We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooftop Restaurant; Traditional Greek Fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jannis Restaurant

Jannis Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Greek traditional roof garden restaurant
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,578 helpful votes
“Rooftop Restaurant; Traditional Greek Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Sokratous Street in Old Town Rhodes, runs downhill (or uphill, depending on your approach) all the way from the Mosque of Suleiman to the Marine Gate. It's steep at times, but a pleasant walk lined with shops, restaurants, and cafes. Like many restaurants in the Medieval City of Rhodes, this one occupies a rooftop and overlooks a garden in the courtyard below. The place is shaded and cool and a pleasant place to rest for an hour or two. The staff is charming and eager to please and the menu is quite traditional and well-prepared.

My party and I ordered Tzatziki and pita which arrived quickly. The yogurt and cucumber concoction is a staple in the Greek diet and is cooling and refreshing on a hot day. If you like bread, the pita is like manna from heaven. I asked for fried squid; another in my party got Moussaka; and another got the fried cheese that is often served as mezza. All of us were pleased.

The restaurant was crowded, so it seemed that it was popular and both service and food was quite good. I'd definitely try this place again. Free Wi-Fi is advertised, but neither our waiter nor one of our guests could get it to work. So it goes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An outstanding meal in Rhodes old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Having had lunch at this restaurant and then going back for an evening meal. There is nothing that one could complain about. Firstly the really lovely invite, not pushy just treating you like special people. All of the staff cannot do enough for you and find the time to stay and have a chat even tho they were busy. The food for lunch was just a pizza for hubs and toastie for me. Presentation was great with bits of salad placed round the plate. The evening meal was mussels in creme for me and lamb klefida for my husband. Well honestly altho not enormous it was really satisfying and plentiful. I really want to say thank you to all the staff including the kitchen staff (kitchens on show and Spotless) as well as meet and greet staff and management Well Done.
By the way this restaurant is good for families, couples, businesses and romanticism.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john_minkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Booked our summer holidays for Rhodes and have already planned to have our first dinner at Jannis! Delicious food and friendly service, home from home looking forward to seeing you guys again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Food and Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

There are many restaurants in Rhodes and I only ate at two in the day I was there. This one was the best. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here. The price is very reasonable if you order off of the specials menu which is fairly extensive. This roof top restaurant is located upstairs and like most in the area is open on the sides. If you sit in the front you can observe the busy street below. If you sit in the back, it is quiet and overlooks a back street. In any case this is a good place to eat in Rhodes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RadarGuyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of many' moderate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

One of many with similar menus in the centre of the new town. The meal was ok but bettered at others , and similar with the service. Too close to the road as well

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loiriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jannis Restaurant also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Jannis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing