We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised and would return again!”
Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Returned on the 21/8/2014 after a weeks holiday with other half, 26 year old daughter and 6 year old son. Felt a bit apprehensive after reading some of the previous reviews, and it being peak season, but all in all it was a great holiday and I would return.

Our family room was on the ground floor, clean (and serviced every day by really friendly cleaners) and spacious, with great air conditioning and in a quiet location - which meant a good nights sleep for all. The bunk beds were a bit wobbly, but once reported to reception they came and sorted it out straight away.

Breakfast was typical of what you would expect, Lunch in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss (some random dishes thrown together sometimes). We found lunch much nicer over at Splashworld (still included in price) of fresh pizzas, gyros (kebabs) and salad, but Dinner was always great - with a real wide selection of fish, meat, veggie, salads etc, and an opportunity to try 'traditional' greek dishes. And as there were snack bars between each meal, you weren't restricted to eating during the meal times - and could therefore never go hungry. My son loved it, and the freedom of being able to select his own food! Good selection of desserts too, and although peak season we never felt overwhelmed with the level of people (unlike some holidays I have experienced i.e. Disneyland!)

We never made it into the actual hotel pool (although it looked great and there were loads of activities arranged), as we spent whole days in Splashworld with the: wave machine on at 11am, 1pm and 4pm; lazy river; kids pirate pool and various flumes. My 6 year old was in his element, and would have stayed in there longer (actual shame it closed at 6pm!). The lifeguards were great, and very responsive when my son scrapped his leg on the slide on the first day, and treated him with effective first aid materials and care. We always managed to get a group of loungers with a parasol, and it was also nice to be able to sit in the shade of the snack bar with a cold beer or ice cream. The only down-side in Splashworld were that some of the walkways/entrances into pools were quite slippery - luckily we managed not to fall, but came close a couple of times.

The nearest beach is literally a 10 min walk away, with sun loungers and parasols costing 8 euros for the day. Sandy but gritty beach, but great for building sand castles and burying one another in. Very clean, showers and changing area on the beach - but so close to hotel, not really an issue.

The Animation entertainment team were fantastic, and each evening (except Weds) they put on entertainment including kids mini disco, bingo (5 or 10 euros) with good prizes and range of shows - a musical quiz, african acrobats and Abba tribute band. The one night which was a bit of a let down was the Animation teams own-show, which although they tried hard with Spice Girl renditions, seemed a bit too improvised - and at times was quite boring, as well as a bit too 'adult focused', with some jokes that would not fall into the family appropriate category. But hey it was one night! After the evening entertainment finished at 11pm'ish it was lovely to just sit and have a drink, the kids could run around, or play arcade/pool (1 or 2 euros a game) and the range of drinks was great, cocktails (a bit sweet), spirits, wine/beer and 'Mickey Mouses' for the kiddies (again a bit sweet), but they loved them!

Even the late flight home wasn't too bad. We checked out at 12 noon - you could pay 40 euros for a later check out til 6pm, or 50 euros til 9pm (but not necessarily your room), or use the courtesy room (1/2 an hour for every 2 people in your group). TIP: book this early 7am the day you leave, so that you get a good slot. We got a 5pm slot which wasn't too bad, but it would have been better if they had a few more rooms - as some people had to take a 2pm slot!

Other than the beach we didnt venture outside of the hotel, as we were quite happy with the pool and the on-site entertainment. We spent very little extra money, and believe we got our monies worth from the holiday - and I would definitely recommend it for families, and would consider returning. In actual fact, my son wants to live there and is finding it very hard to settle back in England!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great if you have young kids - but we sighted a couple of ants, but not a rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Debzzz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Arrived at 2am in the morning very tired and initially not impressed with the hotel, got to the room which was very clean with excellent AC. Got up in the morning and went off to explore and things got a lot better. The main dining hall was ok selection of food was fine, catering staff very friendly but did see one of them cutting meat with a knife that he then put back on the bread board. Bar staff, cleaning staff and pool staff all very helpful in fact they could not have been better. Reception day staff need to go back to charm school, did not see one of them smile once during our stay. The entertainment was great for the kids but would have to say the beer ping pong ! was extremely boring and went on for far to long but the acrobat show was stunning. The rules say that you can't reserve sun beds but they all had towels on them by 8am !!!! Splash world does not open till 10am but if you are not in the queue at 10am you will not get a sunbed. The snack bar at splash world is very good, kids loved the pizza's. The beach is about 5 min walk and was beautiful well worth a visit . The only problem we had was our son got an ear infection and unfortunately it was on Emma's (the rep) day off but we had been assured that we were always being looked after because if we had a problem we just had to call their 24 hour hot line to get assistance ???? We rang it for approx 15 mins without an answer and then gave up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went for a week with 2 adults and 4 children aged 7, 9, 11 and 15. Arrived home Sunday 24th Aug. I have never written a hotel review before but after reading the last few feel I must!! Feel some people must have been staying at a different hotel.

We had a family room 526 that had two bunk beds then bathroom 2 sinks and double bedroom then balcony. Very clean and modern, cleaning staff very friendly and worked really hard. First day we managed to smash a bottle of medicine and told staff and they cleaned and kept saying no problem made us feel at home. Air con was fab kids even complained were to cold lol. Fridge in room handy to keep drinks etc in good size for hotel room.

Food. I did breakfast in restaurant twice as it has more choice than snack bar that does breakfast from 10. However snack bar adequate with bacon beans eggs fruit etc. Lunch good choice and snack bar ok for snacks when it shut. Dinner in evening was good choice. My son is a vegetarian and enjoyed the vegetarian selection. Always a fish dish, meat and chicken, lots of salad, traditional Greek food, lovely deserts, pasta, lots of veg. If you want 5 star food pay more but what you get is good choice tasty and always hot and refilled. We always got a table for 6 of us and never found the restaurant overcrowded or to noisy. Where were other people staying I have no idea. Were always greeted at restaurant by staff who found you a table and led you to it excellent!! We did always eat inside as was cooler. Tables cleared quickly and found staff really friendly specially if you treat them as humans and interact with them, please and thank you go a long way!! Snack bar at night was a bit hit and miss but then what do you want at 10pm anyway. I did take fruit out of restaurant to eat at night while watching entertainment.

Pool was big and never felt crowded even managed to relax on a sun lounger for an hour was lovely!! (who ever said pool,was small was crazy) Kids section was also big and my 7 year old could walk round in large pool shallow end. Did find paddle pool a little slippy but was ok.

Drinks where no way watered down!!!! If anything they blew your head off lol. New bottles were opened in front of you and measures massive, Queues never longer than a few mins and if you dont want to keep queueing get more drinks simple. Cocktails lovely although did have one we hated lol but hey free to try and just got another.

Water park fab and all kids loved it and could safely wander of and explore. Was a bit windy in places but loved that as temp was 36!!! Nice to have life guards that did there job well and were friendly to kids. Wave pool came on at 4pm (were never there earlier) we all ;loved it. Food at waterpark good with lots of seats and included in all inclusive. We did however spend a lot of time at main hotel pool as kids loved the entertainment there and youngest loved kids club.

Agree WIFI was a bit poor but don't come on hols to stay on phone etc. Always got to download on Fb etc.

Faliraki itself was surprisingly good. I was a bit worried after reading reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Yes you can find closed down buildings etc but isn't that the same everywhere. All locals were really friendly and can recommend Sofia Travel over the road. Couple are lovely and we booked a fab boat trip a lot cheaper than First choice. Worth a walk at night when cooler and all lit up, no drunken groups and lots of families, Yes couple of strip clubs and did get asked if wanted to go in family bars but didnt feel hassled at all. Lovely clothes and jewellery shops to explore.

Beach brilliant didnt go enough as we had to much fun at hotel. Water clear warm and great fun jumping in waves and snorkelling.

Entertainment team made holiday extra special cant praise them enough!! My 15 year old boy made lots of friends and the younger girls were sad to leave. Always got a seat in evening or you can lay on loungers and still see stage. Lots off nationalities at hotel and found everyone friendly.

All in all a fab holiday. Good value for money great for families. Even though busy it never felt overcrowded or to noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

i really enjoyed our family stay in sun palace. the only thing that let me down was the food and drink. but we were saved by an amazing bar just down the road called king arthurs. absolutely amazing drinks and fantastic atmosphere. they looked after the kids with free soft drinks, popcorn and ice cream. the husband loved being able to watch the football... and we saw an absolutely hilarious hypnotist show there which all of the family enjoyed which was complimented by a trip to the amazing waterpark. the quality and hospitality was very impressive, theyre so polite and helpful. rhodes is such a beautiful island i will be back to sun palace very soon with my family! we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, and its near our favorite bar. thank you very much to sun palace and king arthurs bar for looking after us!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Rhianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just got at 2:45 back this morning. Family of 4 (2 girls 16 and 9).

If you have any kind of standards, don't go. We've recently stayed at holiday villages at Algarve and Tunisia, not posh, I know, but this was very poor in comparison. Only chose this resort/hotel as we'd left too late to get any of our preferred choices. Faliraki is filthy, and run down, with lots of deserted/half built buildings and is pretty much a dump.

Pool area was shabby. Sun loungers grubby, with faded plastic parasol tables and torn parasols more the norm. There's the usual sight of merged 'clans' or cliques getting up at god knows what time to get the sun beds, and later taking up 2 or 3 tables at the entertainment area on a night (you know who you are). How people can return heed even once beats me, but some have been coming for years.

Pool is small, and dirty. Kids section is dangerous, as the tiles on the floor of the pool are not grouted properly, and it is very easy to cut your toes on the corners of the tiles.

Our room was dated, but the new build looks really nice. Wifi is shockingly bad, even in the designated are (the lobby). The food tasteless and repetitive. Soft drinks were terribly cheap, and tasteless. At least the beer was cold, and the cocktails were nice.

The dining room is hectic, and loud, and the food warm and bland.

As per other reviews, tattooed chavs were the majority. Mixed nationalities mainly lots of Southern English.

Thank god for the waterpark and lovely beach. If it wasn't for those, I'd have asked to be moved. Waterpark is great for kids. Staff are really pleasant, considering they must be bored out of their minds, standing around all day in 35 degree heat. The beach is beautiful. The sea is crystal clear and warm, with fish swimming about in the shallows. One word of caution - the sand is VERY VERY hot and we needed to wear flip-flops just to get from the sun loungers to the sea. In thirteen years of travelling, we've never experienced such heat.

Although our daughters never took part in kids club activities, they loved the entertainers, who I have to say worked extremely hard and deserve a better setting. We'll done to you all.

Room Tip: Ask for new build if possible, though it's quite a small building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MikeA865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Please google "category a" hotels and then review why this hotel is so cheap and tacky. When you receive your end of stay questionnaire it lists all the aqua sol hotels in Greek territory and this is listed 4th bottom! Firstly the animation team are fantastic and the only reason this hotel doesn't get slatted by visitors. They are truly first class and should be given medals for working so hard with guests of all ages. They should consider moving on elsewhere as the hotel does not deserve them. The food is disgusting, cold and so boring. Breakfast was eaten once in our 14 day stay, 2 adults and 6yr son. The bacon is grilled sliced ham, sausages are mini hotdogs, scrambled egg is slop and that's about it. Every day you can eat chips, pizza, fried fish fingers (which is brown fish replacement and corn), fried chicken nuggets (which is cheap chicken meat), burgers (which is thin cheap meat replacement), and boiled hotdog. There is other options inside then restaurant which is last nights slop, salad and pasta or defrosted and boiled sprouts/veg with last nights fish in the obligatory tomato sauce. Nothing healthy at all and it's exactly the same everyday. We ended up having fruit for the last 4/5 days as couldn't stand anymore back street cafe trough any longer. Our son doesn't want fried slop every day and there is nothing for young children unless your happy to fill them with rubbish daily. The evening meals, well it's truly awful and that's no joke. Look at how many people say the same, it's no coincidence! The same every night although they did have a Chinese menu once! The food for kids is pasta with tomato sauce, and the same chips,burger,chicken nuggets, fish fingers that you have forced down them at lunchtime. The veg is defrosted and warmed in a tray of boiling water to heat. As you expect it doesn't cook root veg and carrots turn to slush. The veg therefore is stone cold and hard as it's being warmed underneath with, yes, a tray of boiling water. The meat is all cheap cuts and mostly fatty class c batch product which is what fast food outlets get away with, just. The salad is there but do you fancy salad every day and night? Soup is nice which is all I could stomach for the last 4/5 nights. The table cloths are covered in the remnants of the last patrons which is why you have to search for forks and knives. The 2 stray cats that crawl around your feet every night are a bonus and the staff do nothing, thanks but I don't want have a sprinkle of infection to go with my meal. Enough of the food as I could go on about it all day long, but the manager will argue that they appreciate customer feedback and state they have a varied choice including the option to eat at the a la carte restaurant. You can do once, which was a refreshing change but we sat for 2 hours and couldn't stay for the desert or we would have never finished. The manager should take a look at people's continuous reviews on the food and act but clearly cheap profit maintaining slop is their mission statement and not the continuous drive to focus primarily on customer satisfaction. In business the profit comes hand in hand when you obtain, increase and then retain customers, we'll I'd love to see the stats on the number of visitors compared to the return guests, I bet it's embarrassing! Finally, the double family rooms next to the splash world are tiny, the double bed is fine but the folding camp bed squashed up against the patio doors does just show how much the management care about guests. My summary of this hotel is, animation team fantastic, food is cheap batch heart attack medicine, restaurant is appalling, rooms from the 70's but to be fair it is the bottom of the list in this collection of aqua sol hotels after all. Would we return - no reply!!! Thanks to the entertainers and Andreas in the indoor bar who is the only touch of class about the place. Must go to King Arthur's bar 5 minutes walk, George is great and football on everyday.

Room Tip: Choose a larger family 4 room hopefully the new block near the splash park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Whilst I regularly read reviews, this is the first one I've left....
Not sure where to start really?
The positives... The room was like Ronseal... Does exactly what it says on the tin! Basic, but clean and comfortable. We were lucky and had one on the ground floor, end of the block and apart from the odd cockroach (which didn't really bother me, it's Greece, so you can expect that), it was OK.
That's where the positives end!
I booked this hotel as I have booked splash world 2 years running and couldn't fault it. But thought I'd have a change of country. I wish I hadn't!
The waterpark - depending on which lifeguard was on duty, it's fine if your children are over 14, otherwise you have to accompany them everywhere, on all the slides, even the lazy river, even if they are 1.2 meters! The layout is awful.... To get in the lazy river you have to go over to the island and can only get in and out of the lazy river is via the island.
The lifeguards are very inconsistent..... Stella being the only lovely one who understood kids and what they're capable of!!
The food - breakfast was adequate, although it was a scrum to get anything freshly cooked like an omelette or pancakes. The choice was good, probably the best meal of the day. We spent lunchtimes at the waterpark cafe, so can't really complain. There was a choice of hot dogs, burgers and pasta, as well as freshly cooked pizzas which were lovely. As for dinner, it was the same old same old every night, which was fine as long as you liked Greek food or pasta! There were supposed to be themed nights in the restaurant but apart from one counter being 'themed' the food was the same every night.... There's only one word for it?......... Slop! I must be the only person who lost weight on holiday!!
After dinner, the entertainment started. Kids disco was at 8.45 to 9.30 every night (which I personally believe is too late for little ones, which is who it was aimed at), followed by two games of bingo which you had to PAY for!!!!!!! In an all inclusive hotel???? Then there were varying types of 'entertainment'. Only one night was there anything worth watching, which was an African dance group, who were extremely good. I think the night I was most mortified about was the music quiz night! Tunes were played and if you knew the answer, you had to run up onto the stage and tell the rep. If you got the question right, you got a shot of vodka, if you got it wrong, you had to take an item of clothing off!!!! Now I'm not a prude, but this is supposed to be a family resort! The prize for the winner was a 50 euro tattoo voucher....... Yes you did read that correctly!! What sort of impression are first choice trying to make by giving out tattoo vouchers for the winner of a drinking game...... That is not something I would have expected from a reputable company like first choice.
After that, we spent the majority of our time out of the hotel, which when you've booked and paid for all inclusive is not really what I had had planned or budgeted for.
Rhodes was a half an hour bus ride away and once there, was great for shopping, sightseeing and had some lovely restaurants. Don't go to faliraki, it's awful! Full of strip clubs, bars and tacky shops. When I booked this holiday I was lead to believe the hotel was nearer Rhodes than faliraki, but this is not the case! The hotel is at the end of the strip leading to the town centre.
Lastly, even after reading this review, if you still choose to go to the sun palace, be warned that even if you do book a late check out, this probably won't be in your actual room! I was informed by the rep that we would need to leave our room at 6pm on the day of departure, with a pick up at 7.50pm, which was perfect. We had planned to go to Rhodes on our last night, but I was summoned by reception just before we left, only to be told that we had to check out of our room by 10am the following morning, as they needed the room for new guests arriving. This meant that we had to spend the next 2 hours packing before our trip to Rhodes which ruined the night. The next morning (our last day) we had planned to go paragliding at 11am. We took our luggage to reception, where we were told, the bags would be moved to our new room for our return.
Upon our return, our bags were still at reception, which was fine, until we found out that our new room was across the main road and not even in the complex! It as like a holding room, not big enough to swing a cat! As far as I can see the sun palace are only interested in packing them in and making as much money as possible!!
Be warned, go to this hotel at your peril!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank funkychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
1.2 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#2 of 70 in Faliraki
256 reviews
28.7 mi away
Thomas Hotel
Thomas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monolithos
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
948 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pegasos Deluxe Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Address: Faliraki Road, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#9 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range: £16 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMMODATION: Total number of rooms: 322 hotel rooms, bungalows and family rooms. They all feature individually controlled A/C, mini fridge, direct dial telephone, satellite T.V, bath/shower, balcony or patio. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Snack Bar: Serves a wide choice of home made snacks. Main Bar: Enjoy a great variety of exotic cocktails, long drinks, coffees and cakes. Pool-side Bar: Directly on the pool offering all kinds of cool drinks and exotic cocktails. LEISURE AND SPORT FACILITIES: Large swimming pool, children's pool, sun terraces with umbrellas and sun beds, tennis court, table tennis, children's playground, billiard, backgammon and chess. WATERPARK FACILITIES: Speed Slides Three Lane Multi Slide Open Body Slide Enclosed Body Slide Open Tube Slide Bowl Ride Mini Sidewinder Children's Play Swimming Pool Wave Pool Lazy River OTHER FACILITIES: Reception, foreign exchange, mini market, safe deposit boxes, full excursion programs, car hire, parking area and internet corner. ENTERTAINMENT AND ANIMATION: Various weekly animation programs including Greek and other theme nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Rhodes
Hotel Sun Palace
Sun Palace Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing