We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, contemporary styling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #63 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great location, contemporary styling”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

+Minimal, modern style at a great value & great location.
+Very hospitable staff (thank you Nikos & Spiros, our excellent hosts).
+Our booking through Orbitz included dinner at no extra cost. We arrived late from the airport and had previously requested dinner, which was graciously waiting for us when we arrived. The food was traditional and delicious.
+Buffet breakfast accommodated the British tourists as well as those wanting Greek choices.
+Very clean and well-maintained.
+Unlike previous reviews, we had no complaints about the room noise.
+We would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As stated in previous reviews, request an upper floor room, facing pool or back. We stayed in room 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    107
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
46
132
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the hotel while on a short stop in between destinations.

First pleasant surprise was the room. It was big, modern, clean and had a massive balcony. Unfortunately it didn't face the hotel's pool so we had no views at all, but that wasn't a minus to us as we've spent a lot of time either at the pool or wandering the town.
Second was the service we received by the staff. They were constantly polite, friendly and eager to help. Especially Mr Nikos at the bar, he made us feel more than welcome there. Thank you very much Mr Nikos!
Another thing we loved was how close the hotel is to local amenities and most importantly to the Old Medieval Town. There are many fast foods, restaurants and bars around for every taste. And to top that up, although the hotel is situated on a busy street, the rooms remain quiet.

There is only one thing we didn't like and that was the hand soap being mounted on the wall similarly to public toilets. The soap had run down the wall, leaving a dirt stain. It would have been much better if they had those samples almost all hotels do. Besides that though, everything else was great.


We're already thinking of returning to the island again next year and one thing is certain, we will be booking our room there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora_Trap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location for exploring Rhodes especially the old town,very clean great pool and bar area. Nikos and his team provide first class service.My wife and I just left yesterday after 4 great days in wonderful Rhodes.Would certainty recommend Amphitryon Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews on here after booking this hotel but didn't need to worry as we had a fabulous week at the beginning of July.
We were allocated room 321 which overlooked the pool and had a balcony, the air conditioning and fridge were a god send, the electric to the room operates on a card that you leave in the reader on the wall, this was attached to the key so you need to detach and leave in all the time for the fridge to work. We did turn the air con off though when we were out of the room out of consideration.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the pool area although small was nice, some days you need to be early if you want a sunbed as they are taken up pretty quickly. Pool is lovely not cold at all.
The breakfasts are good, everything you want the only gripe we had was that the staff were very keen on clearing your plates away and a couple of times asked while we were still eating!!
The hotel also offer a buffet evening meal for 10 euro per person but we never took up this option as there are some wonderful tavernas in the old town.
The location of the hotel is excellent, we walked into the old town most nights and ate in the traditional tavernas, Rustica is a lovely one and Archipelagos in the square another but you just need to wander and suss everything out yourself. The prices are probably on par with England, the wine is reasonable for half carafe ranging from 4 euros to 8 euros depending on where you are eating, the traditional greek dishes are about 9 euros.
There is a bus stop about 2 mins away with buses to Lindos (5 euros each one way) and Faliraki Beach (2 euros 20 cents one way) both definitely worth a visit, the beach at Faliraki is wonderful.
The main trips run from the harbour, we took a trip to Symi, cost 20 euros each on the ferry, calling at a monastery on the way, a taxi to the harbour cost us 5 euros and took around 10 mins.
Overall we had a fantastic week away and would definitely stay at this hotel again when we go back to Rhodes. Definitely consider a stay at the Amphitryon.

Room Tip: Pool room views are good, we had no noise at all during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fab40cab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were attracted to Hotel Amphitryon for several reasons, its Old Town location, a great on-line price for a suite in a four star hotel on Hotel Club, and it was reported to be newly renovated. We had only three days in Rhodes Town and this hotel enabled us to make the most of our stay. The choice was a good one but a boutique hotel it is not.

The location right on the edge of the Old Town was excellent. There was easy walking through the Old Town sites, to the castle, to the waterfront and old port area (ferry to Turkey), the markets and to the many restaurants nearby. It is in an area with shopping, numerous banks and a small Marks and Spencers next door, but there are open spaces and it is easy to relate to a map. Strolling the harbour-side was a highlight and it was a mere few minutes to walk to the city beach which is popular.

The hotel has been renovated, has a minimalist and modern look, and the amenities are all good. It is easy to locate by taxi and has a lobby that has seating. The reception staff we found variable in their service and they need to develop some rapport with guests but there were no issues. We had a suite which was clean, well equipped and the bedroom was spacious. There was a lounge area which was useful to have (especially because the very noisy fridge was there) and made up for a very strange bathroom arrangement. No problem but an architect obviously designed the shower area to be distinctively rustic. Overall the suite was very good value and the bed and bedding were first class. There is a sizeable pool with nice surroundings (ignore the derelict building next door), that was mostly in the sun, plenty of loungers and the water was decidedly cold. Fortunately, no annoyance from children so people were using the pool.

The breakfast was included and added to the great value. The standard of what was provided was a little limited, perhaps better than average, though not a 4 star hotel's quality and choice (eg fruit, juice, coffee). With a little thought and effort it could easily be improved. I suspect the food and meal arrangements are all contracted out and therein lay some of the problem. The dining room was a large one and the serving area was spacious. Positioned beside the pool it was a pleasant way to start the day. There was a very reasonably priced and acceptable evening set priced buffet, however, with the many well priced tavernas around, the advice is to search out the wonderful food options within 10 minutes walk. Eating and drinking in the evening you are spoiled for choice. The beers and carafes of local wine were the best price we found across a number of islands on our trip. And the local wine was excellent. The hotel was indeed a good choice to make the most of our short stay in Rhodes Town

It was easy to get a taxi to the port in the early morning for a ferry to Turkey, but this is a warning about the port's arrival situation. It is mentioned to help you. On Blue Star ferry from Santorini you have an early morning disembarkation at a remote point at the port. Then you must walk and carry your luggage a long distance out of the port area. This was difficult for some people. The reason is the local taxis were not allowed to enter the port confines and there is a shortage of taxis anyway. Crazy. There are passengers everywhere and no assistance. You trudge up to the main road then the taxi fiasco begins. There are many passengers all hailing a limited number of taxis. If you speak Greek you stand a chance, if not it is everyone for themselves. The wait can be terribly long because there are few taxis and morning commuter traffic jams. Those in the know position themselves strategically and hail the taxis from further away and then have the taxi pick up their travelling companions. You can wait for an hour in the early morning, so be assertive or you will still be waiting. It was not a good introduction to this wonderful place. Be warned.

Room Tip: The suites on a higher floor are spacious and well set up. The pool facing ones have balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muzzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here from mid June for a week and the hotel was chosen from researching on trip advisor. We felt this was a reasonably maintained hotel with friendly staff and particular excellent customer service from Nicos who runs the bar and restaurant area. Everything seems relatively new and modern and clean. Checking in and out was no problem and was dealt with quickly. The location is literally just a 5 minute walk to the old town restaurants and a 5 minute walk to the new town restaurants. Our room was a modern simple design. I had asked for a quite room with a pool side view but ended up with a quite room with not such a nice view, though wasn't so bad in the end as music is played by the pool all day. The air con was a god send as I managed to get heat rash! The beds were very comfortable. The shower was a good pressure and you don't need to put your tissue in the bin in this hotel as they report to have a toilet masicator! The breakfast had a good choice of fruits, meat, eggs, bacon, warmed pastries. We didn't eat in the evenings as I had already trip advised the restaurants we were going to but we had a look and it all looked tasty. The pool was regularly maintained and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. I have little experience of 4 star hotels but I was gauge this to be a high 3/4. The 4 mark mainly given due to the customer service from the restaurant area.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms on the lower floors might be a bit noisier but the view is better. If you have a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emagry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDLANDS
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Good points first, great location just a few minutes stroll from the old town and close to the high street. Check-in was efficient and staff were helpful.
The room was spacious and had a small balcony overlooking the pool - we emailed in advance and they kindly gave us a larger room with a sofa. The room didn't reflect the image on the website; it's a bit more basic/minimalist - there were none of the extra touches you expect at a boutique hotel. The bathroom was compact and the shower was small, but didn't cause us any problems (if you're a bit on the large side it may!). It was a powerful shower which was great.
The breakfast offered a really good range of hot and cold options, although there isn't fresh coffee and the juice was majorly watered down. There's a cafe bar directly opposite called Thermai Swed Co - food was lovely, big portions and great value.
Main bad point was the one day they ran out of towels! So we were left with hand towels. We complained 3 times and eventually got a bath towel to share between 2 of us. No real apology or explanation every time we asked why we hadn't had towels - at one point we were asked to find the cleaner ourselves!
About half way through our stay a family with a small tribe of children checked in and they were incredibly disruptive. The website says "Our guests can experience a relaxing time around the pool" - that wasn't the case when they were blasting their water gun, playing loud music on their personal stereo over the hotel's music and generally being noisy. The staff did a lot of looking at the family, but rarely intervened. I certainly wouldn't expect a rabble of children in a boutique hotel.
At night time the hotel was really noisy as the corridors are tiled and the doors have big gaps at the bottom so you hear everything! Also, the small fridge in the room was noisy.
Finally, the derelict building next to the hotel which you can see from one side of the pool or from your balcony is a bit disappointing, but didn't really impact on us.
Overall a good stay, but didn't live up to the boutique hotel expectation. More of a modern 3 star hotel really.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsReview_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#26 of 126 in Rhodes Town
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#52 of 126 in Rhodes Town
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Butterfly Boutique Hotel
Butterfly Boutique Hotel
#100 of 126 in Rhodes Town
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oktober Downtown Rooms
Oktober Downtown Rooms
#61 of 126 in Rhodes Town
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphitryon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon Boutique Hotel

Property: Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
Address: 10 Alex Diakou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphitryon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amphitryon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing