We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panorama Hotel Apartments
Ranked #110 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic but Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overall we found the Panorama Apartments comfortable with very helpful staff. The apartment could best be described as basic but it was kept extremely clean each day by the hardworking maids. If you are looking for luxury and smart surroundings this is not the place for you but it was adequate and spacious. The fridge was old but clean and same for the hob and food cupboard. We could have prepared basic food easily but prefer to eat out however it was fine for making sandwiches, drinks and keeping cheese, ham etc. fresh. There was a balcony but the view was only of more apartments and the back road so not much to see (apartment 213). Bathroom was very small and basic - more a wet room as the shower tray flooded over into a drain but plenty of hot water. There is air conditioning which costs 7 euros per day so we paid 49 euros for the week which seemed a lot but we are not well travelled people and maybe it's standard.
The people and the restaurant are what makes it special. The owner/manager is a great larger than life character who works hard to please his guests and adds a lot of fun to the experience. His family work alongside him and are all very hard working and pleasant, Joy in the bar is really lovely and a fantastic person as well as a brilliant bar worker. She is a lovely, friendly Irish lady who enjoys chatting to the guests.
The lady on reception during the day is a South African and also very helpful and informative. In fact we found everyone to be friendly, helpful and hard working.
There is even a little shop where you can buy all the basics including fresh, delicious bread every day.
The food in the restaurant is excellent with 'specials' every day which are delicious and well priced as well as an extensive Greek menu, English dishes and snacks. There is also a Chinese restaurant with its own separate kitchen serving a huge range of traditional dishes.
The real downside is that it is quite far to Rhodes Town and the only viable transport is taxis which cost a flat rate of 5 euros per journey which soon adds up. We did try the local busses but found the ones into town took about 45 minutes and went 'all round the houses' and the ones back, although much quicker, were not very frequent.
Overall we would recommend the Panorama Hotel Apartments to anyone content with somewhere that is clean with everything you need coupled with a friendly atmosphere and great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    45
    28
    33
See reviews for
46
82
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July. We just checked out of Sheraton in Ixia and were continuing our trip to Halki and finishing in Crete. This was just a transit hotel so we did not stay much in it.
We checket in late and the man in the reception was ok but he handed us a paper and said -this is all you need to know about the hotel. The paper gave us info about times when the pool closes and when the breakfast is etc.
We were supposed to pay for airconditioning (but in the end we did not) but it was so weak. It took about 4 hours to get the room ok. We had to move the beds just under the airconditioner so we could survive the night. The second night it was a bit better but still we had to move the bed. The price for the A/C was supposed to be 7 euros per night but we were not charged for it in the end.
The beds were hard and confortable - just like I want it.
The bathroom was a typical greek one - everyting is wet after the shower.
We did not eat there so I dont know how the food was.
It was far from the center and the purpose for us was to be in the center. The pool looked nice but it closed at 18 and we were not back in time.
The staff did not seem to care about us ... not a nice impression.
We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I appreciate you get what you pay for. We booked a week self catering at a bargain price. The apartment was clean and adequate. However if you think you will be able to self cater, think again. You may be able to make a sandwich but even that will not be easy. We had one plate, one bowl, two forks and one knife. It didnt really cause us a problem as we didnt intend to prepare much food. The food in the restaraunt is really good with a good selection at a reasonable price.

The biggest problem we had was after a couple of really quiet peaceful nights, groups of young people checked in. We ended up with a group in the room above, two rooms below and room opposite. Their behaviour all through the night was dreadful. They were noisy, inconsiderate and had absolutely no concern for others. The following morning there was the worst mess I have ever seen on the culprits balconies. I will not go into any more detail other than to say it made me physically sick. (animals springs to mind)

The hotel did offer to move us but to be honest the second room was not much quieter. I have no idea what the appeal would be for the younger generation as the hotel is out of the way, quiet and lacks any sort of evening entertainment. I can only assume it is the price.

Rhodes itself is ok. The old town is far more interesting than the new town which is dirty and unappealing. It is not cheap with the average meal between 10-15 euros (10 for a bog standard spag bol). We paid 3.50 euros for a can of coke in Rhodes Town so be prepared to spend if you go self catering.

We enjoyed our holiday and I would possibly stay at Panorama again if only for the nice friendly staff and the clean accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently returned from Hotel Panorama, and had a great holiday in Rhodes.

On arrival we were informed the room was not ready yet (as check out is at 12 and we arrived at 12) and there was obviously some mix up with the rooms, as we were offered a few different rooms but in the end we settled with the apartment (which we had originally asked for anyway!). The wait was a pain as we hadn't slept due to the flight times, but once we got the room there were no more problems.

The room was sea view, and had 2 rooms and a bathroom. The first room had a queen size bed and plenty of space, and a balcony, and the second room had the kitchen and two more beds, and a balcony. The room was very clean when we arrived and the maids were fantastic, the room was cleaned every day and our maid was fantastic! We stayed in room 503 a lovely room, but we went self catering, and there was literally4 glasses, 4 plates, 2 pans and a few bits of cutlery, either be prepared to bring things with you/buy things there or eat out every night.

The hotel was about a 20minute walk from Rhodes town, 30minutes from the new town and the harbour. We mostly walked down and taxied back (5euros per ride). We ate out a few nights in the town, there are hundreds of restaurants very easy to barter free drinks/desserts 10% off etc. When we did stay in the hotel the food was brilliant, every night a special for under 10euros was offered. There was also a Chinese menu on offer every night which was so cheap and the best Chinese I've ever had!

The staff were lovely, Poppy sorted us out with lots of trips, the Waterpark is a great day out at only 20euro pp, and the 4 beaches boat trip was fantastic, you go all around the island jumping off the boat into the sea!

If you are a young couple/family I recommend this hotel, as its got enough to keep you amused when you want to stay there, and the town is close enough. It is basic but very clean, and the staff are great, but don't expect much of a bar life and I wouldn't recommend it to people who struggle with walking because there is a lot (unless you are happy to taxi everywhere!)

Room Tip: Go for the apartment, not the studio room. If you go self catering expect to eat out a lot! Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My holiday in Rhodes was amazing. Cannot say much about the hotel. Do not stay in the annex. The room was very simple n the joke was that we had to pay for air con. The shower had no curtain!!! The breakfast was also a joke! I will not be staying at this hotel again efter my experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M7G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We got a fantastic budget price for a late deal but got exactly what we paid for - no self catering equipment good job I am an experienced camper and was prepared - we asked for a saucepan to boil eggs for breakfast and they needed it back before 3.30 to do evening meals!!! Obviously they are not equiped neither.
We had the Sunday lunch in restuarant which was OK. JUST.
Every member of staff were friendly at first until they realised we actually wanted to go out and sample other bars and restuarants then they ignored us.
We always went back to Bar at night and Joy the Irish girl serving was the best thing about the place. She was a pleasure to meet and talk to.
The local area you had to walk through to get to town was uneven pavements with dog muck all over , once in town all OK. The walled old town is a fantastic experience. Taxis are cheap, dont recommend walking back once darkish as have to look where you are walking and lots of stray dogs around.

Room Tip: DO NOT book studios - insist on Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

I think some of the reviews on here are very misleading as is the hotel description
Just returned after a week and I have to say our studio room 208 was just awful. We were led to the back annexe and had to pass grubby wasteland and dirty mattresses to get there. We were then pointed in the direction of a steep flight of concrete steps and told our room was up there
When we opened the door we were very very disappointed.
It was a dingy room with a sink in it. That's the only way I can describe it. For self catering it was very poorly equipped. Virtually a couple of side plates a pan and a bit of cutlery. So if you're intending using this as self catering forget it.
The shower room - or wet room was a joke - it was like a swimming pool after a shower as the water did not drain away and most mornings there was no hot water.
Our balcony was absolutely filthy. It had caked in dirty spillages that had obviously been there a long time and same for the table.
After five days and it still being the same we actually threw pans of water over it to try soak some of the dirt away. The cleaner obviously got the hint and mopped it that day. Though quite effortlessly it seemed as it was still dirty.
These rooms are in serious need of attention.
The tv didn't work either it was just a green screen with sound.
We had to pay 49 euros for the air con for a week and 20 euros for the safe. Way over the top really when you consider what you may pay in superior accommodation.
Breakfast was tinned. Sausages mushrooms and tomatoes all from tins and served cold on one occasion. We only ate twice in hotel. Having said that we tried the Chinese one evening and that was pretty good.
The hygiene in the servery is something that needs attention too
Chef smoking behind the servery and another cook smoking with a dirty ashtray on the counter.
Waitress constantly wiping sweat from her face and brow with bare hands and then handling salad and bread without washing them.
There was no atmosphere at night and the drinks were expensive. Five euros for a spirit with a mixer. It was no cheaper than town even on the food side so we went out every night.
The pool was very clean and the pool area and also the staff were all very pleasant.
When you go out of the panorama it is in a residential area which is a bit grubby. Rubbish everywhere and dog foul on the pavements and some abandoned cars.
It's a good 30minute walk to mandraki harbour and the old town and 45 minute walk to the nearest beach.
It's 5 euros to both these areas by taxi. Best to order it from hotel rather than wait at the taxi rank at the bottom of the hill
It is quite a distance to the bars restaurants and tavernas of the new and old town.
But worth getting out of the hotel.
Would I return to the panorama
NO.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
3.0 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#39 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angela Suites + Lobby
Angela Suites + Lobby
#58 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#80 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lomeniz Hotel
Lomeniz Hotel
#81 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#41 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#59 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel Apartments

Property: Panorama Hotel Apartments
Address: 41 Parthenopis | Kamirou Street, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Panorama Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Panorama Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing