We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Helpful ! Highly recommanded !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Florida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Florida Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Friendly & Helpful ! Highly recommanded !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Florida Hotel is a family owned hotel and all of them are super !
Can't just using the words to tell but just feel it !
Umberlla will be ready for you if it's going to rain !
Beach towel and sun block will be provided also !
Amazing !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawdy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
88
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I also showed up late at night to find the hotel operator waiting for me outside. Yvonne provided useful information throughout my stay, with information on buses, tickets, ferries, laundry, etc. All the information were correct, and time saving. She also offered to cancel my prepaid breakfast allowing me to purchase breakfast outside the hotel. I think she offered this because there were few of us staying there at the time.

The hotel was very clean, but had basic accommodations in a large room. The only problem area would be the floor in the bathroom getting wet after every shower, which can pose a fall risk. There is no elevator. The location is ideal in the midst of a busy section of the "New" Rhodes Town, a short 5-10 minutes from many activities. The gelato store around the corner is excellent!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Jones32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
271 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived at Hotel Florida at 11:30 pm tired and exhausted from traveling all day. The taxi pulled up at the end of a pedestrian pathway and as we approached the steps, a petite, lovely lady was standing outside waiting for us and greeted us by name with a sincere handshake. She INSISTED on grabbing my carry on and we followed her up to our room via a couple flights of stairs. After a very brief orientation, she left us to collapse saying, "We will talk in the morning after your breakfast, sleep well."
The room was exactly what we expected for a 2 star establishment. Not as small as many, but not huge, with a tile floor. Sparsely, but very adequately furnished with basic furniture: a very large, low, comfortable bed with a European type mattress, 2 bedside stands with drawers, 2 luggage holders, a wardrobe, a long mirror on the wall with a handy shelf beneath it, a dorm size refrigerator with a few dishes and utensils, (there is a microwave available on the main floor) and screened French doors opening onto a balcony overlooking a couple church steeples, the roofs of the city with views of the steel water tanks taking advantage of solar energy and an abundant supply of entertaining feral cats. We left the doors open for the entire 4 days and nights, taking advantage of a constant cool breeze, never requiring a/c and only drawing the curtain during the heat of the day. The bathroom was very small, but adequate. We noticed immediately that everything was immaculately clean and the daily room service was well attended.
We opted to pay extra for the breakfast. It was served in the pleasant, first floor room adjacent to the reception area. We enjoyed the breeze from the open windows as well as the consistently great coffee, fresh sandwich rolls with sesame seeds, cold meats, cheese, juice boxes, yogurt, fresh fruit and fresh pastries.
It was the most convenient location! We just walked around the corner to rent a car to drive the west coast hitting all the sights Yvonne drew on a map, we walked less than 3 minutes to an ATM machine, we walked to the medieval Old Town and to New Town, walked to the bus stop to catch the bus to Lindos, walked to local tavernas, as well as walked to the beach area. Couldn't be easier.
Yvonne called us a cab to take us to the port to catch a ferry. When it came at 12:30 Midnight, Yvonne escorted us to the cab, gave us hugs and stood on the curb waving as we pulled away.
I booked this budget B&B based on the reviews. I knew it was a 2 Star, the price reflected this, and it was exactly what we expected. It was special because it met all our needs, was immaculate, and having Yvonne to look after us with 5 Star service was a bonus. ( Oh, by the way, when we checked in and out of the luxury Marriott Hotel in Athens, no one greeted us on the street, or walked us out to our cab, and no one gave us a hug and waved until we were out of sight. Also, it was much quieter than the Marriott due to its location on a blocked off street. )
In other words, it surpassed our expectations because we had realistic expectations concerning a 2 Star B&B. What a find!

Room Tip: We requested and enjoyed the Extra Large Double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A very welcoming and friendly place. The lady (Yvonne) who runs it goes to great lengths to try to ensure that every visitor is made to feel welcome. This includes hand-drawn,detailed maps giving a host of information and recommendations for restaurants of all kinds.
This isn't a luxury hotel, but is clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, being in the heart of the new town but on a quiet street that not even motorbikes are allowed down.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanandScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a two star establishment, but the hospitality of the hosts made it a five star place to stay in Rhodes!

When you first arrive, you will be underwhelmed by the look of the hotel - it looks just like any other aging building in town. However, once you check in, and if you are observant, you will notice the little things that make the difference - the rooms are impeccably clean, there is everything you need readily on hand and the location is fantastic.

The hosts have thought of everything, from laundry detergent (in case you need to rinse out your ice cream stained top?) to inflatable beds for the beach to hand drawn maps showing you how to get to the best local fish restaurant. The hospitality makes staying here so different from the thousands of other overcrowded tourists hotels in town, it is like spending time with your favourite relatives who have looked forward to having you for ages.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony. It is lovely to sit outside in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We've been to this B&B in the very earth of the new town,near several restaurants,shops and bars that are all around,however we have been really really disappointed as soon as we came into our room because it was nothing special at all, it was nothing different from other typical Greek studios! We expected to find something cozier and well finished instead of that austerity! The owner is nice but this does not justify at all the fantastic reviews we read. Furthermore there is a lot of noise due to the multitude of people hanging around... Really disappointed. The room is clean but we expected to find it neater, as we found elsewhere! It does not deserve a coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sand706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

First up, this is a two-star hotel.....so if you are looking for five-star, beach-front luxury, turn away now. If however you are looking for a well-located, clean, welcoming, quiet (it's on a picturesque pedestrianised street), no-frills place to spend a few nights in Rhodes, this is it. Within easy walking distance to the trendy bars and cafes of the New Town and a 10/15-minute walk to the OldTown; on the bus route to the airport. Hostess Yvonne could not have been more helpful or friendly. Rooms have all you could want: fridge, kettle, mosquito pads, clean linen, decent bathroom and towels, ceiling fan, balcony with line for your beach towels - the room even comes with pegs! - and good wifi connection. Over the years, I have stayed at numerous small hotels while transiting Rhodes, this is undoubtedly the best and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Note: the AC is an additional cost; as it was we found open windows and the ceiling fan more than adequate.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter. If you're a very light sleeper pack some earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#25 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#18 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#38 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Hotel

Property: Florida Hotel
Address: 5 Amaradou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Florida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing