We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could come again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Sofia's

Mama Sofia's
Ranked #22 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Of everywhere I've been in the world mama Sofia's was hands down the best meal/service I have ever had! 2 of us shared the HUGE seafood platter wish fresh lobster, oysters, crab, fish, Calamari, mussels and so much more! Everything was so fresh and made with such care. The service was impeccable with the staff always topping up drinks and willing to help with the menu etc. you should definitely book if possible as by 8pm they were packed out with people queuing to get in. It's in a lovely setting and overall we had a wonderful family meal that we won't forget for a long time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molls18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    293
    96
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
598 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excelent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The service is friendly and the food was great! The cheese sagaki (fried cheese, $5) was crispy, the dolmades (stuffed grape leaves, $8) were creamy inside, the best I had in Rhodes, and the calamari stuffed with feta cheese ($12) was incredible. We ordered 2 appetizers and one meal for two people, and it was enough. In the end we had a greek yogurt with orange and cognac, superb! My only complaints are that the waiter tried to push bread on us without explaining that it was charged, the beer was not cold and the bill came in greek, so we couldn't understand the prices and the taxes. Still I'd come back for the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank ana carolina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

After going to a few tourist traps we started studying TripAdvisor and found out about Mama Sofias.

The location is great. Just by an old ancient lookout tower. The service was great. Greeted with a glass of local white wine and a warm welcome by the owner Stavros. We learned that the restaurant has been run by the family since 1967.

We ordered a greek plate for two which was amazing. Everything you would wish for if you want genuine greek food.

It's not a place where we could afford to eat every night but it was worth it for a memorable evening spent in Rhodes old town.

I would recommend anyone who visits Rhodes to eat here!

Helpful?
1 Thank danniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokksund, Norway
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The waitors are both witty and polite. The first time we visited the owner took time to give us a description of his most recommended dishes. He also took the time to show the childern some of the fishes and lobsters. They liked that.

We visited two times. Both times we were very pleased with the food and the service.

We will definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
“Amazing seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Service was excellent and very friendly, amazing hosts We came here recommended from a local taxi driver and it didn't disappoint. We shared the seafood platter which was amazing! Would definitely come back next time in Rhodes

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisaa3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Sofia's also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes, Dodecanese
 

Been to Mama Sofia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing