We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the crowd but just next to the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
Ranked #41 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Away from the crowd but just next to the old city”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great place with a really nice attitude towards the guests. Great quality regarding information for food and services,... And the addresses provided were actually excellent. 15 minutes walking from the city center so you avoid the noise and the masses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oneoone042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were a couple staying just one night in July 2013 following a stay on Tilos and before flying home. Having no idea about the layout of Rhodes Town I booked this place on the basis of recommendations here on Trip Advisor, and cost. As it turned out, the fact the place is a bit out of the way wasn't a problem for us.

We took a taxi for 6 Euros from the port and another the following day when we left, but in between we were quite happy walking to and from the Old Town. Having decided to spend our one full day by going to Lindos we realised that the bus passed close by and were able to hop off and have a 5 minute walk on the way back.

The owner was very helpful and friendly and speaks excellent English. The room was fine, the bathroom clearly fairly recently modernised, though the bed was the usual hard Greek affair, and we were glad that we weren't having to use the kitchenette as it was pretty poorly equipped. Be aware also that the balcony door and bathroom window don't have mesh on them so I had to have a mosquito killing spree before bed. Breakfast (5 Euros each extra) was very substantial - coffee/tea, juice, ham & cheese toasties, bread, jam and cake.

Philoxenia has a nice feel about it, coming from its isolation from all the other hotels, bars etc, and I would stay here again if my first choice wasn't available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Philoxenia. The staff were incredibly helpful, no matter what the request. The rooms are nice- spacious and comfortable and cleaned daily. The kitchenette was a bonus! Good location, easy 1Euro bus ride to Rhodes old town and the town beach. Highly recommend hiring a car (it was $30 euros for 1 day, booked easily through Philoxenia reception) and heading down to Lindos (about an hour away). St Pauls Bay is beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DanielleAngeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is a great hotel! Location is good, just 2 km from the old town. We love walking. The area is good, and very quiet. Staff was very friendly, helpful! In the room we had Wifi, Tv, and airconditioning. Cleaning every day, clean towels every day! The bed was comfortable, new furniture. This is a cheap but nice small familiar hotel! Rhodes is beautiful! Go for one day to Symi!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed in Philoxenia for 5 days...
Our flight was very late, we were supposed to arrive at the hotel at 22.00, but we arrived at 3.00 AM...the owner was there waiting for us even so late at night.
In the morning Antonis has provided some suggestion for our visit...They provided a map and gave us useful information on the island
Room was clean, with a balcony and a small kitchen...for the 3 of us was very good.
Suggestion for dinner? Aspro Piato, downtown Rodi and Skala at main beach at Lindos.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Massimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in Philoxenia,Rhodes for 3 days during our Greek Islands tour. The hotel is old but well maintained, the rooms are clean; have a balcony and kitchen. The hotel is family run and the mother and son we met were very warm and friendly people. They provide us a map and gave useful information on the island. We were recommended good restaurants to eat, supermarkets to shop, beaches to visit. We had breakfast for 5 euro the morning we arrived and it was worth the money. We felt home during our stay. The only drawback is the location I must say. We walked to the old town and new town and to the bus stop for lindos and other beaches. Walking to the old town is almost 30 minutes and rather than walking you do not have a chance for local transport since it is hard to catch the buses which do not run frequently. But new town, old town and the port all took 5 euro by taxi if you do not want to walk. It was a value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#42 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#39 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pine Trees Art Hotel
Pine Trees Art Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#80 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#94 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philoxenia Hotel & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philoxenia Hotel & Studios

Property: Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
Address: 12 Papamanoli Manoli, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Philoxenia Hotel & Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a peaceful location at the residential part of Rhodes town, just 1.5 km from the historic Medieval Town, Philoxenia Hotel offers refurbished and comfortable accommodation close to the beautiful Rodini Park. The rooms are fully-equipped and contain free Wi-Fi Internet access. Each room has a kitchenette so that guests can prepare their own meals.After a day of exploration, guests can cool down in their air-conditioned rooms (without extra charge), or on their private balcony. The hotel's bar serves a variety of coffees and refreshments throughout the day. At the free internet point guests can explore, manage and print their emails and bookings.Guests can easily access the local historic attractions, with a leisurely walk to Rhodes Town. There is also frequent public bus service to the town centre and to Lindos from the bus stops near the hotel. Philoxenia Hotel also provides car and motorbike rental service, so guests can fully enjoy their surroundings and visit different areas. There are three ways to get to the hotel from Rhodes Airport:a. To get taxi straight to the hotel. The taxi station is just opposite the exit of the airport building and there are plenty all the hours. The airport is 15 kilometers away and should bring you to hotel in no more than 25 minutes and charge you approximately 22-24 Euros.Important: Ask the taxi driver to drive you to the "Philoxenia Hotel" in Rhodes town. b. To get the bus line from airport to the Rhodes town center and then taxi to the hotel. The bus station is just outside of the airport building. The ticket costs 2.30 Euros per person. The last one departs at 23:40.Next you have to get taxi to the hotel from the taxi station that is near the bus station. Should charge you approximately 5 Euros.c. To get the bus line from airport to the Rhodes town center and then to get the bus No 2 to the hotel from the "city lines bus terminal" that is just few meters away (ask at the information kiosk for directions) and disembark at the last bus stop of the Tsaldari street (Agrino'). The last one departs from the city center at 20:00.You can get also the bus No 3 and disembark one bus stop before Rodini Park (Xenakis). The last one departs from the city center at 21:30. The ticket costs 1 Euro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Philoxenia Hotel & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing