We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Pension.”
Review of Sofia Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Pension
Ranked #10 of 54 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Homely Pension.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Sofia was very warm and kind. Nothing was too much trouble. Well appointed rooms with a peaceful ambiance. Excellent value. A lovely place to stay in the old town of Rhodes. Just a bit tricky to find but people are happy to direct you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    39
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sophia met us (3 women) at the ferry along with 4 others from Brazil. Unfortunately she couldn't fit all 7 adults and all our luggage in her little car. She barely had room take our luggage to her hotel. She asked us to walk and meet her there. It was within walking distance and if we get lost, "ask anybody, everybody knows me," she said.

It was such a nice day, we decided to walk, explore, and get our bearings of the town. Unfortunately for us, not everybody knew Sophia and her hotel. Old town is very dense and confusing with no street signs. It took us over 1.5 hours, asking multiple people, and going around in circles. It was very frustrating. When we finally found it, we were so relieved!

Don't try to find the hotel on your own, you'll get lost. We all did. Have her come back for you. In hindsight, we should've taken her offer to come back for us. We thought it was really hidden.

The room was clean but a very snug with 3 twin beds, 3 women, and 3+ large luggage. The bathroom was decent, small shower, good water pressure, but I sure wish the towel racks weren't 7ft high. The wifi was good at least and the small fridge kept our water cold during the heat wave in Sept.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank power_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed with my friend in Rhodes old town at Sofias Pension hotel and felt like i was staying with family. Sofia is an absolute delight, she is warm, friendly, helpful and informative about the island. She provides a great breakfast on the rooftop with great views of the old town. The rooms are very clean, neat and tucked away in an alley this is very traditional and classic living. You walk past ruins in the evening to get home and it is quite magical. Sofia was so kind to drive us to the port at 6.30am and we certainly will return to this hotel and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Downstairs is great! But upstairs fine too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koula123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Cosy place in the heart of old city. Friendly environment, Breakfast under grape tree. You feel like you are one of the native residents of medieval city. Madam Sofia is wonderfull person with fluent english and smile on her face al to time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolcu1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Owner of the pension is very helpful and pleasent.
Location is very good.
Rooms are clean and cozy.
Breakfast is so basic but it is filling.
Pension has no garden or a sea view but has a large balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurbaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After arriving with no luggage (lost by the airline) hostess Sofia provided toiletries to see us through. That was but one example of her warm hospitality - she and her husband were fantastic, and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room (ground floor) was quite small but freshly decorated and spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect - inside the old town walls, close to everything but off the tourist track so quiet.
Taxis CAN drop off and pick up from close to the pension, so no need to worry about a long walk over cobblestones with your bags.
I would recommend Sofia's to anyone travelling to Rhodes

Room Tip: Ground floor room is a little small. Can be noisy at night from motor scooters but with window shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Once I decide to go again to Rhodos I will go again and again to stay in that simple ellegant pansion . The hospitality is a thing you can feel . I felt that i am at home not in a hotel . The breakfast is wonderfull , the roof garden is a place where you can have your morning coffe with peace of mind .The owner of the place is a lady with real greek spirit . Thanks for her .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 126 in Rhodes Town
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#29 of 126 in Rhodes Town
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#44 of 126 in Rhodes Town
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Attiki
Hotel Attiki
#2 of 54 in Rhodes Town
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Pension

Property: Sofia Pension
Address: 27 Aristofanous St. Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sofia Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sofia Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Pension Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing