We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful experience”
Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Ranked #118 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Probably one of the worst hotels i've ever stayed at. We had to ask for everything, soap, towel change etc. Television didn't work. The room had not been renovated for at least a decade. The walls were dirty and worn out. The bathroom... just disgusting. Breakfast was mediocre, ham and cheese had a bad smell. All in all, a really bad experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Manager at Venus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Ms. Maria P,

Thank you for your time and effort to write this review for our hotel!

We apologize for the bad experience you had in our property. We plan a massive upgrade & renovation in 2015 and until then we do our best to be at service via the human resources we have (ourselves).

We’re glad though that we have managed to assist all your requests.

Regarding the breakfast, we are a continental hotel so we are not obligated to have big variety, despite that our breakfast has more than 18 products to combine. We apologize though for the bad smell, we do our best in hygiene and we want to eliminate mistakes like that, thank you for your observation.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Venus Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Venus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed there for 6 days.

No hot water from 18.00 to 00.00 due to the old system the hotel has.

First day: No channels on TV and the refrigerator didn't work properly.
I mentioned that on reception and they replaced both the third day.
Result: New fridge was ok, but TV was still with the same problem till my departure.

Unacceptable to ask for paid wifi.
Very old hotel, needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Vag_Anagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Manager at Venus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Mr. Vag_Anagn,
Thank you for your time and effort to write this review for our hotel!

We apologize for the lack of hot water, during your stay, our hotel was fully booked and during the hours you’ve mentioned the showers were constantly under usage, but due to the solar panels we use to boil the water just 10minutes were enough for the hot water to be replenished.
We’re still unexcused though for that situation and the upgrade of the solar panels to cover the increased demands of our visitors is on schedule for the 2015.

We also apologize for the lack of satellite channels that we can provide, in the near future we’ll increase the accessible channels.

Regarding the paid Wi-Fi: We provide FREE Wi-Fi in all public areas for all visitors. We only charge the Wi-Fi access at the rooms. This is explicitly mentioned at your contract with your Travel Agency/Online Tour Operator.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Venus Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Venus hotel was so awful that I wouldn't recommend it to anyone! Rooms were dirty and staff was rude. Our bathroom light didn't work so we had to complain about it 4 times before they fixed it.. Free wi-fi in the lobby didn't worked all week and when we bought wi-fi password it didn't worked in our room which was in the first floor. We had to change hotel during our stay in rhodes because this hotel was so bad. The last thing was when we woke up to the smell of smoke. We went to the hallway and the smell was even worse. There was a cleaner lady but she refused to tell us where the smell was from. We went to the lobby and ask if there was a fire somewhere because there is no firealarms in this hotel. Hotel clerk went to there and spoke something with the cleaner but they never told us where the smell came from.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Anniina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Owner at Venus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ms. Anniina K,

Thank you for your time and effort to write this post.

At first we would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had in our property.

The problematic access to the wi-fi was due to a mistake from our side, we gave you the old password, because we had to reset our router a couple of days ago and after we figured it out and gave you the new one the problem was thankfully fixed.

Regarding the burning smell you mentioned, no one could provide you with an answer because no one knew the cause. After an hour we figured out that it was a burned toast from another guest. The fire alarm of course wasn’t –automatically– activated because there was no fire or smoke.

Rhodes Town Fire Department can verify that there was no fire at our hotel which is located next to “Orfanidou Street”, on of the most crowded streets of Rhodes Down Town.

We hope that we have calmed you regarding the safety of our property, but we are thankful for your comment because it provided us with insights which can help us to improve our professionalism.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Venus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived for a 3 night stay. Left the first morning after a terrible night with no sleep!
Bed bugs! Broken electricity wires hanging from the walls, mould everywhere - even in the curtains! Water leaking from disgusting refrigerator. Breakfast so nasty we could barely drink the coffee.
Incredibly rude staff that actually said we made a small problem big by complaining about this stuff.
Should be closed immediately due to severe health issues and security violations.
And oh yeah, drunk kids partying all night.
Never visit! I'd rather sleep on the pavement outside, to be honest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linnea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Manager at Venus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ms. Linnea J,

Thank you for taking the time to write this audit for us!

We apologize for not being able to satisfy you, but we have to mention our efforts in order to do so, although we failed.

1. We compensate to you with a Full Refund.
2. Due to the problems you faced with the room we transferred you from a Double to a Triple Room, we apologize, again, for the inconvenience.
3. Unfortunately it didn’t came to my attention (Hotel Manager) any rude behavior, if you could please notify us to our email address which stuff member talked to you in a rude manner you would be a great help to improve our hospitality.
4. We understand that the noise from other guest might upset anyone, but that could happened at any hotel and at any place. We can’t take responsibility for the behavior of other guests.

Regarding the comment from our behalf that “we made a small problem big by complaining about this stuff”, we apologize for the misunderstanding, there was no offensive intention from our part and we’ve proved that beyond words by transferring you to a new & better room and with the full refunding of your money, although we weren’t obligated to do so.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Venus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We love Venus hotel, very basic, serves your main daily needs. In the center, close to seaside, bar street, restaurant, if you like luxury hotel get one, but Venus hotel is ideal for a budget holiday with its good service. Do not ruin your holiday complaining about simple problems as the team is ready to fix everything you ask..will come again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank hionat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A complete nightmare!!! We stayed for 7 nights and we couldn't wait for it to be over! The room was extremely dirty and the bathroom...I cannot even explain in words how awful it was! Rust, dust and a terrible smell! Also it was very loud! We could barely sleep! The breakfast was poor and every day (for 8 days in a row) it was the same. No WiFi, they were supposed to have WiFi in the lobby, but it did not work! The TV was not working also, you had to pay extra for the AC and it was expensive. And on top of that really bad service!
The only good thing about it was the location.
That being said, I would NOT recommend this dirty, smelly, loud and not even cheap hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Διευθυντής at Venus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Oana S,

We’re thankful for your time to make this comment and help us improve ourselves and our property.

We would like to start from the breakfast.

As a “Continental Hotel” we’re not obligated to provide nothing more than cheese, bread and ham. Despite that we offer more than 18 products to our daily breakfast. There are dozens of combinations that can be created from these 18 (and more) basic products, but still we want to improve and provide a greater variety and quality of services and products to our visitors.

The Wireless connection was down due to maintenance working from the telecommunications company “O.T.E.” at the next block from our hotel. That situation lasted for many hours but until afternoon the internet was working, so the wi-fi connection. We’re truly sorry for the inconvenience.
The problem with the TV didn’t came to our attention until your comment. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and we assure you that we could have change your TV right away if we were notified earlier.

The Air Conditioning cost is a matter of your Travel Agent. We have nothing to do with this charge. The reservations from booking.com, expedia and all the other Online Tour Operators are not subject to the A.C. extra charge. It’s a matter of Travel Agent External Policy, not ours.

Last but not least, we’re completely accountable for the bad cleaning of your room. That was due to bad scheduling of the chambermaids. We apologize for that and please if you book to our hotel again, please ask for me personally (Dorothea Mavraki – Hotel Manager) and you’ll be welcome to have a full and free breakfast for all your stay.

Sincerely Yours,
Dorothea Mavraki, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are two positive things about this hotel: 1. It is centrally located. 2. It is dirt cheap. Other than that I don't have much positive to say. The rooms were not functional at all. There was one outlet, and it was coming off the wall. The lights didn't work, and there is no hook for the shower, so be prepared to have an interesting shower experience. There is hardly no light in the hallways so we had to use out cell phones to find our rooms. Even though the receptionist may seem friendly, be aware, they do very little to help. We tried to get our lights fixed with no luck, and they would only give us towels after two days of begging. Also, make sure you have a confirmation that you ordered breakfast, without it you won't get any. Only stay at this hotel if you are desperate for a cheap stay, otherwise avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marianhabeslandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus010, Διευθυντής at Venus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Marian H,
Thank you for your time and effort to compile this review.
We would like to express our sincere apologies for your experience and take this opportunity and clarify some misunderstandings.

Below we explain ourselves.
Firstly the outlet wasn’t broken/non-functional or by any means a safety-hazard. There was just no lamp to decorate the outlet. But that doesn’t mean that there shouldn’t be any, we’re just on low incomes and we have no extra budget to cover all the humongous expenses a hotel has.
A lamp is a small and cheap item of course but when you add up all these small costs it becomes a great one and priorities must be set.
Second, the shower hook is something that we’ll fix it as soon as possible. It’s a small cost but as we explained there are priorities with tough budgets.

Third, the towels are always available for everyone, the sea towels you specifically asked are something that is not provided by default from our hotel (check our amenities at the Online Tour Operators or at your local Tour Agent) and despite that fact the girls at the reception really wanted to assist you and managed to get some for you.

Lastly, the breakfast if it’s not included in your rate plan it’s sold separately at any time of your stay. We’re sorry if there was any other misunderstanding.

We acknowledge that there are many things to improve, thanks to your observations we can improve ourselves and become better for our visitors.

We hope to see you again, next time you visit Rhodes, either you stay at Venus Hotel, or not, please pay a visit and ask for me personally (the manager), Dorothea Mavraki.

Best Regards,
Dorothea Mavraki, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
770.3 mi away
Noufara City Hotel
Noufara City Hotel
#116 of 126 in Rhodes Town
92 reviews
770.0 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#71 of 126 in Rhodes Town
238 reviews
770.0 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#90 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
770.0 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#108 of 126 in Rhodes Town
371 reviews
769.9 mi away
Hotel Vassilia
Hotel Vassilia
#84 of 126 in Rhodes Town
65 reviews
770.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#38 of 126 in Rhodes Town
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Address: Nikiforou Mandilara 50, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £26 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 1700 ft from the Old Town in Rhodes, just 165 ft from Elli Beach, Hotel Venus features a swimming pool and a restaurant. Guests are offered a buffet breakfast. Rooms at the family-run Venus Hotel are airy with a lot of sunlight. All units are equipped with air conditioning and a TV. Each unit includes a private bathroom with a shower and amenities. All rooms feature a balcony. The bar serves drinks, ice cream and light meals throughout the day. The hotel features a lounge room with a satellite TV. Guests have free access to the roof garden that has seating space. The staff at the 24-hour front desk can arrange car rental and offer information on attractions such as the Valley of the Butterflies at 9 miles. The Aquarium of Rhodes is within 1000 ft and the Madraki Harbor is a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing