We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Sofia Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofia Pension
Ranked #11 of 53 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a very well located pension in the heart of the old town but away from street noise. It is easy walking distance to everything.

The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms adequate and all is kept spotlessly clean. The rooms are serviced every day. Breakfast for purchase is available if you want it.

The only downside to these rooms are two things - one of them a major issue for us;

1. Although there is a small kitchenette, there is no cutlery, glasses, plates or anything and the electricity supply in it did not work so we could only use the one working plug in the room to charge phones and anything else.

2. The major issue for us was the amount of light coming into the room in the very early morning, about 5 am, could not go to sleep! There were two windows very high up in our room that we could not darken by any means as well as a window in the door! Ahh! This is not the case for all rooms BTW.

Get some blinds or curtains and this place is excellent. We were so tired we overslept at the next hotel in Crete!

Room Tip: Do not get room 8 which has very high windows you cant darken!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Sofia was great! She picked us up from the ferry, generously gave us a few samples of her home cooking, made us a lovely breakfast (€5) and good tips on what to see and do.
The Hotel is in a great location, close to good restaurants, bars, shopping, attractions and so on.
Rooms are very clean & comfortable.
Thanks Sofia, you're a wonderful host.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Grubber76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Lovely little B&B - the location was perfect, right in the middle of the old town so all major sights within 10 minutes walk. Rooms were tastefully decorated and air conditioned and very clean. Pick up from ferry port possible (it's only 15 minutes walk but the old town is a warren of streets and easy to get lost in).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisTreleaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent 3 nights in Sofia's lovely quiet and comfortable B&B as the last leg of our honeymoon in the Greek Islands. We thought the price very reasonable. Though we had booked through booking.com rather than directly with Sofia, I emailed her after reading other reviewers' comments about it being tricky to find and she kindly offered to collect us from the ferry port. She provided a little home made cake on arrival and there were tea/coffee facilities in the room. The continental breakfast was substantial and when I was still under the weather the next morning from the ferry Sofia went out of her way to give me camomile tea and yoghurt with a homemade sweet grape syrup which did help settle my stomach! Sofia also obligingly found out about the opening times for the Acropolis at Lindos for us (not normally open on Mondays but it is during October which worked out well for us!) I saw mixed responses on the Trip Advisor forum about whether to stay in Lindos or Rhodes and I was glad we decided to base ourselves in old town Rhodes and take the bus on a day trip to Lindos. A lovely B&B with a friendly hostess. Old town Rhodes is a fascinating place and we would love to come back here and stay at Sofia's pension again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It was our last day in Rhodes, and we wanted to be close to the port to catch the ferry the next day. We had seen this place earlier in our stay, but they were full. The owner seemed very nice as we passed by the pension often during our sightseeing. On our last day, she had a room for the 3 of us, and it was perfect.

The day of our departure, Sofia had breakfast ready for us early. She knew we had to get to the ferry, so she offered to drive us there! We made it to the ferry in plenty of time, and did not have to drag our bags over the rough street! Thank you Sofia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in October. This was really comfortable, the rooms were nice traditional rooms. The host was really helpful. We booked room only and breakfast was available at an extra charge which we did not take up but Sofia still brought us a coffee and home made fairy cake each morning.
It was in a quiet location no music or traffic noise.
The courtyard/ communal breakfast seating area was full of beautiful flowers and there is a seating area on the roof terrace with nice tables and chairs and also a washing line should you need to use it.
We would stay again and recimmend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Sofia was very warm and kind. Nothing was too much trouble. Well appointed rooms with a peaceful ambiance. Excellent value. A lovely place to stay in the old town of Rhodes. Just a bit tricky to find but people are happy to direct you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gdonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 126 in Rhodes Town
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Domus Studios
Domus Studios
#24 of 53 in Rhodes Town
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Of Old Town
Knights Of Old Town
#77 of 126 in Rhodes Town
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Antica
Casa Antica
#3 of 53 in Rhodes Town
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Pension

Address: 27 Aristofanous St. Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sofia Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofia Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Pension Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing