We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, perfect service”

Archodiko Dimitris Tavern
Ranked #82 of 433 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, perfect service”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The waiter made recommendations which were perfect, both for food and wine. We are real foodies, and this did not disappoint. The father and son team were warm and friendly and helpful. The building is ancient and atmospheric - ask about the history. It is tucked away so not frantic. You don't feel that this is "touristy". GO.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cariskeith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    56
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'I want to make you happy'”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Ate the best gyros ever here (as a snack even though it was not on the menu; we were told we could have anything we wanted)
Great atmosphere, friendly staff.
Nice wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RalfHorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere with a good owner...”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and very kind staff&boss. We were very well welcomed even though we had only two small dishes as lunch for three people. Food especially calamari is top quality for a fan. Outstanding spot in Rhodes ... Thanks Dimitri:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haluk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant taverna with lots of old Greek charm.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Tucked away up a side alley upon the very busy main Sokratous street of Rhodes Old Town we originally had a quick drink during the day before deciding to come back in the evening. It was a good decision with a unique old Greek charm about the place, excellent home cooked food and very friendly service. The only suprise was that it was practically empty (although it was at the start of the tourist season). I thoroughly recommend this place to anybody for either an evening meal or just a drink during the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr Accurat e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old world charm with genuine hospitality”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The location away from the humdrum of the village squares is an attraction in itself. However, it was the food to which one goes to a restaurant. We wanted to commence this vacation with Greek basics - moussaka and calamari combined with of course a Greek salad. If a restaurant can't get this right then there is no where else to go.
Dimitris and his family do the basics very well and this will entice us back to sample further Greek delicacies. Our meal was complemented by attentive service without smothering you and one could dine at your leisure. The restaurant is very atmospheric. Having experienced many restaurants on an extended holiday this restaurant provided food which was fresh and cooked to perfection at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archodiko Dimitris Tavern also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes, Dodecanese
 

Been to Archodiko Dimitris Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing