We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore bad reviews! Amazing family feel”
Review of Rodos Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodos Sun
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

WOW-What an amazing week spent at Rodos Sun!
Despite a previous review suggesting a "click" & that you have to be by the pool day and night to be involved is wrong. Me & my boyfriend spent most days out & about.
Nick & Alexia were extremely happy to help & guided us about the buses,where to go etc.

Day 1-- take the train tour & walk around the streets in the old town worth a visit!

Day 2- pool day with the beach in the afternoon. It got very hot & we spent the whole time in theses but it was beautiful.

Day3- we took a boat cruise with Captain Hook. Snorkelling & swimming. Lasting 2 1/2hours costing only €15 bargain & well worth it!

Day4-bus to Lindos. (Cost €4 each way)We took a walk through the little windy streets which was beautiful before climbing to the castle which is a bit of a hill so may be a struggle if you are less sturdy on your feet.costs €6 to look round the castle & the views are stunning!! Go in the late afternoon or the sun will kill you!

Day 5- Water Park Day! Cost €22 & the lockers were €6 but you get €4 back.
Costs €10 by taxi which is a must because it's on a massive hill!!
Take socks or flip flops the ground gets hot. We took our flip flops off at the end of the rides to get a rubber ring then at the end put them on again.

TOILET ROLLS- we didn't have to buy ours.When we ran out we kindly asked if we could have another & it was fine.
ALSO whoever moaned about having 1 pillow why didn't they ask?! We did & nick gave me another one straight away.

THE BBQ- amazing!!!! I have the chicken & my boyfriend had the pork.both gorgeous. Big portions. It's an amazing way to meet other guests. This hotel has a real sense of community.
Killer pool & card bingo followed by the option to head into town with Nick leading us! Fantastic!

The room was basic but clean. It's true what they say about the shower the water does go on the floor but just keep everything off the floor & it's perfectly fine.Drys out in no time.
Friendly cleaners who come in every other day. Enough plates & cutlery including tin opener.basic but enough.2 rings to cook on.

Nick recommended a traditional Greek restaurant round the corner. Ask him as I can't remember the name but it was beautiful!
10 mins from town.close enough to get in without bother but just far enough not be to hassled in the evening. Best relaxed week & highly recommend a visit!

I could write all day but you really need to experience it for yourself!
5/5 for customer service aswell!

Room Tip: One facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

After an hour and 40min transfer we arrived at the bottom of a dark stinky road, which can only be described as the road on the inbetweeners movie -great, 2weeks, what have we let ourselves in for! BUT when we arrived at the hotel it was total opposite!!
Nick, Alexia and their parents are the nicest people you will ever meet, nothing is too much trouble, easy to talk to and a great laugh!!
If you like meeting new people and getting involved then this is a great place to stay!!
The smell that comes from the bottom of the road doesn't reach the hotel, but something is being done about it so nick says!
My boyfriend and I like to go out on the strip and although faliraki used to have it's reputation for being very roudy and unpleasant, it's not at all like that - which for us was slightly disappointing but it didn't spoil our holiday as there was so many people with good crack round the hotel!
The rodos sun BBQ night on a Monday evening is the talk of the week! Majority Of people in the hotel Attend and it's defo worth doing! To socialise, for a good laugh and a chance to win €€€ to spend on a few more cocktails :) then nick takes you all down to bar street for a night out,
Plenty of fishbowls, shots and banter!!
The rooms are basic but very clean! The air con and safe are not expensive (as other reviews said they were) as the air con is a must we got it's full money's worth for sure!!
The maid came every other day and she even tidied our room! Yes you have to buy toilet roll and yes the beds arnt like the ones at home but it is self catering!!
The food that is served from
The hotel again is basic (full breakfast, chips, pizza, rolls, toasties) but cheap and is quite tasty, but there are many places to eat within 10 mins away. Alabamas was good for brunch which is 5mins up the road! Another fav was panchos, which is about 20-25 min walk away but amazing Mexican food!!!
To sum up my holiday I would give it 10 out of 10, we've had a fantastic time, met some amazing people and great memories!! Already looked at flights for next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Juice1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I could not recommend this hotel enough to anyone. The whole family who run the Rodos Sun are just lovely and so welcoming. They get to know your name and about you which makes you feel very settle quickly. As everyone has said the BBQ is brilliant and a must while you're there. I feel the location is perfect as you can have the best of both worlds by a short walk to the strip or more chilled in the bars and restaurant on the main road. We were in the ground floor room right next to the bar so it can be noisy, however the times we did get disturbed were the nights that we were having an 'early' one so we can't really complain. We did get woken up in the mornings but we didn't mind that as it meant more time in the sun! I felt that the food and drinks were very well priced at the pool bar and very nice, I have stayed at many hotels were it is a complete rip off and I was very happy to buy anything from the pool bar. I came on holiday with another friend for a girly 11 days and it was just perfect, we both could not fault it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank JH1234981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

the hotel was very clean good size rooms and balcony.The bath room was a nite mare was like a sauna water every were as there was no prober shower tray or curtain water came out of every part of the shower which really wasnt very good.
the pool area was nice nice there was all ways plenty of sunbeds.the food wasnt great very basic allso not that many options on menu the family that ran the hotel were friendly all in all we enjoyed our stay but would not return.

Room Tip: be warned you have to buy your own toilet roll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We transferred to the rodos sun having experienced a terrible situation at a 5 star deluxe. We didn't have any expectations as we hadn't picked this place. What a pleasant surprise. We were greeted warmly and given a crisp, clean spacious room. The rooms were immaculate and provided all the usual facilities of self catering. I was impressed at the house keeping - fresh linen and towels every other day. The family run facility is lovely friendly and intimate. They tried really hard to make you welcome and facilitate any needs - they helped personalise food for my 6 year old who is a poor eater. The grounds are kept nice and pool clean. It's in a good location near to tavernas and nightlife but not bang in the middle so you get peace at night. Only slight downside is if you're a huge beach lover - it's a bit of a walk with little ones but not excessive. Overall I would definitely recommend this place it's better than the average self catering. You'd have a great holiday here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne6456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed here for one week with my partner from the 13th to the 20th August and it succeeded all expectations. The service we received from Nick, Alexia & their parents was above and beyond 5* quality. You were welcomed with a warm smile and a friendly chat no matter what the time of day. The rooms although basic, were spotless and fresh towels/sheets were given every 2 days. The BBQ on a Monday is a most definite. The food is delicious and it's great fun. I'm 5 months pregnant with our first baby and the management at Rodos Sun could not be more accommodating or caring. It felt as if it was home from home, it felt like we were one big family. I would most definitely return to this hotel, as it welcomes everyone. Thank you for an amazing Holiday
Linda, Daragh & Peanut:-) from Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked two weeks at Rodos Sun and emailed them to ask for two rooms together overlooking the pool on the top floor-Nicholas emailed straight back and when we arrived this is exactly what we got. Brilliant and friendly service.
The apartments are down a track which takes you past a bad smell from another hotel as someone has mentioned but this doesn't reach the apartments which are spotlessly clean and smell free! There were always sun beds available and there were five of us - two adults and three teenagers age 15,17 and 18. The kids loved this place and stayed by the pool where they made friends. There is food available at the bar and this was good value.
Nick and Alexia are so friendly and always seemed to remember everyone's name, they are also strict about no noise after midnight which means a good night's sleep-important for my husband!
Faliraki town is a 10 minute stroll and the beach is a little closer. There is something for everyone in town and bar street closes at 2am so you don't seem to get the yob element,! We felt it was safe enough to let the kids stay out at night and walk back without worrying too much.
The weekly barbecue is a must-we found this bought everyone together and we and the kids made some lovely friends. Nick takes everyone to bar street for a night out afterwards and we were dancing with the teenagers - MUCH TO THEIR EMBARESSMENT! A great time had by all.
We have no hesitation in recommending these apartments which are run by a lovely family who can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.7 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#5 of 70 in Faliraki
629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#8 of 70 in Faliraki
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#10 of 70 in Faliraki
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Beach Hotel
Apollo Beach Hotel
#17 of 70 in Faliraki
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#2 of 70 in Faliraki
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Sun

Address: Aegea Street, Faliraki 851 05, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
#17 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range: £19 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Rodos Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Sun Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing