We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofia Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Pension
Ranked #9 of 53 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Owner of the pension is very helpful and pleasent.
Location is very good.
Rooms are clean and cozy.
Breakfast is so basic but it is filling.
Pension has no garden or a sea view but has a large balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurbaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    38
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

After arriving with no luggage (lost by the airline) hostess Sofia provided toiletries to see us through. That was but one example of her warm hospitality - she and her husband were fantastic, and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room (ground floor) was quite small but freshly decorated and spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect - inside the old town walls, close to everything but off the tourist track so quiet.
Taxis CAN drop off and pick up from close to the pension, so no need to worry about a long walk over cobblestones with your bags.
I would recommend Sofia's to anyone travelling to Rhodes

Room Tip: Ground floor room is a little small. Can be noisy at night from motor scooters but with window shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Once I decide to go again to Rhodos I will go again and again to stay in that simple ellegant pansion . The hospitality is a thing you can feel . I felt that i am at home not in a hotel . The breakfast is wonderfull , the roof garden is a place where you can have your morning coffe with peace of mind .The owner of the place is a lady with real greek spirit . Thanks for her .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

In this price range (~ 60 Euros including breakfast), this was perfect. The location is perfect -- inside the old town, near great restaurants, yet quiet. Sofia's has a stunning roof terrace with views over the roofs of the old city to the Grandmaster's Palace etc. The courtyard/terrace is beautiful, with many flowers and cactuses under a roof of grapevines. Here you'll be served a simple but good breakfast (boiled egg, curd, peach, honey, cheese, ...). Best of all, the place is very welcoming. The owner, who speaks great English, made us feel very welcome right away, offering coffee and loukoumades in the quiet and beautiful inner courtyard. She also drove us to the port the next morning. The one thing you'd not come here for is the interior design of the rooms (well, at least ours), which looked a bit like a grandma's with bad taste. On the upside though, the place is impeccably clean, including the small but modern bathroom. Overall, we felt fully at home and regretted that we had to leave after just one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverPasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 2 days at the beginning of our travels and immediately booked for the last night as well. Sofia made us very welcome despite the late hour of our arrival. The rooms were large comfortable and clean. Breakfast on the roof terrace under the grape vines was a wonderful way to start the day, and also sitting on the roof at the end of the day with the view right across Rhodes old Town is the best way to end the day. Sofia greeted us like old friends when we returned 2 weeks later before we flew home. Perfectly situated to get boats/ferries from the harbour (5 mins walk) and a 20-30 min taxi ride to Airport. Very reasonably priced - What could be better?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocaholic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed last week and it was a fantastic week! Sofia is just lovely and cant do enough for you. Her garden is beautiful - a real oasis, we were only sorry that the grapes werent ripe yet, otherwise we would have had them with breakfast. Breakfast is perfect - we had all sorts, including omelettes, rice pudding, home made cakes, fresh bread, yogurt and honey, meats, cheese, boiled eggs, peaches - the list goes on. The room we had was large and had its own table outside the room. We cant recommend this place highly enough if you want to be based in the old town and personally we wouldnt have wanted to be based anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 8 has its own table and chairs outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Sofia Pension is a find in Old Town Rhodes. Amazingly clean and beautifully decorated rooms with modern bathrooms and air conditioning. Sofia serves a very nice breakfast on the outdoor patio/porch under a shady grape arbor. And the rooms are very reasonably priced!

A few minutes walk from the Marine Gate entrance, and from Socratous Street, the main shopping street, but it is hard to find on the back windy alley-roads of old town. Booking.com has it placed wrong on their map as well, adding to the confusion. Once found, it is easy to get around! HIghly recommend Sofia and her Pension!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. We stayed on the patio level which was convenient for using the outdoor sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzoPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#36 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Attiki
Hotel Attiki
#1 of 53 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Pension

Property: Sofia Pension
Address: 27 Aristofanous St. Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sofia Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Pension Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing