosphere to the bar. Our children absolutely loved the hypnotist show, as did we. It was hillarious and a fantastic night out as it was free entry. The bar was packed and everybody in the bar laughed all night, we loved it so much we came back a second time to watch it on our holiday. Very highly recomended to all ages whether you are a family with young children or teenagers, and older couple, and even young groups on holiday. It is a wonderful place to go on your nights out.

The hotel itself is brilliant the annimation team are wonderful and so much fun they really look after you. The pool is brilliant with lots going on and our children loved the activities. Its very clean and well kept. Our room was everything we expected and perfevt four our holiday. The waterpark we all enjoyed and spent most day in there. The food was average in the hotel. But that didnt put a downer on our holiday.

All in all it was a wonderful trip and i would come back again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manchsterfamily26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We returned from the Sun Palace on 02/07/14 after a weeks stay and we were not ready to come home. Our party consisted of three adults and three children aged 9,8 and 4.

The food was lovely, there was an ample breakfast selection, if you happened to miss breakfast they transferred it to the snack bar around 10.30 so if you did sleep in you could have bacon and eggs for brunch. The main restaurant was not open at lunch time which did gripe a few people as it should have been open but we were fine with the snack bars as we were only there for a week it may get tedious if you are there for longer. The evening food was a good selection and the desserts were varied. We did not have any complaints and the extra few pounds I have brought home with me will testify to that. One night my 4 year old was really disappointed because there was no jelly and the Restaurant Manger asked her what was wrong and then went into the kitchen and got her some which was lovely of him. The children's food station is an area the hotel could do with working on as in my opinion the food could be better quality.The ladies in the restaurant work so hard too but always have time to smile and say hello.

The staff were a credit to the hotel, none of them stopped no matter which area they worked in they all worked so hard. Sure there was the odd bad apple for example to rude pool bar man but I believe there were so many complaints he isn't there any more. The Animation Team were fabulous, energetic and enthusiastic. We didn't join in with the games and competitions but they were always pleasant and importantly looked like they thoroughly enjoyed their job, Wayne and Lemar are a very dynamic duo. Aurel is a fantastic compere and it is amazing how fluidly he flits between several languages. Emma and Dori from the kids club were wonderful with my girls, they didn't want to leave kids club they even gave my 8 year old daughter the confidence to participate in their and her first kids talent show and I was amazed when she got up on stage and sang in front of all those people.

My 9 year old was always off playing football, water polo or table tennis and made friends with so many children of different nationalities he had a fabulous time and was very sad to leave.

The water park was very good the only negative was the bit that small children can use has very harsh water spraying out everywhere and the slides are accessible over a cargo net which makes it not really suitable in my opinion and this was seconded by my 4 year old who got quite distressed. If your child is a bit of a dare devil but slightly under the height limit and you are happy for them to go on the bigger slides see the girl near the gate and she will give them a stamp to let them go on certain ones.

The best thing for me was the fact that you did not have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a sunbed. The hotel was at full occupancy and we got a sunbed and umbrella every morning around 10ish which was my idea of holiday heaven.

I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to families with children of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned home from our 14 night stay as a family of 4 with children ages 6 + 7.I had been concerned by some negative reviews before flying out,but i need not have worried.We took a taxi outside the airport on arrival (26 euro) so arrived at the hotel before the coach,and within 5 minutes we were on our way to the room.I had emailed the hotel several weeks before,and requested a 3rd floor room with a sea view,and the room could not have had a better view,and the sun rose onto our balcony and by 7 am it was scorching.
The are just 2 reasons why i have not given 5 stars,and are the only negatives i experienced during the stay.

1: The food on the childrens section of an evening,is very poor,and this was very disappointing.Every night during our stay it was CHIPS - SPAGHETTI - PASTA SAUCE.Also 1 night would be fish fingers (actually fish cake fingers),the other night would be chicken nuggets (processed chicken).Some nights would see mini hotdog sausage in puff pastry also available.

2:The attitude/behaviour of 3 members of staff really let the hotel down.firstly the female who fries the eggs each morning was so ignorant and arrogant,i very often seen her snapping at guests and her fellow worker who made pancakes,thankfully i dont eat eggs so i never went near her.
Then the bartender in the outside bar of an evening,is the worst hotel worker i have seen in all my years of travelling.I witnessed him disrespect women on a regular basis,disrespect children on a regular basis,he even verbally attacked 1 child no older than 5,just because the child spilled a drink near the bar.It got so bad 3 days ago,when he verbally attacked the same child for the 2nd night running,the childs father had had enough and confronted him.There were a large number of complaints made to the manager regarding this worker,and he was replaced 2 days before we left,hopefully this will be permanent,as nobody pays good money to stay at a hotel to be treated,or witness behaviour like he showed.

Back to the good points,and there are so many of them.

The waterpark is fantastic,and it is so relaxing due to the amount of lifeguards,and the attitude of them.You even see some of them playing with the children when they had time to do so.It was great to see children laugh at slashing the lifeguards,and also get splashed by the lifeguards.This was also the same over at the main pools over at the hotel.The food at the waterpark is a lot better than at the snack bar at the hotel.Even the breakfast i found better at the waterpark,maybe because if you timed it right the food would be just coming out of the oven.The guy making pizza is great,and the children (and adults) would watch in awe as he would throw the dough in the air while making the base,and they were so thin and delicious.

The entertainment of an evening was so-so.The good ones were the acrobats,the abba tribute,the childrens talent show and stardust group.The greek night was ok,but not anywhere near as good as any of the other greek night shows we have seen around other parts of greece.

King arthurs bar near the hotel has leaflets around the hotel,advertising.We called there for a drink on our 1st day,and also went to the hypnotist show on Friday.It was a good show and the children get free drinks,free ice cream,and free popcorn,though they had run out of popcorn after 1 hour.It was 4 euro for a pint of beer and 4.50 - 6.00 euro for a cocktail.the marzipan cocktail was delicious (and strong).

we visited rhodes old town on 2 occasions.first time we got the bus outside the hotel,and got the bus back.2.20 euro per adult each way.the 2nd time we took the boat from the beach 6.50 euro per adult/3.25 euro per child.this was a great experience for the children,and the views were great.we spent an evening in the old town,having a lovely meal and a walk around.It was our 1st time to rhodes,and the old town is such a beautiful place,you need a full day,maybe more to go around it all.we then took a bus back to the hotel.

the beach is a 5 minute stroll from the hotel,and the water is as clear as can be,most parts have a few feet of rocks/stones as you enter the sea,but if you walk a little further there are none.

I must mention some of the staff at the hotel,and apart from the 3 i mentioned earlier,every other member of staff was outstanding.The male and female members of staff at the inside lounge bar were fantastic.Lemar is part of the entertainment team and is deserving of all the positive comments i seen on here before i went,the guy is a legend.then there is wayne,he is a brit and only started at the hotel last month,and will make anyone laugh,but i found if you didnt take part in the activities,he would give you the time of day.Jessie is also great at her job,and is full of energy,and smiles.Emma,part of the childrens club is also new at the hotel,and is great with the children,and it was great to chat with her.Then finally i must mention the star of the show,Deria (hope thats correct),this young lady is the most pleasant,professional childrens club worker we have ever met,the children havent stopped talking about her since we got home,and i hope both emma and derie are at the hotel next year.

Finally,i must mention the artist that is in the lobby area every day,WOW!!!

The quality of his work is amazing,and he is a true gentleman,as you find when you chat with him.

Anyone going will have a great time,anyone thinking of going,book before you miss out.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the waterpark are quietest but family rooms on 3rd floor in mid 400's are great wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wxm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first holiday with my husbands family, all together there were 13 of us (6 adults/5 children/2 babies)
on first arrival check in was slow but there were about 10 families to check in and only 2 staff members at gone 1 am, the staff were very pleasant.
Our family room was great, big, clean more than enough space, they had forgotten the babies crib but as we had a staff member show us to our room within 5 minutes he had gotten us a baby travel cot and a kettle. The only thing we found wrong with the room was that the rubber strip was missing at the bottom of the main door.
We had a double bed in our room and the adjoining room had 1 single and a bunk bed. The a/c was amazing. We had a room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel so we had a patio leading to a lovely garden. It was very quiet.
Sister in-law had a different experience.. her room was tiny she had two singles put together to make a double, and 1 single fold out bed.. considering she had 3 children where were they to sleep..as she booked with the mother in-law they had the same set up, so they had a single fold out bed too, so they squeezed another fold down bed into their room and had the baby in bed with them... they were placed in a room near the pool and entertainment how they got any sleep i don't know.. they asked at reception the next day after we compared rooms but they were refused a better room more suited to their needs. so that is how they spent their 2 weeks..!!

The cleaners came round every day to sweep, mop and to remake the beds, the hotel as a whole was very clean, the staff were always lovely, food was good on the days they had a theme night, but it was a free for all at dinner and breakfast, it was too hectic, people everywhere, children grabbing things and dropping things. The staff were great very helpful always cleaning and helping. No food was left for too long and was always fresh.

No space for the children to play football near the main area apart from a small grassed area, the park needs better equipment.
on one occasion one gardener was very rude, it was about 9pm the family came to the grassed area in-front of our room to play football, they were well into their game (30/40 mins).. when the sprinklers came on..the children welcomed the water as it was a hot night, but within seconds a gardener walked up to the children and told them 'no' handed one of them the ball and push him off the garden and onto our patio. That was the first night the sprinklers had came on at that time and we had been there a week, also the sprinkler is manually operated so the gardener saw the children on the grass before he turned on the water.. he then stood and waited until the children had gone in then walked away. That was the only area that was being watered at that time and that night, all the grassed areas had sprinklers... after speaking to reception the issue was not resolved.

There was a stray dog that wondered around the grounds, friendly guy and happy, he didn't bother anyone, nice to see he wasn't bothered or chased off the hotel grounds buy staff or guests, as the hotel has no fences and Rhodes has a few stray cats and dogs they seemed very well cared for by the locals.

Overall it was a nice hotel, very clean lovely helpful staff minus the gardener. The weather was amazing, hot, got to 43 degrees one day and that same night it was 36 degrees..
Could of done with more children activities/areas as a few children spent a few hours running around causing trouble as there was not much for them to do in the evening.
Drinks (juice's) could of been better.

Room Tip: Family rooms are nice, big and away from the noise of the entertainment best to ask for a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraRichieTomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an 11 night holiday at Sun Palace. This was the 2nd holiday we have had here and we were not disappointed!!

Do not have a bad word to say about this hotel,food excellent day and night,pool scene and waterpark fantastic,staff all amazing and all so friendly!!

The animation team are outstanding!! Working day and night to keep the kids and adults entertained and they do a fantastic job!! Wayne and Lemar completely bounce off each other and helped to make our holiday another one to remember!!

No doubt we will be returning again next year!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

we have just returned yesterday from a week at sun palace, 4 adults and 2 kids age 12 and 5, we all had a great time, rooms on the small side if you don't have a family room we were in room 628 which had a double and a pull down bed for one of the kids - okay for the 5 year old but as my 12 year old is bigger than me (mum) it was not so great, we were offered a family room but declined this as the rooms we were in were so much nicer location - over looking the water park that my son decided he would rather use the camp bed than move. animation team were great with the kids esp Lamar who is a very likeable guy, food was ok, can be repetitive if you don't try everything on offer as you could eat different things on a 7 day break but if you stick to what you know you will get bored, waterpark was great and the lifeguards do a great job, always noticing any dangerous behaviour and stop this straight away without being unpleasant, there was a few casualties while we were there cut chins/legs etc but most of this was caused by kids running round the tiled areas and slipping and falling - this is not a fault of the waterpark but of adults allowing kids to run around barefoot on wet tiled areas, was a great holiday and we will be back

Room Tip: rooms 400 and above are away from main reception and entertainment area so you will get a better sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellenic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.6 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 72 in Faliraki
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Faliraki
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
1.9 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#12 of 72 in Faliraki
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Property: Sun Palace Hotel
Address: Faliraki Road, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#9 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMMODATION: Total number of rooms: 322 hotel rooms, bungalows and family rooms. They all feature individually controlled A/C, mini fridge, direct dial telephone, satellite T.V, bath/shower, balcony or patio. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Snack Bar: Serves a wide choice of home made snacks. Main Bar: Enjoy a great variety of exotic cocktails, long drinks, coffees and cakes. Pool-side Bar: Directly on the pool offering all kinds of cool drinks and exotic cocktails. LEISURE AND SPORT FACILITIES: Large swimming pool, children's pool, sun terraces with umbrellas and sun beds, tennis court, table tennis, children's playground, billiard, backgammon and chess. WATERPARK FACILITIES: Speed Slides Three Lane Multi Slide Open Body Slide Enclosed Body Slide Open Tube Slide Bowl Ride Mini Sidewinder Children's Play Swimming Pool Wave Pool Lazy River OTHER FACILITIES: Reception, foreign exchange, mini market, safe deposit boxes, full excursion programs, car hire, parking area and internet corner. ENTERTAINMENT AND ANIMATION: Various weekly animation programs including Greek and other theme nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Rhodes
Hotel Sun Palace
Sun Palace Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing