We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
652
72
11
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
72
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews varkarola restaurant black pool the main hotel suite guests private pool lobster night presidential suite glass of champagne sea view half board rain shower turkish delight nespresso machine little extras our honeymoon road noise perfect holiday
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Elite Suites and really didn't want to leave. We have had accommodation with a private pool before - generally little more than a plunge pool - but this pool was an excellent size. Our outside balcony area was very spacious - plenty of room for two sun loungers, a table and chairs and a bench. From the welcome glass of champagne at Reception and the bottle of pink champagne and huge bowl of fruit awaiting us in our room, this was a holiday to remember. I agree the glass doors in the bathroom are a bit strange but the bathroom itself was excellent. We were not bothered as other customers appeared to be by unwelcome visits by service staff. The staff - from the cleaners to the manager - were unfailingly courteous and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We had room service breakfast most days at no extra charge - excellently prepared and presented. The Varkarola restaurant had a good ambience - much more pleasant than the usual buffet type hotel restaurants - and the food was superb. The provision of snacks and soft drinks throughout the day in the Elite Reception area was an added luxury. The location of the hotel, adjoining a busy main road, wouldn't appeal to everyone but our room was high enough to shut out most of the noise. We didn't use the beach - it looked ok for lounging on the sun beds but the sand was pretty gritty. A huge plus was the proximity to the enchanting Rhodes Town - 5-10 minutes and 8 euros by taxi. We spent many hours wandering the delightful streets of the Old Town, shopping and relaxing in one of the many cafes. I would definitely recommend the Elite Suites for someone who wants a relaxing, pampering holiday, and I can't wait to return there.

Room tip: The suites higher up have a better sea view and less road noise
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The following review is composed in two parts: room and hotel location.
the rating of the property reflects both.

we stayed in the presidential suite. the room is big (there is also a table which looks like for a conference call at office) and it has a nice and big swimming pool which really helped us a lot since we didn't like the hotel beach at all. in fact the beach is always windy, sea is a bit rough and it is located just behind a very busy road (the busiest of rhodes from the airport to the main town). so i wouldn't bother to travel to greece for such a beach.

the room was nice (we expexcted this having that kind of price per night). the only things we didn't like about the room was the moment we entered (I suppose the room has been not used for a while so a bit smelly of closed place) and the fact that the minibar didn't work properly (always warm: an old minibar indeed) and had cheap drink brands compared to what a presidential room is supposed to have (plastic mignons: one was open and one without label). service was good apart from the fact that the person from the room service kept on entering the room without respecting the privacy sign . this was a bit strange. again the biggest downside was the noise and the traffic of the main road but overall was a beautiful room and the big pool is a real plus to spend time and to chill out.

as to the hotel we stayed only at the elite suite part of it (separate reception from the main hotel). we never entered the main building which is huge and it looked a bit like 70ies and had an unimpressive hall. it looked like more an hotel for a fully inclusive package holidays.

the location of the hotel is the real weakness. the main road in front of the venue is disturbing and deprive the hotel of the magical greek island atmosphere which was what we wanted to pay for.

around the hotels there are only hugly buildings (i.e. hotels: one of them with 700 rooms is abandoned and it is scary to look at) and cheap bars / restaurants with tv screen showing football which makes you feel you are in a suburbia of some big town more than in a greek island.

the only way to "survive" at night is to get by car to rhodes town which is anyway few minutes away by car (but extremely busy in august).

we felt we overpaid the room which is extremely expensive compared to the location of the hotel and also for the reasons highlighted above.

the front desk management is really worth and always available to help: this is the biggest advantage of the hotel.

in general this part of rhodes is not the most beautiful place to have a proper greek island experience. it is more like some part of south of spain (benidorm etc) : some people like it, some people do not.

ps. anyway with the presidential suite you can have a nice holiday even if this location is not your cup of tea

Room tip: presidentail suite is really expensive but can save your holiday there
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DedeFab47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The room rate was indeed pretty high (550 euros per night), but overall i would say it just about gets away with it. The accommodation itself was very good, and everything was both maintained and cleaned very well.
There is clearly a wide variety of views available from the rooms - i think there are maybe 5 rows, going up from road level, so the lower the level the less likely you are to see the sea. We were about mid way, and the end of our pool was next to a path - it didnt really bother us at all. The view was perfectly good, and there was a row of bushes that gave us some privacy - far more than we would have had in the normal pool, but less than if we were in a private villa. Staff did come and go when we were there and did seem to think that a knock on the door was more something they did before walking straight in than something they did before waiting to see if anyone answered - however, they were without fail friendly and helpful and we didnt mind too much.
The bathroom was a little oddly designed - the main door was a clear glass one, with limited frosting, which, when combined with the way the staff did walk in could have caused a little embarrassment - luckily for us it didnt during our stay, but it did seem like things there could have been better thought out. The rest of the bathroom, though, was very nice, with a good sized shower.
The private pool was actually larger than we expected, and was very well maintained and always clean.
Drinks and food were generally of a good standard, but very very expensive - we had breakfast included, and also paid an extra 15 euros per day after we checked in to get pretty much all inclusive drinks. It was a little complicated working out what we were allowed, as the rules only allowed us to have certain drinks, at certain bars, at different times, but once we did, we managed fairly well. We never ate at the restaurant - it looked very nice, but, as another review has already mentioned, there was a dress code for men of trousers, and, the way we read it, no open toe-d shoes for either sex. Given it was very warm, we could have coped with, say, smart shorts, but no one in our group especially wanted to put on trousers or have overly warm feet. If that wasnt in place, we would have gone there happily.
Overall, I would say it was a very good hotel that we would happily return to, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would happily recommend it to anyone, especially if you can get it for less than around 500 euros per day.

Room tip: ask for a higher level room if you want a good view.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I spent a week at the Amathus Elite Suites, together with my wife and two teenage boys.
The friendly face behind the reception desk and the glass of champagne upon arrival made us feel welcome and at home immediately.

We arrived too early and unfortunately our rooms were not ready yet. Although this wasn’t their fault, the staff worked very hard to clean the rooms as fast as possible. In the mean time we had lunch at the Varkarola restaurant. Shortly after lunch our suites were ready. Very clean and spacious rooms, with a wonderful private pool and a great view.

The food (lunch and dinner) at the Varkarola restaurant was ecellent. A menu with a lot of variation and very affordable. We especially enjoyed the barbecue evening and the lobster evening with cabaret show.

The Varkarola breakfast was simply perfect. A beautiful buffet with plenty of choice and on top of that we could order à la carte extras (fried eggs, French toast, waffles, ...) without extra charge. Definitely the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen!

Complimentary snacks, drinks and desserts were available in the lobby throughout the day and each day housekeeping brought little extras to our rooms (a small bottle of ouzo, candy, ...).

Housekeeping was very efficient. Although they didn’t need a lot of time to clean the room, it was always very well done.

The whole team did an excellent job and everyone was friendly and helpful, but we will especially remember the friendliness and professionalism of Leonidas, Mouchova and Signe.

Tip: There is a huge difference between the Elite Suites and the main building of the adjoining hotel (Amathus Beach Hotel). The shop in the main building is handy, but for the rest it does not add any value to your stay. Thus, stay at the suites area and Varkarola as much as possible for the best holiday experience.

Amathus is very well situated, not far from the airport and not too far from Rhodes town. There is a road between the hotel and the beach, but you can reach the beach easily through a tunnel.

This was one of our best and most relaxing summer holidays ever and we would love to stay here again sometime soon.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrisv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofilos L, Manager at Amathus Elite Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We were happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to create a relaxing summer holiday for you. Most of all, my colleagues will love reading your comments describing their service, which we will ensure it gets passed along. Thank you again for choosing Elite Suites by Amathus, and we will look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards
Theofilos Lakkas
Hotel Manager
(operation@rodianamathus.gr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Last month I spent 10 days with my boyfriend in the Hotel! Our stay was amazing we could not ask for more. Our room was more that we could expect. That was clean and large and with the perfect view of the Sea!
The food was delicious, the staff is friendly and always smile. The service was more than 5 star!!!!!!
The Hotel is located in a very central place, close to the city center. Their beach is well organised and nice.
We are really very very satisfied. I would deffenetly recommend this Hotel and we are sure that we will come back next year. I am already looking forward a lot!
Thank you for the staff for making us an unforgettable holiday.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aniko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofilos L, Manager at Amathus Elite Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for choosing our Elite Suites for your recent holiday in Rhodes. We were so happy to read how you felt the staff and the location combined to make it an excellent stay! Thank you again for taking the time to send us your comments, and we will look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to Elite Suites by Amathus.

Kind regards
Theofilos Lakkas
Hotel Manager
(operation@rodianamathus.gr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews