We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - Can't wait to visit again soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amathus Elite Suites
Ranked #4 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant - Can't wait to visit again soon!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Elite Suites are absolutely perfect, it was a fantastic holiday experience. The view from our 6th floor room was lovely. The room was very clean and looked after twice daily by the maids. Each Day we were left either fruit, local cakes or snacks, that was a lovely touch. The room was large, and very comfortable with amazing mood lighting. The Staff were great, from the moment we arrived at the Elite Suites to check in, we were greeted with a glass of Champagne, and every member of staff could not do enough for you. At every meal, you were greeted like old friends, and made to feel very special. The breakfast had something for everyone, and the cooked breakfast was always hot and tasty. We ate lunch each day in Varkarola Restaurant, there was a good choice and it was always well presented. Again in the evenings we ate in the Varkarola restaurant which was always a great dining experience, if I could be a little picky, it would have been great if there had been the occasional special dish of the day, in addition to the usual menu! The staff, too numerous to mention, were all exceptional. They gave advice on wine or the menu when required. The occasional time we asked for something to be brought to the room, it arrived in a flash. We visited Rhodes Town a couple of times in the evening and ate out, my advice would be to visit and go back for your dinner in Varkarola.
Later on in the evenings we ventured into the main hotel and had a few drinks in the 11th floor bar, with amazing views from the balcony, the staff were all very friendly there too, and gave you prompt service and little snacks to have with your drinks. The special area by the sea for Elite Suite guests was perfect with very comfy beds and good polite service from the beach staff who would always check if you required an umberella, and would promptly bring any drinks you chose to order.

Room Tip: If you do not require your own pool, choose a room on the 6th floor, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    58
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
126
413
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This place is amazing, the rooms are stunning and very comfortable and clean. There are fresh towels daily and the maids are in twice a day. They also leave cute little cakes and drinks and fresh water and little gifts on a daily basis. The restaurant - varkarola is second to none the staff and the service is most definitely 5 star, nothing is to much trouble and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. We went to Rhodes old town and the new town which is 5 minutes in a taxi and costs 10 euros, the old town is amazing. I would recommend if your staying at elite suites that you don't bother eating out as you won't get better food and it costs around the same to eat in the restaurant as it does to eat outside the hotel. If your looking for a relaxing holiday with fantastic service and surroundings this is the place to be!

Room Tip: The rooms with private pool are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel. We spent two weeks here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Location: About 20 mins from the airport, 10 mins from the main town and opposite the beach. A busy road runs between the hotel and the beach but there is an underpass for guests to use.

We had a suite with a private pool which was lovely. Room was clean, very comfortable and stylish. My only complaint (and it is a tiny one) was the lighting; you needed a degree in electrical engineering to put a single light on!!! I jest, the mood lighting is lovely but complicated at 3am!

Nice bathroom with Bulgari toiletries. Generously sized bathrobes (yes!) plenty of coat hangers (yes!), free wi-fi (yes!), space in the fridge for medicines (yes!). Sometimes it is the little things which do make a difference.

The staff here are very good. Restaurant staff in particular are excellent. They couldn't do enough for us.

Guests staying on half board dine in the a la carte restaurant of the Amathus Beach. It's a nice restaurant with good service. Breakfast was very good, there really was something for everyone. Dinner was fine but not fine dining. If you haven't pre-paid it's very good value with a 3 course meal starting at about 20 euros. After two weeks the menu felt a bit restricted and I would have loved a really good steak. Wine list had a number of reasonably priced and good local wines starting at approx 20 euros a bottle.

Reception has canapes, drinks and snacks available free throughout the day if you feel peckish. Great if you have children who need a snack to keep them going.

Every day there were little treats of food and drink left in the rooms.

There are various pools and the beach. One pool is adults only. In August the pools were lovely and refreshing and not heated. The beach is pebbles however the hotel has laid sand and duckboards so children can play . Reef shoes are useful if you want to swim. The sea gets deep very quickly and it is quite breezy so you do have to watch children. There are no life guards.

There is a very nice spa with lots of treatments available, definitely worth a visit. The spa outdoor pool is nice and a bit warmer however the sunken courtyard gets very hot in August so sunbathing wasn't comfortable.

The suites face north so the sun is behind for some of the day and our sun loungers were in shade until 4pm. The pool was in full sun for most of the day so if you want to sunbathe consider buying a lilo!

During our stay there were lots of young families (mainly Russian) staying here. The children were on the whole very well behaved and it didn't feel like a bit family hotel.

How private is private? The private pools on floors 3, 4 and 5 are overlooked by the main hotel so skinny dipping is out! Here is a rough guide to the rooms:

Ground floor: garden suites with pools. No or very little sea view however there is a nice garden area and the sun loungers can be moved into the sun. Not overlooked by the main hotel but people can wander past. There are very few people wandering about!
2nd Floor: Possibly the best floor. Presidential suite is here. Most have a sea view although some will have a partial view through trees. Not overlooked from the main hotel.
3rd floor: some have a sea view but others have a view of the building containing the ground and 2nd floor suites. There is also a pathway in front of the third floor suites which all guests use so very little privacy. Not overlooked from the rooms above.
4th floor: good sea view, not overlooked from any paths or the rooms above.
5th floor: great sea view but overlooked from the rooms above.
6th floor: great sea view but no private pool.

If I was going again I would ask for 2nd or 4th floor. If you want to sunbathe all day go for an executive suite as the terraces are bigger and they get the sun for much longer.

Whilst the suites are very good we found the main hotel looked a bit tired and the restaurant in the main hotel was very poor, definitely not a 5 star experience.

We would definitely go again as we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for a week in a garden suite with private pool. The suite was spacious and very comfortable. We especially appreciated the fact that we had complimentary regional food and drink specialities left daily. Service was excellent in both the suites and the hotel.

There is a private beach reached via a tunnel under the road in front of the hotel with very comfortable sun beds for hotel residents

We ate dinner twice in the Varkarola restaurant which was good value for a fine dining experience. If you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurants there are a large number of other restaurants and bars (or varying quality) in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willunga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a fantastic view from our very comfortable room but unfortunately no pool. It was quite a way to the pool and the beach. Breakfast was good but dinner was nothing to rave home about and we were turned away from being seated for not wearing long pants. This was a bit annoying as we had to return to get changed and when we finally came back to the restaurant we were seated next to a guy in 3/4 length shorts and his friend in red tracksuit pants and a t-shirt. Come on guys - if there is a dress code for some, make it for all - we're all on holidays, it is not a 5 star restaurant - it was a bbq after all. Staff were good. Two things that need improvement - on arrival one goes into the main hotel first and then transfers to the Elite Suites - this is chaotic and must be easy to fix. Secondly, the black pool needs some serious transformation - a nice pool but the surrounds are awkward - is there bar service there - seemed to be someone who came around with a tray every now and again. Maybe make it look a bit more appealing - some plants would help and maybe a mural or fountain - something - anything - it is just so bland. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to ask for a pool if you want a fabulous view and a relaxing escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in August (15-25) with our two daughters and this is the third consequent year we are visiting this specific hotel. Every year they add something new always keeping in mind the needs of their customers. Extremely friendly personnel that want to make sure that your every need is accommodated. The hotel has a wonderful view of the Aegean Sea and sunset is soooo romantic! Children can play in the kids club and at the outdoor playground while parents visit the spa and relax. Thank you!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from what felt like a second honeymoon in the Elite Suites in Rhodes. This is truly an exceptional resort, we stayed in an Elite Suite with private pool. The suite was large and comfortable with amazing views of the Aegean sea. Varkarola is a magnificent restaurant and serves excellent breakfast buffet. I can undoubtedly say that it was the best breakfast buffet I had to date. The staff went far and beyond in order to be nice polite cooperative and welcoming towards us. You have to visit their spa! – they definitely know how to spoil all guests!!! This luxury hotel is definitely beyond comparison.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roulla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,743 reviews
37.7 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,686 reviews
27.5 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
439 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Elite Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Elite Suites

Property: Amathus Elite Suites
Address: 100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elite Suites by Amathus Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#2 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Elite Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our dazzling suites offer uninterrupted views of the Aegean sea through sunny floor-to-ceiling windows. The beautifully appointed bedroom has a combination of marble and wooden floor, a living area with a corner-sofa bed, all done in a sophisticated style. The irresistible washroom has a full-length tub, separate shower, and two washbasins. The outdoors beckons intimate dining on an expansive balcony terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Amathus Elite Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Suites By Amathus Beach Hotel Ixia
Amathus Elite Suites Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing