We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and delicious”
Review of Mama Sofia's

Mama Sofia's
Ranked #19 of 418 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

From Alexandros' welcome to Stavros' and Yannis' banter, the whole experience is a lot of fun. The food is superb - delicious and homemade. Great atmosphere, not too pushy and a real pleasure. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NavyAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    303
    97
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and fab!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were searching for a good restaurant on TA whilst coming across mama sofia's and we certainly were not dissapointed!
The service we received was unpretentious and everyone were just so warm. I wanted fish and left the choice to the chef. It was so fresh and delicious!
I was even given a balloon fish to try. Greek yogurt made by his sister was also served to us upon calling for the bill. It was a fantastic last meal in rhodes. It was such a pity we didn't locate this one earlier.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yawenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If your looking for a restaurant to visit in the Old Town, you have to go to Mama Sophia, the food is amazing and the staff are so welcoming. Myself and my boyfriend visited this restaurant back in October. Firstly, when we were looking for a restaurant to book, a lot of the other places were very pushy, shoving leaflets in your hand. However, when we arrived at Mama Sophia's we were left to look at the menu on display, only then were we approached by the main guy (cant remember his name, maybe Stavros?) to talk us through the menu. Once he was done he just said if we fancy coming we can just ask for him personally and he will get us in. So we went the following night and were greeted by lovely staff and a welcoming glass of wine on the house. We felt like part of the family. The food was amazing, I would advise anyone to go for the stuffed squid main as it is honestly the best dish I have tasted. There is plenty of choice on the menu and we were given a range of puddings at the end of our meal for free as well. It is not pricey either, especially for the quality and amount of food you get its defiantly good pricing. I would 100% go back if I return to Rhodes again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Mama Sofia!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The welcoming and sincere smile on Stavros's face was promising a superb dine and wine, which we could not resist anymore after getting exhausted walking around the old town. The traditional Greek ambience of Mama Sofia in the medieval town-centre captured us as well as the smell of finely-cooked seafood dishes which are the best on the island for the epicures. We could not decide which one overweighs: the relish of fine food or the warm hospitality. Once you experience it, you will always feel like you are a member of the family. Thank you Stavros and all the other nice staff. We hope to see you again! Love from Turkey!

Semra&Turcan

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SemraTurcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willebroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mama sofia,the best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

the people at mama sofia are like family ,it is like coming home every time we eat there,al de food is so good it is difficult to choose what to, eat.the simi shrimps are deliciouse,and so is the griek plate.if you like fish,thay have nice fresh fish with olive oil and lemon mama sofia's way.they also have stuffed squid, very good i can say only one thing,if you go to rhodos,you must eat at least one time at mama sofia,i'll bet you want to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreayoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Sofia's also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Mama Sofia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing