We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amathus Elite Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dionysos Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oceanis Hotel(Rhodes Town)
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
573
65
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
65
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvarkarola restaurantblack poolthe main hotelsuite guestsprivate poollobster nighton arrivalpresidential suitedecking areasea viewnespresso machinehalf boardrain showerturkish delightour honeymoonbottle of champagneperfect holiday
Filter
Updating list...
449 - 454 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Been meaning to write a review since our holiday at these wonderful suites in September. We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade to a room with our own pool before we even left home and when we arrived we were upgraded yet again to our own pool with a garden. We stayed on half-board basis (yet another free upgrade on booking) and the food was exceptional. We sometimes couldn't manage three courses at dinner as there was certainly plenty to eat. Yes, we had our favourites and over our two weeks probably had some dishes again - but that was our choice - there were plenty of different dishes to choose from. During the day (from 11am to 11pm) the lobby of the Suites had fresh fruit, soft drinks, fresh coffee, cakes, pastries and open sandwiches and we used to take a break from the beautiful weather to have these as our lunch. The Suites' pool looked inviting but we had no need to use it as we had sunshine all day in our garden and could use our own pool. The gym was good (hubby used it) and the spa was beautiful. I used the hammam and jacuzzi on many occasions over the fortnight and had a couple of treatments also. People have complained that the suites do not have their own bar but we didn't mind this and would go over to the main hotel to the top floor bar and watch the sun set over the sea - the view was magnificent. Everyday there was a little gift left in our room - baklava, nuts, fresh fruit, dried figs and apricots along with Ouzo and another bottle of something I still haven't work out what it is! On our final day they left a bottle of olive oil and two small pots of honey with nuts - it all came home with me and arrived safely!

As it has been a couple of months since our stay I must apologise for not remembering the names of the staff but they were all so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much problem - even when I was getting the 'please make up my room' sign all wrong. In my defence it is electronic - like the wonderful lighting and curtain system - and on leaving the room we removed our room card from the slot and I pressed the button to let the cleaners know they could make up our room - apparently this was wrong and I think it somehow tells reception that you are calling for something and they ring on your telephone - but we were out. All got a bit confusing so I left well alone in the end.

Only a couple of gripes - but hardly worth mentioning as we always make the best of wherever we are (and this is a place we could only dream of visiting when we were first married) - the first is that the closer you are to the road (and we were in the garden bit right down the front) it does have some noise from the road. This road is very busy (even on a Sunday). They have tried to minimise it by putting up a high fence but it doesn't really cut it down that much (or perhaps it does which means it is much louder normally). We live in London suburbs so we tried not to notice but as we used our pool/room all day it did become a bit of a problem after two weeks. Another gripe was that the housekeeper used to come to turn down our bed/replace our towels at about 6.30. Seeing as the Varkarola restaurant didn't open until 8.30pm we were just lounging about before getting ready for the evening. Therefore we never got our beds turned down (and the little choccy on the pillow) with the goodnight/goodmorning mats on the floor - sad I know for me to even mention it and in the end it wasn't a problem as we were having such a lovely time anyway. Lastly the beach is very small and quite shaded. Like many Greek beaches in was pebble and shingle and not very comfortable to walk on so take some beach/sea shoes.

Lastly wanted to thank our Sovereign concierge Pearl and the Suites Management for providing a lovely bottle of Champagne for us on our last night in the Suites - it was our 33rd wedding anniversary - think another couple we met had spilled the beans. It was such a lovely gesture and just went to make the holiday one of our best. Along with being allowed to keep our room on the last day until 6.30pm so we could use our pool all day and then shower - well what more can I add. Thank you Elite Suites and all your Staff - we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Garden/own pool suites are nearest to road and therefore there is more traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littleplum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Booked a full week on half board in one of the magnificent Elite Suites, with our own private pool and stylish designer room. Upon arrival, you notice the professionality of the team running this hotel. Friendly, helpful but discrete at the same time. The rooms are just perfect: ample space, luxurious bathroom, gigantic bed and full scale sitting area. A little paradise, that just makes you forget how big the hotel actually is. The views on the sea and Turkish shore are breathtaking, from dawn till dusk. We had our holidays late September, which offered nice temperatures and plenty of space around the several pools all day long. The private beach has a soothing breeze, when it gets too hot. The hotel is conveniently located from Rhodes city: it only takes a 10 minute taxi ride. Breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever had. The other restaurant food is OK, but could be a bit more traditional. Anyhow, had a wonderful time there and it was hard leaving it all behind. Thanks to the Amathus team and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Take one of the higher located suites, where the views are best and the traffic noise ebbs away.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Baptiste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Having experienced several very satisfying breaks at both Amathus hotels in Cyprus and, after reading encouraging reviews, we decided to try the Amathus Elite Suites and were not disappointed. We enjoyed a very pleasant and relaxing week in a garden suite and can only endorse the complimentary observations of other reviewers. We now intend to return in May. Several staff deserve special mention - Moschoula for her lovely and cheerful service at breakfast, Elena's very welcoming and helpful manner at reception and Stefanos and Leonidas and their team in the Varkarola Restaurant (where the meals were of high quality and very reasonably priced) for their efficiency, care and attention.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden suites if traffic noise disturbs you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofilos L, Manager at Amathus Elite Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and memorable experience at the Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes on Trip Advisor. Rest assure that your positive comments will be passed to the rest of the Amathus Team. Such comments are very encouraging for all of us and enhance even more our commitment for constant upgrade of our facilities and services.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to any of the Amathus Hotels in the near future. Please rest assured that we shall do our utmost to exceed your expectations and extend to you our well-known “Amathus Hospitality”.

Kind regards
Theofilos Lakkas
Hotel Manager
(operation@rodianamathus.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Elite Suites are suberb with a large lounge/bedroom and your own private pool and small garden. These suites have there own recption area and seperate breakfast room away from the main hotel building.The only downside is the main road that runs along the front of the hotel which was quite noisy, although after a while we did get used to it. We were on the ground floor, if you can do without the garden go for a higher floor further back from the road and with a better a view. The Reception, House Keeping, Room Service, were all very welcoming and we would make special mention of all the staff in the VARKAROLA TAVERNA where we took all our meals,they were very attentive and professional, we were on half board yet the meals were very good and from an excellant a la carte menu and served at your table.
We had a very relaxing time and will visit again.

Room Tip: Get a suite on a higher floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofilos L, Manager at Amathus Elite Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience at the Amathus Elite Suites on Trip Advisor. I will pass your good comments and thanks on to the rest members of our staff. Your comments are very encouranging for all of us here at the Amathus Hotels.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to any of the Amathus Hotels in the near future. Please rest assured that we shall do our utmost to exceed your expectations and extend to you our well-known “Amathus Hospitality”.

Kind regards
Theofilos Lakkas
Hotel Manager
(operation@rodianamathus.gr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just returned after spending the first two weeks of September in this fab spot. The suites have been well designed providing maximum privacy and comfort.

The hotel is a fifteen minute taxi from the airport and from Rhodes town. Our flight did not arrive until the early hours of the morning , however the reception process was quickly completed and we were shown to our suite within 20 minutes - after enjoying a cold glass of something fizzy.

Our initial suite was number 123 - very comfortable and we certainly enjoyed good nights sleep. However the next morning I was a little disappointed to be so close to the coast road - which could be noisy. After breakfast I had a word with the reception and we moved to suite 145 - further back from the road - no one overlooking you and with views across to Turkey - only 10 miles away. This was done with good grace and no sign of it being a problem . The next 13 days were bliss - spent enjoying the sunshine , plenty time in our pool - which is about 4 by 5 metres and fitted with a jacuzzi style pump which if you swim against it provides a fair bit of exercise.

The room is very well set out - big luxurious bed , powerful showers - wi-fi - flat screen TV with a number of English channels and a library of DVDs if you wish them. We were welcomed with a large fruit basket and a bottle of fizzy wine - this was topped up daily with little greek cakes drizzled in honey and almonds or coconut ices , dried fruit and nuts , and to wash them down some local ouzo - there was plenty of bottled water and a mini bar refilled regularly.

The staff were all top notch , from the porters through to the cleaners everyone had a smile and a cheery word. Look out for the pool boy - a robot of many talents.

The food was good - breakfast provided fresh cooking from the kitchen or a wide variety of eats buffet style. Fresh fruit , fresh breads , cakes , fish , cheese ...........

We enjoyed our evening meals , the service was good the food really tasty and the wine interesting. There is a black and white night on a Monday - an italian flavour , a BBQ night midweek - this does not mirror a back garden BBQ in any form - and a lobster night on a Friday. We enjoyed them all - there may be an additional charge involved.

Our departure flight was late on a Saturday evening - however we were lucky enough to obtain a late checkout - ask when you first arrive.

The main hotel is next door - we regularly visited the 11th floor bar for a night cap - there is an outdoor balcony with great views.

Finally I really enjoyed our stay - the accommodation , the food and the environment are all fine but it is the staff who make this place special.

Room Tip: I suggest you look for a room well back from the road - suites 140 - 146 looked good to me .
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofilos L, Manager at Amathus Elite Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is always a pleasure to see that our guests are satisfied with all aspects of their stay here and especially when it comes from experienced travelers like you.

Your comments have been shared with my colleagues and efforts will continuously be made in order to maintain our high level of services provided.

Looking forward to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,
Theofilos Lakkas
Hotel Manager
(operation@rodianamathus.gr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews