We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sensational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Cafe

Marco Polo Cafe
Ranked #19 of 378 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Although we had written directions it was hard to find. We were recommended to this restaurant, amazing terrace , amazing food choices, not your usual tourist Greek food, great service. Only sorry we discovered it on our last night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    90
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Vegetables should be more than just decoration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We enjoyed our meal at Marco Polo but it could have been better. The restaurant is in a very nice courtyard behind the main building. The waiters were friendly and helpful. The house wine was good. My wife had the tuna, which was cooked as she likes it, almost raw inside, but her vegetables were tiny, just a bit of decoration on the plate. I had the lamb souvlaki, which was slightly undercooked, raw inside rather than pink, but not quite enough to send it back. Mine had a bit more vegetables with it, but not enough. The deserts were a bit disappointing, things which had been prepared much earlier and had spent the day in the fridge. We left feeling a bit hungry. They should be much more generous with the vegetables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zenMaster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“INSPIRED TRADITION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Somewhere in the heart of the old town of Rhodes someone can find this atmospheric restaurant.
There are only 10 - 12 tables in the small yard under an old water mill , lots of flowers and of course there is Effie . Who's Effie ? The owner and the soul of this gem. Speaking many languages she is always there to welcome you , explain every dish , sit and chat with you and at the end be a friend of yours. A lady with grand temperament almost loves every dish her kitchen serves. Try the octopus garpatso , the shrimps in spicy red sauce , the aubergine with tomato and cheese , the beef with rocket and of course if possible all the desserts. Leaving the restaurant and walking at the medieval alleys your senses will be full of aromas and tastes .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superior culinary experience for birthday meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having somehow missed the Marco Polo Cafe rooftop experience during our autumn 2012 trip, we aimed to make-up for this by (after our first meal there!) choosing it for our last-night meal. (Sadly, this didn't transpire as a torrential rain-storm prevented the Cafe from opening ... damn!) Still, the meal we did enjoy there a few nights earlier - my birthday night - was truly memorable! All the courses were excellent - & we got a feeling from the start the chef(s) knew what he/she/they were doing ... in spades!! Added to this was the rooftop ambience which was really pleasant. The owner clearly plays a hands-on role at this establishment ... without being in any way overbearing. Also, evidently locals patronise ... always a good sign! Will return here for sure on any return trip to Rhodes next yr. ... to make up for the rainy disappointment this!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NigelCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food - could better some aspects”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I dined in Marco Polo once as suggestion from my hotel for a more fancy dining option. The inner court of a medieval house provides with a very scenic dining place and the food is really tasty. I had the pistachio lamb which was delicious. I have to say that pricewise this is not a budget restaurant but some of its dishes definitely worth the price.
However I was not perfectly satisfied by the service. I saw that some people were given a complimentary limoncello at the end of their dining - I did not get this. Additionally there is very small choice in the menu and even smaller on the deserts. However I would come again although there are better choices in Rhodes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BettySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Polo Cafe also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Marco Polo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing