We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a fish restaurant!”
Review of Romios

Romios
Ranked #30 of 434 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant offers a wide a menu in order to cover all the tastes...Special seafood dishes, traditional Rhodian cuisine, other specialities are available. We try to "marry" the traditional recipes with the modern techniques of cooking. Enjoy your lunch or dinner in a beautiful outdoor setting...
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It's a fish restaurant!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was made abundantly clear by a hyperactive waitress. We assured her we wanted fish, and she settled down -- sort of. We like to eat a slow meal, so we thought it would be a challenge for this person to not to push us through the courses quickly. We made it clear we did not want to hurry, and she was able to oblige us.

The seafood was outstanding! We had a whole sea bream, which was succulent! Overall, a great food experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    235
    76
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asse, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite setting and romantic atmosfere, combined with great food”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The marinated fish was excellent and the squid with oranges indeed delicious, as mentioned in the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rever1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A highly enjoyable meal with great atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in Rhodes Old Town for two nights in mid-September 2013 and ate at Romios on our first evening. We liked it enough that we would have gone back the next evening, except that we wanted to try elsewhere (but found it very disappointing and wished we had indeed gone back).

We had very simple dishes -- grilled octopus, chicken souvlaki, and salad -- and found them excellent, both in terms of ingredients (quality, freshness) and preparation. The salad in particular was a treat as it had leafy greens (not that common in Greece) in addition to the usual lovely ripe tomatoes, feta cheese, etc. Beyond the food, we found the service to be both courteous and efficient, and the courtyard/garden atmosphere really lovely. Prices were not super-cheap, but compared favorably to those for similar items elsewhere in Greece.

Prior to venturing out to dinner, we had read general advisories in guidebooks to the effect that restaurants in Rhodes Old Town tended to be rather expensive and disappointing (hence had looked quite carefully at TripAdvisor reviews) and were gratified to find we had such a positive experience!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Must must try in Rhodes”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the only restaurant in our stay where we went twice. Every single thing here is amazing. The decor is soooo inviting. do try their lamb dishes and desserts. I wish we could eat even more nights there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in old town”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great environment, beautifull atmosphere and really good dishes with a vast variety. It could be a little less expensive and it would be the perfect place to eat...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_yiannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romios also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Romios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing