We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs! Nasty hotel with horrible staff! Don't ever go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Ranked #120 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Bed bugs! Nasty hotel with horrible staff! Don't ever go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived for a 3 night stay. Left the first morning after a terrible night with no sleep!
Bed bugs! Broken electricity wires hanging from the walls, mould everywhere - even in the curtains! Water leaking from disgusting refrigerator. Breakfast so nasty we could barely drink the coffee.
Incredibly rude staff that actually said we made a small problem big by complaining about this stuff.
Should be closed immediately due to severe health issues and security violations.
And oh yeah, drunk kids partying all night.
Never visit! I'd rather sleep on the pavement outside, to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Manager at Venus Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ms. Linnea J,

Thank you for taking the time to write this audit for us!

We apologize for not being able to satisfy you, but we have to mention our efforts in order to do so, although we failed.

1. We compensate to you with a Full Refund.
2. Due to the problems you faced with the room we transferred you from a Double to a Triple Room, we apologize, again, for the inconvenience.
3. Unfortunately it didn’t came to my attention (Hotel Manager) any rude behavior, if you could please notify us to our email address which stuff member talked to you in a rude manner you would be a great help to improve our hospitality.
4. We understand that the noise from other guest might upset anyone, but that could happened at any hotel and at any place. We can’t take responsibility for the behavior of other guests.

Regarding the comment from our behalf that “we made a small problem big by complaining about this stuff”, we apologize for the misunderstanding, there was no offensive intention from our part and we’ve proved that beyond words by transferring you to a new & better room and with the full refunding of your money, although we weren’t obligated to do so.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Venus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    24
    19
    26
See reviews for
10
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We love Venus hotel, very basic, serves your main daily needs. In the center, close to seaside, bar street, restaurant, if you like luxury hotel get one, but Venus hotel is ideal for a budget holiday with its good service. Do not ruin your holiday complaining about simple problems as the team is ready to fix everything you ask..will come again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank hionat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A complete nightmare!!! We stayed for 7 nights and we couldn't wait for it to be over! The room was extremely dirty and the bathroom...I cannot even explain in words how awful it was! Rust, dust and a terrible smell! Also it was very loud! We could barely sleep! The breakfast was poor and every day (for 8 days in a row) it was the same. No WiFi, they were supposed to have WiFi in the lobby, but it did not work! The TV was not working also, you had to pay extra for the AC and it was expensive. And on top of that really bad service!
The only good thing about it was the location.
That being said, I would NOT recommend this dirty, smelly, loud and not even cheap hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Διευθυντής at Venus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Oana S,

We’re thankful for your time to make this comment and help us improve ourselves and our property.

We would like to start from the breakfast.

As a “Continental Hotel” we’re not obligated to provide nothing more than cheese, bread and ham. Despite that we offer more than 18 products to our daily breakfast. There are dozens of combinations that can be created from these 18 (and more) basic products, but still we want to improve and provide a greater variety and quality of services and products to our visitors.

The Wireless connection was down due to maintenance working from the telecommunications company “O.T.E.” at the next block from our hotel. That situation lasted for many hours but until afternoon the internet was working, so the wi-fi connection. We’re truly sorry for the inconvenience.
The problem with the TV didn’t came to our attention until your comment. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and we assure you that we could have change your TV right away if we were notified earlier.

The Air Conditioning cost is a matter of your Travel Agent. We have nothing to do with this charge. The reservations from booking.com, expedia and all the other Online Tour Operators are not subject to the A.C. extra charge. It’s a matter of Travel Agent External Policy, not ours.

Last but not least, we’re completely accountable for the bad cleaning of your room. That was due to bad scheduling of the chambermaids. We apologize for that and please if you book to our hotel again, please ask for me personally (Dorothea Mavraki – Hotel Manager) and you’ll be welcome to have a full and free breakfast for all your stay.

Sincerely Yours,
Dorothea Mavraki, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are two positive things about this hotel: 1. It is centrally located. 2. It is dirt cheap. Other than that I don't have much positive to say. The rooms were not functional at all. There was one outlet, and it was coming off the wall. The lights didn't work, and there is no hook for the shower, so be prepared to have an interesting shower experience. There is hardly no light in the hallways so we had to use out cell phones to find our rooms. Even though the receptionist may seem friendly, be aware, they do very little to help. We tried to get our lights fixed with no luck, and they would only give us towels after two days of begging. Also, make sure you have a confirmation that you ordered breakfast, without it you won't get any. Only stay at this hotel if you are desperate for a cheap stay, otherwise avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marianhabeslandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Διευθυντής at Venus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Marian H,
Thank you for your time and effort to compile this review.
We would like to express our sincere apologies for your experience and take this opportunity and clarify some misunderstandings.

Below we explain ourselves.
Firstly the outlet wasn’t broken/non-functional or by any means a safety-hazard. There was just no lamp to decorate the outlet. But that doesn’t mean that there shouldn’t be any, we’re just on low incomes and we have no extra budget to cover all the humongous expenses a hotel has.
A lamp is a small and cheap item of course but when you add up all these small costs it becomes a great one and priorities must be set.
Second, the shower hook is something that we’ll fix it as soon as possible. It’s a small cost but as we explained there are priorities with tough budgets.

Third, the towels are always available for everyone, the sea towels you specifically asked are something that is not provided by default from our hotel (check our amenities at the Online Tour Operators or at your local Tour Agent) and despite that fact the girls at the reception really wanted to assist you and managed to get some for you.

Lastly, the breakfast if it’s not included in your rate plan it’s sold separately at any time of your stay. We’re sorry if there was any other misunderstanding.

We acknowledge that there are many things to improve, thanks to your observations we can improve ourselves and become better for our visitors.

We hope to see you again, next time you visit Rhodes, either you stay at Venus Hotel, or not, please pay a visit and ask for me personally (the manager), Dorothea Mavraki.

Best Regards,
Dorothea Mavraki, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A good and clean hotell with the best staff. The perfect location in the center of everything; the beach, bars and resturants and shopping!

Pool, breakfast and cleaning. AC on the room. Apartment or a room, it's upp to you.







Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Manager at Venus Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ms Jennifer,

your comment is honoring us and inspiring us to continue the hard work of improvement! We expect you anytime to provide you with a better experience and live an even more comfortable holiday experience!

Best Regards,
Hotel Venus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olten, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went to Venus Hotel for 1 week with my husband and I must admit it was one of the best experiences we had in a long time. It is a family run business and we felt very much at home. Very good prices and very comfortable rooms. The bar was open till late and we could enjoy our drinks and cocktails, the rooms and breakfast area very clean and with a good selection on the buffet.An ideal city hotel for a vacation that can combine a quick swim in the pool or a long day by the beach and only a few minutes away from the city center where you can find lots of shops, restaurants and bars. All the staff were very helpfull and specially the girls at the reception.Thank you for a nice vacation and we will come back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location for all the restaurants, shops, bar street a few mins down the road, and the beach a few mins away too. Hotel was typical greek hotel, basic and a little dated in places but clean, the maid on our floor was lovely! The pool is small and there are only chairs around it but there are pics on the hotels website and such that if you didnt know this when you arrive there your stupid! Because rhodes is a city most hotels dont even have a pool! Staff were nice, some spoke very little english but we got by. This hotel can be noisy due to its location, alot of young people stay in this area because of bar street so I wouldnt reccommend for families (the sea is quite rough at times too) but me and my best friend had a great time here and I would return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Manager at Venus Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Vikky B,

Thank you very much for your time writing this comments which is a great feedback for us! We'll do our best to improve our services and property as soon as possible!

We really hope to see you again at our hotel!

Best Regards,
Hotel Venus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Season Colorado Hotel
Four Season Colorado Hotel
#98 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#67 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vassilia
Hotel Vassilia
#84 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#77 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carina Hotel
Carina Hotel
#114 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Property: Venus Hotel
Address: Nikiforou Mandilara 50, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 1700 ft from the Old Town in Rhodes, just 165 ft from Elli Beach, Hotel Venus features a swimming pool and a restaurant. Guests are offered a buffet breakfast. Rooms at the family-run Venus Hotel are airy with a lot of sunlight. All units are equipped with air conditioning and a TV. Each unit includes a private bathroom with a shower and amenities. All rooms feature a balcony. The bar serves drinks, ice cream and light meals throughout the day. The hotel features a lounge room with a satellite TV. Guests have free access to the roof garden that has seating space. The staff at the 24-hour front desk can arrange car rental and offer information on attractions such as the Valley of the Butterflies at 9 miles. The Aquarium of Rhodes is within 1000 ft and the Madraki Harbor is a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing