We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, excellent customer service from Nicos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #64 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here from mid June for a week and the hotel was chosen from researching on trip advisor. We felt this was a reasonably maintained hotel with friendly staff and particular excellent customer service from Nicos who runs the bar and restaurant area. Everything seems relatively new and modern and clean. Checking in and out was no problem and was dealt with quickly. The location is literally just a 5 minute walk to the old town restaurants and a 5 minute walk to the new town restaurants. Our room was a modern simple design. I had asked for a quite room with a pool side view but ended up with a quite room with not such a nice view, though wasn't so bad in the end as music is played by the pool all day. The air con was a god send as I managed to get heat rash! The beds were very comfortable. The shower was a good pressure and you don't need to put your tissue in the bin in this hotel as they report to have a toilet masicator! The breakfast had a good choice of fruits, meat, eggs, bacon, warmed pastries. We didn't eat in the evenings as I had already trip advised the restaurants we were going to but we had a look and it all looked tasty. The pool was regularly maintained and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. I have little experience of 4 star hotels but I was gauge this to be a high 3/4. The 4 mark mainly given due to the customer service from the restaurant area.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms on the lower floors might be a bit noisier but the view is better. If you have a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emagry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Good points first, great location just a few minutes stroll from the old town and close to the high street. Check-in was efficient and staff were helpful.
The room was spacious and had a small balcony overlooking the pool - we emailed in advance and they kindly gave us a larger room with a sofa. The room didn't reflect the image on the website; it's a bit more basic/minimalist - there were none of the extra touches you expect at a boutique hotel. The bathroom was compact and the shower was small, but didn't cause us any problems (if you're a bit on the large side it may!). It was a powerful shower which was great.
The breakfast offered a really good range of hot and cold options, although there isn't fresh coffee and the juice was majorly watered down. There's a cafe bar directly opposite called Thermai Swed Co - food was lovely, big portions and great value.
Main bad point was the one day they ran out of towels! So we were left with hand towels. We complained 3 times and eventually got a bath towel to share between 2 of us. No real apology or explanation every time we asked why we hadn't had towels - at one point we were asked to find the cleaner ourselves!
About half way through our stay a family with a small tribe of children checked in and they were incredibly disruptive. The website says "Our guests can experience a relaxing time around the pool" - that wasn't the case when they were blasting their water gun, playing loud music on their personal stereo over the hotel's music and generally being noisy. The staff did a lot of looking at the family, but rarely intervened. I certainly wouldn't expect a rabble of children in a boutique hotel.
At night time the hotel was really noisy as the corridors are tiled and the doors have big gaps at the bottom so you hear everything! Also, the small fridge in the room was noisy.
Finally, the derelict building next to the hotel which you can see from one side of the pool or from your balcony is a bit disappointing, but didn't really impact on us.
Overall a good stay, but didn't live up to the boutique hotel expectation. More of a modern 3 star hotel really.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsReview_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Amphitryon means, in Greek, host. And they know, endeed, to keep a good house. We enjoy our seven days holiday. The Hotel is nice, the food is tasty and, above all, is close to the Citadel. This is the main point of interest, in Rhodes, in my opinion. If you are in love with the beach you have to walk about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: on the side with the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is a nice clean hotel but should not be rated as a 4 star. A true 4 star hotel would have a Day Room for guests who have flights package deals with very late departure times back to their destinations. This is a huge blunder for this hotel. The plus side of this hotel is that it is in a great location to the Old Town Fortress and public transportation if you wish to take a bus to any other part of the Island. This is a great beach Island resort and most of the hotels in Rhodes do have Day Rooms for late departing guests and contrary to what the Day Manager has to say. The Food and Beverage Manager and his team were brilliant with great customer service. The night shift staff were very friendly and tried in all ways to accommodate the requests of guests. The rooms are clean and the maid was always very nice. The down side of the room is that the Air Conditioning leaked and the small refrigerator made loud noises and the bathroom looked as if it was from the Flintstones age, and needs a little bit of TLC and fresh gloss paint to help keep the clean look. The same for the spacious shower stall, very nice but needs TLC. This hotel has so much possibilities to be a good 4 star but the owner has to have a check with his day staff desk manager and train them to think outside of the box and work with possible return guests, I know I will go back to Rhodes again but not this hotel until it rectifies the current stance of Day Room services of what is called a 4 Star Hotel. I might add the Pool area is very nice and clean but lacks deck lounges for the guests but keep in mind the area is small around the pool and safety is very important. Just wanted to make it very clear that it is the DAY ROOM that needs to be addressed with the owner of this property and the guests needs as I will not be the last guests to make a comment regarding that lonely issue (DAY ROOM).

Room Tip: *Bathrooms nice but need TLC *A/C leaks (even though looks new) *Refrigerator makes loud noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stubbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having ordered and paid for a room with a balcony - I was disappointed to be given an extremely small room with no balcony at all. The room was the smallest hotelroom I have ever seen. Asked reception for a differtent room with a balcony - but this was not possible to get. After having contacted our norwegian travel-agency (Apollo) - we were finally given a different room in the evening. To our great surprice - the next morning - we were told by the manager to leave this room immediately - as this was not our room. Somebody else had ordered this room. No more explanations or excuses were given - and then we had to get our things and move into another room. This was a room on the first floor - with a view a dirty back yard. The room was not clean. We then chose to leave Amphytrion Hotel for good - even if we had paid for a full week. The manager of the hotel, Stelios, is a rude and angry man - who should never have been in customer-relations. The rooms you see on the hotels web-page has nothing to do with reality. Bathrooms are very small. Also - you can hear everything that is going on outside the rooms. If you like ants - you wil love staying by the pool - as there are ants everywere. The only positive thing to say is that the hotel does have a nice breakfast - and is close to everything. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OttoDachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great. The staff are very friendly and great company. The food for both the extensive buffet breakfast and snacks that we purchased are lovely. The hotel is spotless and the room was cleaned on a daily basis to a high standard. The hotel is centrally located and easy to find your way back to (just ask the way to the Marks and Spencer as everybody knows where that is). Th hotel is 5 min walk to the old town and 10 mins to the beach every other direction and to the new part as well.

Not so great. We had room 410 which was a junior suite. The room itself was long with only a very small patio door at the end making the room dar and airless all the time. The patio was shared with next door and we never felt happy. As the doors to the rooms dont fit properly, The noise from people on the corridior was very distracting. The room was also opposite the lift shaft and the noise of the lift motor all night was irritating.

Although we had a great holiday, I wouldnt choose this hotel again for the 'not so greats'

Room Tip: Dont choose 410
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Plus things: location 5 min walk to the old town, 10 min walk to the beach. Central location to a variety of bars, restaurants and loads of shops. Hotel: first class service from all the staff,friendly, helpful and always engangng . Rooms are a great size and everything you need with a massive shower that is perfect after the heat of the sun. Breakfast comes with an amazing choice to please everyone, if you need anything else they will get it. Had lunch a few times and the portions are massive and fresh, hotel is a perfect base to exploreRhodes. One little issue was the availability of sunbeds, sometimes pool area got over crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#53 of 126 in Rhodes Town
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#47 of 126 in Rhodes Town
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butterfly Boutique Hotel
Butterfly Boutique Hotel
#93 of 126 in Rhodes Town
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphitryon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon Boutique Hotel

Address: 10 Alex Diakou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £34 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphitryon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amphitryon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing