We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Great Value”
Review of Moschos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moschos Hotel
Ranked #45 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Great Value”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed for two nights when arriving in rhodes town for a greek island hopping holiday. The hotel is well positioned in the business/shopping area and a short walk from the bus terminal. the ferry terminal is about 20 mins walk away but all down hill so even with a backpack it isn't too bad. the rooms are very clean, tidy and quiet. the air con worked well.
worth negotiating breakfast as it was excellent with egg, ham, greek yoghurt & honey, breads (only croissants had seen better days!).
I would def stay for a couple of nights again. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    58
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
68
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Budget hotel in the center of Rhodes New Town walking/shopping area, close to everything: 5-10 min. walk to marina, Old Town, Elli Beach, children’s playgrounds, etc.; 2-3 min. to the bus station (service to Lindos); across the street from a beer garden; and next door to cafés. Hotel staff is helpful and very friendly, and will provide directions and recommendations upon request. No frills, but for the combination of price, location, and cleanliness, it would be hard to beat the Moschos.

Despite the budget price (and the budget backpacker- and party-seeking crowd), we were not bothered by noise, or any other disturbances during our stay. Booked a triple room, but got a quad room facing the rear of the building. It had 2 single beds pushed together and bunk-beds. We could sit outside on the small balcony and enjoy a drink, but there is no view as it looked directly onto the walls of the next building. Spotlessly clean and well-maintained, with A/C, refrigerator, and a small TV (didn’t use it, but saw English-language programs in the lobby restaurant). The bathroom was clean and functional, but had some drain flies, which was slightly annoying.

There is free wi-fi with decent speed available in the lobby, but it doesn’t reach the rooms. Not particularly wheelchair- or stroller-friendly, as there are a few steps at the entrance. There is a small elevator that can probably fit 4 people, but if you have lots of luggage or people in your party, you may need to use the stairs or make multiple trips. We did not purchase anything from the lobby restaurant, but there are drinks and light snacks available, and they also serve breakfast. We found great restaurants within a ten-minute walk from the hotel (recommend Tamam in the New Town, and Castello House in the Old Town). Amazing price for the location and cleanliness, to say nothing of the friendly and helpful staff - we would definitely stay here again. Paid 45 Euro per night on Booking.com (did not include breakfast).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel - there is none of the front-street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moschos_hotel, Manager at Moschos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your thorough review. We strive to offer a pleasant stay for our guests and we are always pleased to hear from happy customers. We sincerely hope you can visit us again.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Going to Symi for 28 years always make me overnight at Rhodos coming and leaving. I tried already several hotels in Rhodos. I have to admit thta Moschos is one of the best I tried just to overnight at Rhodos and in september going bach to Symi I will certainly spend my overnight at Moschos

Room Tip: If you can just overnight at Rhodos this is a very nice hotel. Poor breakfast but beside that very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULCORINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moschos_hotel, Manager at Moschos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Paul&Corina,

we wish to thank you for your kind words. We try to make the stay as pleasant for our guests no matter if they stay for one or ten nights. We hope to have you again for longer time.

With kind regards,

Hotel Moschos Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My 20 year old grandaughter and myself spent 2 nights of our 14 day holiday in town at the Moschos.They could not have been more helpful.
It was clean,comfortable,and surprisingly quiet.Double glazed windows and very heavy curtains block out the noise and the 24 hr lights outside from the H&M store across the road.
A great continental breakfast was included in the price,with the most perfect softly boiled eggs.
As for the price ! This all costs less than at the local youth hostel.
If your on a budget (like myself) Go there,you won't be dissapointed.
As for myself,I'll be back as soon as i can.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grannygrewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moschos_hotel, Manager at Moschos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hallo,

thank you very much for your kind and honest review. We hope to have you again as a guest in the future.
With kind regards,

Hotel Moschos Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Liked the friendly staff, although the manageress comes across a bit like Anne Robinson, ie stern. I had a recently renovated room which was good, particularly liked the double glazed windows as the road out front has a lot of noisy motor bikes on it. Disappointed by very small tv, only had local channels but it did show movies in English with Greek subtitles late at night. Also no fridge in room but was assured this was a short term problem due to recent renovation and had use of main fridge behind the bar. Shame they did not replace the pillows on the renovation as mine were like a sack of spuds.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may be better having a room at the side or rear of the property. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moschos_hotel, Manager at Moschos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again in our hotel and hopefully pleasantly surprise you. Our TV renovation project is onwards hoping to have installed new modern tvs throughout the rooms during 2013. Unfortunately satellite TV is still available only to the bar area, however we are thinking of an upgrade as part of our renovations.

Thank you for your honest comments which help us to improve our offered services.

Manager Hotel Moschos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Clean and comfortable - not luxurious - rooms, very friendly and helping people, and as central as it can be.
The hotel was ideal for my 4day stay in Rhodes town, very close to the bus station, the marina, the port and only 5min from the beach

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moschos_hotel, Manager at Moschos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Good location, very accessible to the town and the room was clean but that's all it has to offer. 35€ a night was unreasonable for a hotel that would not include air-conditioning, bathroom that was so small the door wouldn't open fully and required side stepping to get in and out, bed that squeaked with so much as the smallest movement, rubbery breakfast is not usually included in price, no pamphlets or tourist information on the town and internet connection was so poor tourist research was virtually impossible. Save your money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKotaridis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moschos_hotel, Owner at Moschos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for pointing out its great indeed location and cleaniness. Our stuff works its best to keep the hotel in the best possible condition for the clients.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the price of the room. the truth is that our prices are most competitive, and it seems unlikely to find something less than 35Euros per night in a hotel in Rhodes during summer high season.

As far as the airconditioning goes, I am afraid there is a misunderstanding. There is air conditioning inclusive for every room in the hotel. The controller is to be handed to the guests in the reception, so I cannot comment on why you mention not having aircondition in your room.

We always try our best to provide our guests with the most convenient stay and help them discover Rhodes island. So I can only suggest if you ever stay with us again and need some information, ask for it, and we will kindly provide this to you.

With kind regards,

Haroula Kornaropoulou, Manager Hotel Moschos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#104 of 127 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#69 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#35 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#42 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#66 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#63 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moschos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moschos Hotel

Property: Moschos Hotel
Address: Ethelondon Dodecanission 5, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moschos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moschos, located in the center of the town of Rhodes (Rhodos) Island, could be the perfect place for a comfortable and pleasant stay.The commercial center of Rhodes (Rhodos) and famous coast of Elli are only a few minute stroll away from the hotel. The port of Rhodes is 500m away from the Hotel, while the Old Town of Rhodes with the sights are less than 300m away. Some of the most important sights you can see in the Medieval Town are: the Castle of Knights, the Museum and the Medieval Castle.The hotel in Rhodes Town was recently renovated and is now providing all modern comforts to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Moschos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moschos Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing