We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back! A pleasant stay, wonderful staff and reasonable prices!”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My friend and I satyed in Hotel Matina July 11 and booked through a cheap TeleText company as we wanted a cheap last minute sun holiday. The original hotel we had chosen in Old Town Rhodes was sold out so we went with our second choice Hotel Matina.
It turned out that this was for the best. The Hotel itself is located a 10-15min walk [all flat, with footpaths for 80% of it but poorly lit at night] from teh main hustle and bustle of the Faliraki madness. It's location means that it is very quiet and secluded.
The staff were amazing, we arrived at 3am in the morning and they did everything in their abilities to make our stay a pleasant one.
The rooms are small sized and basic but that is the norm for Greece. They were clean and had A/C and a small balcony area. There were 2 single beds and a small wardrobe. Linens and towels were changed everyday for us.
The pool area makes this hotel, it's large, clean and quiet. There are plenty of loungers and parasols [no charge] the pool itself is fabulous, a good size and depth and was always clean! The poolside bar was very reasonably priced for food and the food was lovely. We never ate in the hotel restaurant as we wandered into town each night and we weren't on a package [the dinner buffet was something like €11 or 12 for adult and it always smelt nice when we walked out past]. MAKE SURE TO GO TO THE BBQ night if there! Highlight of stay!
The hotel bar was always open, we spent many the night sitting at the bar drinking with the night manager and chatting about home and Greece and Rhodes and the local customs and sights. Our last night they even started dancing with us as we said we never got to see traditional Greek dancing in the local taverna!

I WOULD RECCOMMEND THIS PROPERTY! Was one of the best holidays I have ever had, and this was on account of the fantastic people we met at the hotel! It's not 5 star or even 3 star facility standards but it does the trick. If you're looking for a pleasant, safe, clean and reasonably priced hotel within close proximity of the nightlife but not in the thick of the madness of the strip then Matina is for you.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiatwrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here last week in september 2011on HB basis,we had a garden view room booked but where given a pool view room at no extra charge, a very good start I thought,
The room however was very dated, with old fashioned furniture well past its sell by date.
The food in the restaruant was very poor, both for breakfast and evening meal, and i am making this judgement on our previous hotels in greece.To make matters worse, once you had sat down with your starter,the waiter would come .check your room number, and straight away served the main meal, (which by the way you had to choose from a choice of two the previous day) this meal was never hot when served so could be stone cold by the time you where ready to eat it.
To tip the balance I have to say that the staff are absolutley brilliant, and deserve a mention by name, so here goes,
Michael the waiter and head barman, a very funny friendly man,who by the way does not play pool as well as he thinks he does, so have a small wager with him.
Pantelis at the pool bar, a young man whose politeness is overwhelming,
Roula, the young very pretty waitress in the restaraunt,
Voula on reception, a very competent lady,
Emanuel the manager, an extremley helpful guy, so cool and laid back, and i believe the son of Matina, the all inspiring lady who still gets up early and stays up late to watch over her domain.
having said all that, would I go back to this hotel, Yes I would, but only on S/C basis

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel fits the description the rooms are simple but you pay low simple prices the food is excellent the staff are so pleasent and it is kept very clean. It will take you about ten mins to walk.to thr beach.which again is excellent so you are away from the riff raff but close enough very good hotel at excellent price. I would recommend this to anyone. Ps very friendly hotel dog

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riknnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We went with no great expectations as the holiday was a late booking at the end of the season. Yes, the rooms are a bit tired and could do with a bit of refurbishment but we don't go on holiday to stay in our room. They were however cleaned every day with clean towels supplied. There was a kettle in our room which meant an enjoyable cup of tea in the morning although tea and coffee are available at breakfast. The owners are aware of the shortcomings and I believe they have plans to do something about it. With beaches just a short walk away we didn't use the pool but it was spotless and a good size. The food was Greek basic but as vegetarians we were offered a suitable dish every day without any repetition over two weeks. There are plenty of choices of food if your requirement isn't MacDonalds or fish and chips. If that is your expectation, get a life. You're in Greece. Drinks at the bar seem expensive until you realise that a gin and tonic is actually a triple.
The real bonus was the staff. These people are great. Matina, the owner invited us onto her table and eat dinner with her. Her English isn't good but my Greek is worse and we all made efforts to understand each other. If that fails some of the staff understand five or six languages and will translate. It puts the English to shame. It's a family run hotel and they make you feel part of their family. It was worth every penny to be treated the way we were. I've never been welcomed so much, and not the false American kind of "Have a nice day" greeting, but sincere acknowledgements. At the end of the day you do tend to get what you pay for and if you pay £400 each for a fortnights holiday then you're expectations shouldn't be for caviare and champagne. There is no reason why you shouldn't have a great time at the Matina. We did, and would be quite happy to return there if we ever go back to Rhodes. Go there with an open mind and enjoy your holiday. Wayne and Mary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I don't normally write reviews but as the reviews on here were part of the reason for choosing this hotel I thought it was only fair to contribute. The hotel was great and exactly what we were looking for. It is fantastic value for money and while the rooms are basic they are spotlessly clean and what you would expect for a Greek hotel at the price you pay. The pool was impeccably clean and lovely and the pool bar served great food which was very cheap! Didn't eat in the restaurant but had breakfast a couple of mornings which was fairly standard buffet and fine for what we wanted. The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for you. It was my friend's birthday while we were there and they bought a birthday cake and upgraded us to one of their delux rooms for the rest of our stay totally free of charge just because they are hospitable people! A ten minute walk to town or the beach and well lit so as three girls we didn't feel unsafe walking home. Only thing I would say is maybe get a taxi back if you're coming back later on the weekends as you do get groups of teenagers on scooters who can be a bit intimidating. All in all a fantastic holiday, exactly what we wanted and thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Matina who were fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

the rooms are basic but very clean,very very frendly staff especally the bar man, all staff were fantastic , beds comfortable, 10 to 15 min walk to town, 5 euro cab fare from town back to hotel. would recomend and would return.

Room Tip: get a room with sea view or ground floor round pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel is rated 3*. Its service is 5*. Weve just returned from a great break. Its clean (if you have a problem just talk to the staff) its sorted in less than a minute. IMPECCABLE service. Droppings on the floor, i dont think so??! Maybe they were yours...?!
Its location is a 15miute stroll to the start of the fantastic tavernas (Manilos, De Stefanno and Greek Spirit) all superb. A little further is bar street, its lively but you go where you choose. The beach is either passed here (bar street is quiet in the day) or via another route to another section of beach. The beach is very clean, as is the sea. The Greeks are very friendly. Try talking to them rather than moaning about their ways of life or slight differences to our own.
The hotel pool is always spotless. Manolis, Mike, Pandelis, Fouller (the staff team) cannot do enough for you. When they are busy Socrates (Manolis mate) can help.
The rooms are cleaned daily (Sunday the exception) by the maid. The air-con is extra but essential and cools the room beautifully.
You must try the Sunday night bbq and live music. A cultural experience of how the Greeks dance and enjoy their music.
We were self catering and heard the evening meals were good but breakfast restricted, but ok. The pool bar offers great food. Although it looks basic, the chef is a master, try the chicken gyros, fresh grilled chicken on pita with Tzatzika and the trimmings, very nice.
It could do with a lick of paint in places, some modernisation wouldnt go amiss, but...... its a family run hotel, they treat you like you are part of the family (if you bother to go out your way and talk to them). Its 3*, go for the atmosphere, the safety, the sun and enjoy. We started in a small room, i went straight down and was moved the next morning. If you dont ask you dont get. Tell them if you are unhappy and they will sort it.
We will return next year and highly recommend it...

Room Tip: A pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin72-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
1.1 mi away
Nephele Apartments
Nephele Apartments
#33 of 80 in Faliraki
12 reviews
3 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#2 of 70 in Faliraki
261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Apartments
Dolphin Apartments
#52 of 70 in Faliraki
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Address: Profitis Amos | Kalithea, Faliraki 851 05, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Price Range: £29 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Matina 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matina hotel is situated on the outskirts of Faliraki, in a quiet and peaceful location. A short walk from the hotel will take you to the lively center and to one of the best beaches on the island. Matina hotel is a family run hotel and whether you’re a first time visitor or a returning friend you will soon feel at home with the hospitality that the Simiakos family will show you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Faliraki
Hotel Matina Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing