We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Personal Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zacosta Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Ranked #46 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Best Personal Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I agree with other recent comments that this is a B&B rather than a hotel. That was part of the reason we enjoyed our stay so much, after two weeks of staying in nice but standard hotels. From the moment that John picked us up at the Port (we had come by ferry from Marmaris, Turkey) to the time he dropped us off at our taxi to the airport, we experienced the best in personal service.

The room we had was fairly small but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was up-to-date and well-furnished. Most of the time you will want to spend on the beautiful and spacious outdoor courtyard, anyway. There you will definitely interract with those staying in the other two rooms, but we found this to be an unexpected pleasure rather than a burden. A big part of traveling for us, is meeting and talking with people from different backgrounds.

The breakfasts were good, though without the variety one would get at a large hotel, but the setting was perfect. It was great to come back after travelling all day to a glass of wine and a snack at the end of the afternoon. Also, we had some interesting discussions with John (whose English is perfect) about the current Greek crises.

Finally, it was a real treat to be inside the historic walled city for a couple of days. It's a very different setting and especially nice in the morning and evening when the cruise ship passengers are mostly gone. this place is really a bargain for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
134
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We recently stayed here for 3 nights ... it's ideally located to walk around the fabulous Old town of Rhodes. It isn't a hotel however -- just a really nice B&B. There are 3 rooms only, and breakfast is served at a time to suit in the lovely courtyard; you sit around a table that's laid out for all the guests - as there are only 3 rooms the maximum number of people would be 6, so you can all share tips on where to go and where to eat. Beware - the walls are very thin so you can hear what other people are saying ... another couple were talking to John (the owner) one morning & we heard every work from our bedroom. John, is very hospitable and friendly but he isn't on-site all the time, mostly during the day, but after 'office hours' the guests are left on their own - however you can always reach him anytime by phone. The 'hotel' is down a small, dimly lit cobbled pathway so take sensible shoes and a torch.

Room Tip: We had the largest of the 3 rooms (Gran Maestro) - the other 2 were quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyfloss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Feel bad about the 3 out of 5 but think deserved
Good points:
Location excellent- the back streets of the Old Town are a delight
Large well appointed rooms
Attentive pleasant host
Nice but calorific breakfast
Bad points:
Its not a hotel- 3 rooms, no staff on the premises most of the day including through the night and no real bar/restaurant
Security an issue- the room safe had a loose fitting and see above
Noise- you can hear conversations in other rooms easily- definitely not for what used to be termed honeymooners
Can be quite fun to have breakfast at the same table as other guests but you need to be aware you will be forced into conversation with strangers

Room Tip: Upstairs best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zebedee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at Zacosta after seeing the excellent reviews on trip advisor and can not speak highly enough of the wonderful stay we had. We were looking to experience the Old Town, not to stay in another high rise hotel building and Zacosta was perfect. Greece was in the midst of a taxi strike & John emailed to advise us that he would pick us up from the airport himself and refused to take any extra payment for his effort. Seeing the other many stranded passengers at the airport we were so grateful for this kind gesture from John. Upon arrival John had upgraded us to the Raimondo room which was spacious & comfortable and overlooked the beautiful courtyard. Our only regret was that the stay could only be one night as we were joining friends the next day. The old town location was wonderful and John's tourist recommendations were fabulous. Breakfast was exactly as shown in the photographs, fresh with a wonderful variety. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rhodes and hope to one day take our family back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaBennettaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Lovely little hotel with 3 suites, delicious breakfasts, and John couldn't have been a better host: always friendly and keen to help but never intrusive. Ideal setting close but outside the main city throng, set in the narrow, rabbit-warren, old-city lanes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I went to Zacosta Villa Hotel for my honeymoon in last year's July, sorry that I was so busy and just write my review now!

I searched the Internet for many hotels in Rhodes and finally chose Zacosta, I'm very sure I made the correct choice! I stayed 2 nights in the Raimondo room at the end of July. Zacosta is a stylish boutique hotel and there are only 3 rooms: Giardino, Raimondo and Gran Maestro Suite. Raimondo room is located in the upper floor and you can see the backyard from the window.

The Rhodes city is divided into 2 parts: the Medieval City old town and the new town. I have to say you MUST stay in the old town! It is such a special experience to live in the old town as you feel like going back to the ancient era! The cobble street, the charming old houses, the quiet atmosphere, it makes city guys like me feel so comfortable. I just feel so enjoying walking around the cobble streets in the old town.

All the rooms and the living room of Zacosta are decorated stylishly! I really think the owner John has done a great job in renewing the property. It made you feel the charm of an historical villa but the modern design and amenities made you feel very comfortable living in the hotel! I and my wife enjoyed so much eating breakfast in the backyard and chatting with John and other tourists. You can see my photos for the details.

Of course, the most important factor of Zacosta is the owner John! John is so helpful and nice, his English is also very good as he has lived in US before. I remember when we arrived the first day, we arrived at around 8 am as we traveled from Santorini by night ferry. John picked us from the pier and provided us breakfast in the backyard which was free of charge! He also gave us a map and provided a lot of useful tips about the travelling attractions and recommended restaurants. As John knew that I came here for honeymoon, he gave me a bottle of champagne and "secretly" told me it will be ready in my room when we returned room at night! What a considerate arrangement!

To be honest, Zacosta is not cheap, but it worth every penny of the price! The popular Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel starts at Euro 200 during peak season! I think Zacosta is much more reasonable.

Not too many Asians travel to Rhodes (they mainly go to Santorini and Mykonos), but I think Rhodes is a must-go place. And if you go to Rhodes, stay in Zacosta, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I like the Raimondo room very much. But actually the Giardino's size is just a little bit smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Considering we were visiting Rhodes mainly to learn something of its rich and interesting history, this small, boutique hotel turned out to be an excellent choice. We had a small room on the ground floor, tastefully fitted out with quality furniture and accessories. It had direct access to the enclosed courtyard where breakfast was served. What we particularly liked about the breakfasts was the selection of local, traditional products which were offered to us in addition to the more usual breakfast foods, once again all top quality. Most important of all though was the hotel's location in a quiet part of the old town and very close to its major historical and cultural sites as well as many good restaurants. For two people who had not been to Rhodes before, John was an excellent host - very generous with his time and a very valuable source of helpful information.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_and_Margaret_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#34 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#25 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#39 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zacosta Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zacosta Villa Hotel

Property: Zacosta Villa Hotel
Address: Xenofontos 23 | Medieval City, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zacosta Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Villa Hotel consisiting of one suite and two rooms with a graphic courtyard, set in a quiet neighbourhood of the Medieval City. A charming establishment where the traditional has been blended with the luxurious. This together with the unique atmosphere of the Medieval City will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Zacosta Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zacosta Hotel Rhodes Town
Zacosta Villa Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing