We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic & romantic”
Review of Marco Polo Cafe

Marco Polo Cafe
Ranked #20 of 428 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic & romantic”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

You will probably have hard time finding this restaurant and once you spot the entry door you'll probably be skeptical... But when you step in your surprise will be even greater!

Lovely little interior garden, as romantic as you want it to be. A warm welcome and a genuinely friendly staff.

The food is simply delicious and the wine list is OK.

Down side: don't go there if you are looking for real Greek cuisine!

Helpful?
Thank Georges M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    95
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“As good as they say! Not to be missed!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Frankly I was sceptical of the strong favourable reviews for this restaurant after a number of very ordinary dining non events in Rhodes.

My anxiousness was heightened by firstly some trouble locating the restaurant ( ignore Google maps and keep walking south) and secondly the lets say the modest entry.

All reservations dissipated once our dining ' experience' commenced.

Service was casual yet efficient and warm.

The food was without doubt the best to date on the island by a long way - the pork with figs amongst others to die for !

The wine list was whilst short delivered on finally on the island a dry White Sauvignon Blanc that even New Zealanders would have been proud of.

It is not the cheapest restaurant in town but delivers staggering value nonetheless - 3 courses for two, water and a bottle of wine 87 euros.

Be warned however the restaurant adopts a strict policy with reservations beforehand!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lots of character & delicious”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Probably one of the best meals of our trip. The service was great, cheerful, and helpful. The food was unique and delicious. Would absolutely recommend to all! Make reservations during high season or they will probably turn you away.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You have to go here we loved it so much!
What a little gem of a place? It tooka few wrong turns to find this beautiful little restaurant amongst the old cobbled streets of old town but boy was it worth the effort!
We went on a recommendation from some friends and were very very lucky as we didnt book but managed to get the last table available! So please book!!
The setting Is exactly how I wanted a little Greek restaurant to be set on a rooftop, amongst beautiful fruit trees and gardens lit up at night was so romantic aNd pretty!
The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable about their menu- we couldn't decide so he suggested a try of different dishes wonderful!!! WhT a taste explosion absolutely stunning food and not expensive at all! We had the house white wine & was lovely and very reasonably priced!
Without a doubt book this restaurant or u really will be missing out on a wonderful experience - possibly one of the most memorable meals ever!!! Thank you so much for fitting us in it really made our holiday!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodhos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dinner in Rhodes!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing terrace in the old town, in a quiet street few steps from the most crowded area.
A bit more sofisticated compared to the other dinners I had in Rhodes and definitely the one I loved more.
Excellent pork with figs and goat cheese, shrimps balls and beetroot salad. I enjoyed much desserts too.
We spent about 30€ plus wine.
Thank you Efi for your welcome and hospitality!

Helpful?
Thank Maria_maria1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Polo Cafe also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Marco Polo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing