We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel near beach, restaurants and bars”
Review of Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador
Ranked #115 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed a week in this hotel with my friend. The day we arrived we had to wait almost three hours to get the room. The receptionist could have informed us that the rooms are ready at 14 hrs, not sooner. It was irritating to wait at the reception after a long and early flight.

The first room they offered to us was so called "silent" room. The room was very small and the view from the balcony was rathe ugly. We wanted another room. This meant that we had to wait another 30 minutes. The hotel didn't have enough cleaning staff apparently. Finally, when we got the room with the balcony towards the street, it was nice and bigger than the first one. We were happy with the room.

The hotel staff was ok. The other hotel guests could have understood that they are not alone in the hotel. There was quite a lot of noice during the nights. The street was also a "noicy" one.

This hotel is good option if you want to stay near the beach and all the restaurants and the "bar streeet". If you are a light sleeper, bring your earplugs with you or choose another hotel :).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FinTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed here on my holiday in May and have to say that I was quite disappointed considering that the hotel was fully renovated 2008. Room was very little, especially the bathroom where it was almost dangerous after showering since all the water was on the floor and it was very slippery. Sometimes there was only cold water or no water at all. Shower couldn't be attached to the wall, so you have to keep it in your hand all the time. Clothing cabinets were super small and dirty. Cleaning lady comes and goes whenever suites for her, many times it wasn't cleaned until 3-4pm. and once she came to the room without knocking and I was sleeping. The bed was terrible, I could feel the strings..

Plus sides are free air-conditioning, safety box in the room and great location. The staff at the restaurant was also very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatMar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I wasn't looking forward to staying in this hotel after some of the reviews I read. However the hotel is very clean, rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day. The staff were all really friendly and the bar food very good and good value. The breakfast isn't fantastic but it was sufficient.
Yes I must say the rooms aren't massive so I strongly suggest you try to get a room on the upper floors but for the price we paid I was very satisfied and would definitly return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelliep047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

When we arrived we were thrilled with the recently renevated hotel as it looked amazing. Really close to the beach just a 5min walk. Hotel rooms were a good size with a fridge which came in handy and free air con. The hotel restaraunt does a range of nice foods and the friendly staff are fantastic (and mainly english). The Wifi is a little irritating as you cannot access it in the room but must use it downstairs in the bar. The Cleaning staff are fabulous, very meticulous and only have sundays off. Wide range of shops and restaraunts around the hotel, city centre a 10min walk and the old town a 20min walk. Due to the central positioning this can mean some outside noise in the evening/early morning, which did wake up some people so may be better to get a room at the back if your a light sleeper. For just less than £2000 we got flights, hotel and continental brekkie e.g. ham, cheese and croissant, transfers for 2 adults and 2 teenagers its an amazing deal!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjgoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Traveled with my boyfriend in the end of august 2010.
The hotell has a good location, near to windy beach and the bars. It took no more than 5minutes to walk to elli beach.
The restaurant has good, cheap food and the staff is very polite and helpful!
Some of the rooms has a really, really bad wiew and is VERY small. At first we got at very small room with the balcony and window view at the back of the building, with nothing but another conctrete building as wiev... The room was on the first floor, right above the breakfast room, wich meant that we got woken up early every morning by the sound of people downstairs. After two nights we kindly asked the receptionist if there was any possibility to change to another room, but got a very unpleasant attitude back from the receptionist...But at last we got to change to a very nice room at the top of the building, with the balcony towards the street instead. That room was much bigger, lighter and pleasant to be in!

The breakfast is very poor, but fresh.
Free WIFI in the reception!

So, this is an okey hotell with okey standards. The restaurant is very nice, and it's staff. The rest of the hotell staff isn't very nice though, and especielly not the male receptionist.

If I ever go back to Rhodes, I wouldn't go back to hotel Ambassador!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniemalisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is a great little hotel in a good location. All the staff we encountered were friendly, polite and couldn't be more helpful. In fact we only booked and paid for two rooms but they gave us three as they thought it would be easier for us!

The whole building has been renovated in recent years and has a bright, modern feel. Rooms are on the small side but clean, comfortable and well decorated offering TV, fridge and air conditioning (though I couldn't get my A/C unit to work). All of our rooms had a balcony, no views due to the central location but a nice spot to relax with a drink before heading out. I didn't bother with breakfast so can't comment on the restaurant but I did use the hotel bar and would recommend it, very reasonably priced and again friendly staff.

Great location for the beach, nights out on Orfandinou and a 10 minute walk to Mandraki Harbour and the Old Town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

great hotel in a great location in middle of RHODES town
close to all facilities
extremely clean and pleasant staff - was shown 3 rooms and was able to choose which we preferred
located behind the grand hotel - do not use google maps for location if driving self
it takes you to totally different place!!!!
rooms are small but cleaned daily
very good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#24 of 126 in Rhodes Town
708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#89 of 126 in Rhodes Town
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Center Hotel
City Center Hotel
#98 of 126 in Rhodes Town
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#87 of 126 in Rhodes Town
45 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador

Address: 53 Mandilara Nikiforou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Rhodes Town
Ambassador Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing