We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
51
72
63
49
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
72
63
49
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering minute walk excellent family run hotel cooking equipment basic kitchen steady walk needed air kleftiko reduced mobility except sunday main holiday fantastic island budget holiday a quiet residential area large supermarket staff went out of their way bar prices are
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overall we found the Panorama Apartments comfortable with very helpful staff. The apartment could best be described as basic but it was kept extremely clean each day by the hardworking maids. If you are looking for luxury and smart surroundings this is not the place for you but it was adequate and spacious. The fridge was old but clean and same for the hob and food cupboard. We could have prepared basic food easily but prefer to eat out however it was fine for making sandwiches, drinks and keeping cheese, ham etc. fresh. There was a balcony but the view was only of more apartments and the back road so not much to see (apartment 213). Bathroom was very small and basic - more a wet room as the shower tray flooded over into a drain but plenty of hot water. There is air conditioning which costs 7 euros per day so we paid 49 euros for the week which seemed a lot but we are not well travelled people and maybe it's standard.
The people and the restaurant are what makes it special. The owner/manager is a great larger than life character who works hard to please his guests and adds a lot of fun to the experience. His family work alongside him and are all very hard working and pleasant, Joy in the bar is really lovely and a fantastic person as well as a brilliant bar worker. She is a lovely, friendly Irish lady who enjoys chatting to the guests.
The lady on reception during the day is a South African and also very helpful and informative. In fact we found everyone to be friendly, helpful and hard working.
There is even a little shop where you can buy all the basics including fresh, delicious bread every day.
The food in the restaurant is excellent with 'specials' every day which are delicious and well priced as well as an extensive Greek menu, English dishes and snacks. There is also a Chinese restaurant with its own separate kitchen serving a huge range of traditional dishes.
The real downside is that it is quite far to Rhodes Town and the only viable transport is taxis which cost a flat rate of 5 euros per journey which soon adds up. We did try the local busses but found the ones into town took about 45 minutes and went 'all round the houses' and the ones back, although much quicker, were not very frequent.
Overall we would recommend the Panorama Hotel Apartments to anyone content with somewhere that is clean with everything you need coupled with a friendly atmosphere and great food.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July. We just checked out of Sheraton in Ixia and were continuing our trip to Halki and finishing in Crete. This was just a transit hotel so we did not stay much in it.
We checket in late and the man in the reception was ok but he handed us a paper and said -this is all you need to know about the hotel. The paper gave us info about times when the pool closes and when the breakfast is etc.
We were supposed to pay for airconditioning (but in the end we did not) but it was so weak. It took about 4 hours to get the room ok. We had to move the beds just under the airconditioner so we could survive the night. The second night it was a bit better but still we had to move the bed. The price for the A/C was supposed to be 7 euros per night but we were not charged for it in the end.
The beds were hard and confortable - just like I want it.
The bathroom was a typical greek one - everyting is wet after the shower.
We did not eat there so I dont know how the food was.
It was far from the center and the purpose for us was to be in the center. The pool looked nice but it closed at 18 and we were not back in time.
The staff did not seem to care about us ... not a nice impression.
We will not stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I appreciate you get what you pay for. We booked a week self catering at a bargain price. The apartment was clean and adequate. However if you think you will be able to self cater, think again. You may be able to make a sandwich but even that will not be easy. We had one plate, one bowl, two forks and one knife. It didnt really cause us a problem as we didnt intend to prepare much food. The food in the restaraunt is really good with a good selection at a reasonable price.

The biggest problem we had was after a couple of really quiet peaceful nights, groups of young people checked in. We ended up with a group in the room above, two rooms below and room opposite. Their behaviour all through the night was dreadful. They were noisy, inconsiderate and had absolutely no concern for others. The following morning there was the worst mess I have ever seen on the culprits balconies. I will not go into any more detail other than to say it made me physically sick. (animals springs to mind)

The hotel did offer to move us but to be honest the second room was not much quieter. I have no idea what the appeal would be for the younger generation as the hotel is out of the way, quiet and lacks any sort of evening entertainment. I can only assume it is the price.

Rhodes itself is ok. The old town is far more interesting than the new town which is dirty and unappealing. It is not cheap with the average meal between 10-15 euros (10 for a bog standard spag bol). We paid 3.50 euros for a can of coke in Rhodes Town so be prepared to spend if you go self catering.

We enjoyed our holiday and I would possibly stay at Panorama again if only for the nice friendly staff and the clean accomodation.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently returned from Hotel Panorama, and had a great holiday in Rhodes.

On arrival we were informed the room was not ready yet (as check out is at 12 and we arrived at 12) and there was obviously some mix up with the rooms, as we were offered a few different rooms but in the end we settled with the apartment (which we had originally asked for anyway!). The wait was a pain as we hadn't slept due to the flight times, but once we got the room there were no more problems.

The room was sea view, and had 2 rooms and a bathroom. The first room had a queen size bed and plenty of space, and a balcony, and the second room had the kitchen and two more beds, and a balcony. The room was very clean when we arrived and the maids were fantastic, the room was cleaned every day and our maid was fantastic! We stayed in room 503 a lovely room, but we went self catering, and there was literally4 glasses, 4 plates, 2 pans and a few bits of cutlery, either be prepared to bring things with you/buy things there or eat out every night.

The hotel was about a 20minute walk from Rhodes town, 30minutes from the new town and the harbour. We mostly walked down and taxied back (5euros per ride). We ate out a few nights in the town, there are hundreds of restaurants very easy to barter free drinks/desserts 10% off etc. When we did stay in the hotel the food was brilliant, every night a special for under 10euros was offered. There was also a Chinese menu on offer every night which was so cheap and the best Chinese I've ever had!

The staff were lovely, Poppy sorted us out with lots of trips, the Waterpark is a great day out at only 20euro pp, and the 4 beaches boat trip was fantastic, you go all around the island jumping off the boat into the sea!

If you are a young couple/family I recommend this hotel, as its got enough to keep you amused when you want to stay there, and the town is close enough. It is basic but very clean, and the staff are great, but don't expect much of a bar life and I wouldn't recommend it to people who struggle with walking because there is a lot (unless you are happy to taxi everywhere!)

Room tip: Go for the apartment, not the studio room. If you go self catering expect to eat out a lot! Go to the Waterpark and on the 4 beaches Boat trip!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadia186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My holiday in Rhodes was amazing. Cannot say much about the hotel. Do not stay in the annex. The room was very simple n the joke was that we had to pay for air con. The shower had no curtain!!! The breakfast was also a joke! I will not be staying at this hotel again efter my experience!!!!

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M7G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews