We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Inclusive 11 Day”
Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All Inclusive 11 Day”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and family (2 x 6 year olds and a 2.5yr old) stayed for 11 nights.

Flights:

Inbound/Outbound bang on time, tui/thomson good airline. Rhodes airport has a strange system of queuing for check in then for your luggage security, then for boarding passes, then for passport control, THEN for security, but it flows, it works, but it IS busy

Transfers: All good, lottery if you were 1st hotel, max 1 hour

Check In 3am: Had to make own way to room (expected, no worries) - quick, no queues.

Room: #523, family, great, got an extra card to leave air con on, 2nd floor, no ants , no mozzies, hard mattress, slippy floor when wet. Room occasionally smelt of cig smoke coming thru toilet air vent

** TAKE ** pool shoes, £4-£5 from sportsdirect, a) they stop you slipping over, b) kids can get over cargo net in kids pool, c) your feet won't get scalded on the hot waterpark floor. You can use them on slides.

Pool/Waterpark:

Open 10-5.45, enough beds even in this peak season week, small queue to get in 9.45 if you are there at that time, it can get get windy, very windy, from the west, some spots are sheltered.

Waterpark is just great, toddler slides are tricky for 2.5 year olds by themselves, and for 1 adult going down with them. They will be way too small for all other rides. Other rides have height restrictions on them 1.2m and 1.4m however you can get special permission if the parent is nearby. Best slide is the bowl. Snack bar for lunch has great pizza as you'll read in other reviews, quick queues, always a table, bit messy, but hey what do you expect. Staff keep on top of it though, like they do in all the catering areas. Lifeguards do a great job, permission for under height children gets a bit pedantic. Main pool area does feel more sheltered, but also like a different hotel if you spend every day at waterpark

Food:

Massive range, always enough, tables always available, very good service for cleaning tables and making them available. Drinks are ok at this resort, often run out of some, bit diluted, and of course not branded. Zythos Zap lager is ok, not good. Wasps outside can ruin your dinner, recommend eat inside.

Evening,

Kids met other friends, very friendly place with lots of nationalities, arcade for kids, small unofficial football pitch next to main bar. Evening entertainment is very similar but hey the kids love it, and you will get sick of hearing the Choco Latte song. I won the bingo, so I am a fan. The animation team are very good, not that we had much interaction with them, but what I saw them do, it was very good..

Outside the hotel:

It's a bit of a dive, didn't go into Faliraki, beach even at 200m in the heat was too far for the little un (maybe we should have gone more). Old Rhodes was sublime, the butterly park , it's a nice journey, its 5 euros per adult, but I wouldnt recommend..

That's it, better than I expected for a first choice all inclusive, I think the place must have stepped up it's game looking at former reviews..

Enjoy your trip should you go.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    469
    221
    56
    37
See reviews for
973
237
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed in room 107 in July with husband and 13yr old daughter. Room was great until our 4th day. Husband went back to room to find our safe had been stolen. This room is on ground level overlooking the road that leads to reception and did not have a double lock on balcony door. We lost all our passports, tickets, money car keys etc. Rep Emma was fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful, Maria on reception was very helpful too. The management were awful, they weren't interested in the slightest, they wouldn't even give us back our 30 euros that we paid for the safe, we were left penniless until the next day when a family member sent us some money. Spent a day at the British Consulate where we had to pay 125 euros each to get temporary passports. We were moved to room 333 which was crawling with ants. Stayed there 2 nights until we could move back to room 107. We are now very suspicious about the robbery as on our last day there the police came with everything from our safe except the money. On the plus side the animation team were very friendly and if you want to go on a trip visit Sofia's across the road, the couple there are lovely and very helpful. The food was ok although the lunch by the waterpark was better than the main meals. We hadn't been on holiday for 4 years so we didn't let the robbery ruin our holiday but we won't be back and I would advise people not to hire a safe, it's safer carrying your valuables with you

Room Tip: Room 107 was spacious clean and had excellent air conditioning and was very quiet despite being burg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I plus two kids (7 & 2) stayed here for 10 nights. The hotel and the room (we were located really close to reception) were adequate.

We had a fantastic time here. The most positive aspect of our stay was the staff. Everyone from the reception team, to the bar staff (Andreas was great), to the life guards in the water park are exceptionally helpful, friendly, professional and authentic with it. I was completely taken by surprise by this, but even when we talked to the Greek people in the shops, they have a really friendly and laid back approach to life.

I also have to praise the animation team. My daughter loved the mini disco, and the general entertainment at night, as did my wife and I. The animation team are really hard working, but the effort they put in - with the kids especially - but including everyone that stays there to ensure you have good time, is something I'd be proud of if they worked for me. Well done to all of them.

The hotel itself is reasonable. It's reasonably well maintained, pools are nice and generally as clean as anywhere else I've stayed. The water park is really good. Lifeguards are brilliant. The lunch at the water park is the best place to eat, the guy that makes the pizza freshly is a star.

Now for the negatives. None of the soft drinks are branded. Mostly they weren't great, and on more times than is reasonable they would run out completely. I don't have an issue with non-branded alcohol, but soft drinks should be branded......they certainly were in the Lanzarote splash park.

Another surprise for me, was just how run down that area of Faliraki was. As a resort, I have to say it feels like its on its knees. I did some exploring with my daughter, and there is an eerie feeling to much of the shopping complexes, where you can sense a number of owners have literally turned the lights off and walked away......if your on a location hunt to film a post apocalyptic film this could be a good place to look. Sounds harsh, especially on the lovely people who are still hanging on there, they deserve better, but when you've just spent close to 4k on a holiday, the resort should be better, this however is no reflection on the hotel, which does not reflect the area it's located in.......it didn't stop us having a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scarecrowmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from another 2 weeks at sun palace for the 3rd year in a row. Animation team are amazing and make the holiday a real success for our family. Very friendly service throughout. Main pool sunbeds could be doing with an upgrade. Food is good from day to night. Auriel and his team are great and the bar staff are very friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Euanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A very good all inclusive holiday resort with enough to keep a family going for a week! The waterpark was well maintained with friendly lifeguards and good clean dining areas as well as complimentary towels. The rooms were nothing special but a good base and the air conditioning was a must have. The maids were awesome and so friendly, cleaned the rooms daily unless asked not to. Nothing was too much trouble and even on the last day asked if we needed anything extra before we left.The entertainment team all worked hard to get everyone involved in having a good holiday but also let people wanting a quiet break to have just that, working really well with kids of all ages. The restaurant was spacious and had plenty of choice of food including vegetarian and was well maintained at all times to ensure the 1st and 100th dining experience had the same available options. Make sure if you stay here to take up the a la carte dining experience which is complimentary for one visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank foxscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Loved every minute of our holiday , food was excellent , location very good , very friendly staff . Pools very clean excellent for families children loved the evening discos . Would definitely recommend to anyone & hope to visit again very soon Thankyou

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were very worried about this hotel after reading lots of mixed reviews, some of which were really negative. Due to our own concerns, particularly about the noise and dated nature of the rooms near the main reception, we contacted the hotel via email requesting a room overlooking the water park. When we arrived we were instantly relived as the coach pulled in outside the venu, everything looked nice. Our relief continued as we entered the reception which looked lovely and modern, and then we were over the moon when we found our room; 710 overlooking the water park and the new pool area. We were in the newly built section of the hotel. Our room although small, was lovely and clean and from our patio doors we stepped straight out onto the pool, the bar, water park and snack bar! Our room leading straight out onto the pool was ideal with having two young children, as we were literally a few steps to and from our sun lounger to our room which was ideal if the children and ourselves wanted a break from the sun. The water park was great for my children and my husband enjoyed some of the slides too! The life guards were very attentive and did a brilliant job, all credit to them! we were very happy with our room and happy about being in the quieter, newer part of the hotel, however if we had been placed at the main part near the reception we probably would have felt differently. We ventured out the the older section of the hotel for a swim a few times and the sun loungers were very tatty and dated, the pool looked a bit unkept and dated in places especially when compared to our brand new facilities. It was like two different hotels, with a different star rating for each. The older part being a 2/3 star and the newer section a 3/4. Having said that, the pool wasn't terrible and I'm sure the children would have loved the pool just the same, but with us being used to a 4 star plus this was our opinion. Food was mixed; breakfast was always good, lots of choice; bacon, eggs, beans, omelettes, pancakes, Belgium waffles, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, toasties, chocolate mouse, toast, bread, ham, cheese, croissants, I was never disappointed! However, lunch at the main restaurant was very disappointing, with such a limited selection; it would have made more sense to have had the toasties, bread, ham and cheese at lunch rather than breakfast. The water park snack bar was good as it served lovely pizza, salad, giro meat, pitta and pasta but after 5 days of eating pizza we fancied something different. The evening meal was ok, but we weren't keen on the way the food was cooked; most things being very greasy and oily; the pasta was fried in a deep fat fryer and the grilled chicken was placed in lots of oily, buttery sauce. Having said that there were some foods that we enjoyed, for example,the veal, beef stroganof, and the Chinese theme night. We ate at the hotel for the first week but spent the second week eating out. The al a carte was nice. The evening entertainment was what you would expect from a family hotel geared at children and families, not to our taste but the children loved it and some of the acts were very good. The soft drinks could have been better and our children missed not having slush drinks, but it is a three star hotel so cant complain too much about this. On the whole this was an average hotel, not bad and not amazing. We enjoyed our time here and the water park made our holiday. We wouldn't return but only because we would prefer to stick with 4 star hotels in the future. The staff were friendly during our stay. We enjoyed eating out at The Opera house, Alabama's and Greek Spirit, Greek Spirit being my favourite!

Room Tip: Room 710 was one of the best! Request a room in the new block overlooking the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
1.0 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#8 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Property: Sun Palace Hotel
Address: Faliraki Road, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#9 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMMODATION: Total number of rooms: 322 hotel rooms, bungalows and family rooms. They all feature individually controlled A/C, mini fridge, direct dial telephone, satellite T.V, bath/shower, balcony or patio. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Snack Bar: Serves a wide choice of home made snacks. Main Bar: Enjoy a great variety of exotic cocktails, long drinks, coffees and cakes. Pool-side Bar: Directly on the pool offering all kinds of cool drinks and exotic cocktails. LEISURE AND SPORT FACILITIES: Large swimming pool, children's pool, sun terraces with umbrellas and sun beds, tennis court, table tennis, children's playground, billiard, backgammon and chess. WATERPARK FACILITIES: Speed Slides Three Lane Multi Slide Open Body Slide Enclosed Body Slide Open Tube Slide Bowl Ride Mini Sidewinder Children's Play Swimming Pool Wave Pool Lazy River OTHER FACILITIES: Reception, foreign exchange, mini market, safe deposit boxes, full excursion programs, car hire, parking area and internet corner. ENTERTAINMENT AND ANIMATION: Various weekly animation programs including Greek and other theme nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Rhodes
Hotel Sun Palace
Sun Palace Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing