We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights for our Wedding Anniversary during the end of May / Early June in a private pool room on the 7th floor.

Rhodes is one of the very few Greek Islands we hadn't got round to visiting so when I saw the fantastic reviews for this hotel and the private pool rooms I had to give it a try.

The hotel is exactly as it looks in the pics - modern, plush and minimalist in design - a lovely place albeit really lacking in atmosphere (don't know if this is just because it's still early on in the season).

I was very happy with the room choice. Private pool rooms get the sun on the deck around 2 at that time of year so we would head down to the pool for the first half of the day then retreat upstairs and enjoy the rays until 6.30pm and onwards. The plunge pool is heated but we're not talking hot tub temperatures - just enough to take the chill off.

We were on a b&b rate. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and Christos, Kornelia and the waiting staff are a joy to wake up to :-)

Food available from the pool restaurants, buffet restaurant or the 2 A La Cartes. We enjoyed a huge club sandwich for 10 euros at lunchtimes and it's plenty for 2 people. Evening buffet costs 20 euros each. They have a selection of special dishes each night (in addition to the large buffet spread) - these cost an extra 8 euros and are served to you waiter style. We didn't bother paying the extra as we felt there was more than enough choice on the buffet.

We enjoyed the Lobster Dinner which takes place on a Thursday in the A La Carte Restaurant. It's approx 7 delicious courses and cost 52 euros each (if you're on b&b). A little bit more than we'd normally pay but we wanted a special meal for our anniversary and we certainly got it ! Many thanks to the waiting staff up there for finding me a lovely vase for my bouquet of roses - you guys are a credit to Atrium.

We saw live music entertainment once on a Wednesday night in the lobby bar, but apart from that you make your own here. The Surf Bar in front of the hotel has a good atmosphere - especially the 3 nights Time Machine are playing. The main strip in Ixia is approx 20 mins walk or 5 euros in taxi if wearing heels and Rhodes Town about 40 mins walk (not well lit in some places after dark) or 8 euros one way. Taxis are plentiful at the front of hotel (rates are shown on the board at the rank) and there are buses running along the coast road too.

Favourite Ixia Restaurant recommendations: Villa Di Mare, Romeos & Le Gourmet. Cheaper options but still great food at Olympias & Elysee.

Sebastians make the best cocktails & liquer coffees and the owner Lazarus is a lovely guy. Visit Caballeros late on for good music and bonkers bar staff.

Had a late flight home and check out was lunchtime but wasn't prepared to pay 80 euros to keep hold of the room until 8pm. Showers, shower gel, towels & hairdryer are freely available to use at the Spa.

Example of Hotel Drinks Prices:

Small Bottle Mythos 2.90, Large 3.90, Local Wine 5.50 (small bottle / 1 large glass), Local Bottle of wine 15.00, Liquer Coffee 6.50, Classic Cocktails 7.80.

Hired a car through Majestic at the desk in the lobby. Offers on at the moment - buy 3 days get 1 free so we paid 120 euros for a Peugeot 107 for 4 days. Cars are brand new.

Visited Lindos (Acropolis closed on Mondays) which is quite pretty and a few of the beaches on the East Coast (Anthony Quinn beach is an absolute must but take sea shoes).

Ventured into Rhodes Old Town a few times - nice to walk round shops on a cooler day or at night. BEWARE don't order any food or drink before finding out prices first. We 'enjoyed' a couple of liquer coffees in the square and got fleeced for 16 euros, then ventured into a little music bar down a back street and asked for 2 beers - got given 2 Sol (imported) beers and got our pants firmly ripped down again to the tune of 14 euros ! Never returned and the local Ixia bar staff seemed quite disturbed on hearing of our experience.

To summarise: A luxurious, modern, clean hotel with hardworking, genuinely friendly and helpful staff.

My suggestions:

Al-Fresco Dining / Drinks - I would have liked to have been able to sit out and enjoy a drink outside to take in the beautiful sunsets. The pool bar shuts early so at present everyone seems to make a mad scramble through a door of the buffet restaurant each night out onto the roof to take pictures etc. Seems a shame.

The beach - If you walk along the beach front to Ixia town you'll notice that all the other large hotels (Sheraton, Amathus etc) have their own lovely landscaped area of beach to enjoy. Atrium Platinum does not. The beach available for hotel guests to use leaves a lot to be desired and I'm not even going to mention what was lying there one afternoon as it's too upsetting. After all the attention to detail that's been put into the hotel you'd think that surely Atrium could have a go at cleaning this area up ?

Probably wouldn't return here - only purely because Rhodes just isn't for us, but should anyone be thinking of visiting Ixia then this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank babygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
There are newer reviews for Atrium Platinum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the atrium platinum for one week end of may/ start of june. We traveled with our 9 year old son. From the moment we arrived we were delighted with the hotel and service. The hotel is clean, modern and spacious and by far the best in the resort. Our room contained 2 bedrooms ( one with kingsize plus bed and the other with 2 singles )and 2 bathrooms and a balcony. It meant our son could have his own room. We couldn't fault the rooms, even the beds were comfy - we want one for home. We stayed BB. The breakfast was vast with a huge selection of quality foods. We often ate by the pool for lunch and again good quality food. There was not a lot of children at the hotel - but it meant the 2 or 3 children of similar age around the pool quickly became firm friends. The kids club was more of a child minding service - our son and his friend could attend as and when he or we wanted ( it was great to get him out of the sun for couple of hours).

What makes this hotel by far the best we have ever stayed at was the outstanding service we received from the staff. They we r pleasant and could not do enough to help us. - but not in an over bearing way. The restaurant manger was always at breakfast and always greeted our son with a "morning finlay" and a high five!!! He ran a very good team.

We ate in Ixia - 10 min walk or Rhodes old town €10 in taxi. Never had a bad meal. We can recommend villa de mere in Ixia - although not ideal menu for children that only want pizza or chips. Da Romeo in ixia and rustico in Rhodes old town were also excellent.

Fab hotel with 6 star service

We are we sad to leave but heading for airport now

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank ScottishBird79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear valued Guests,
We are very pleased to read your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa.

We will share your comments with the entire team. We are pleased to receive such positive feedback which gives us the initiative to aim even higher in customer service.

Once again, thank you for posting your review, we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Katja Kougras
Guest Relations Executive
One island, three destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent 4 nights at Atrium Platinum and had a great time.
My wife and I have a rule that we never return to the same hotel - i think we both agree that Atrium is going to be a delightful exception... Atirum is a new hotel with wonderful and spacious rooms, immaculate service and friendly hospitality. We booked a HB vacation so we were fortunate to enjoy fresh fruits and vegetables and a wide selection of local Greek delicacies. Don't miss out on the quiet and serene Spa facilities. We highly recommend you to book your holiday to Atrium Platinum right away!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much bigger than regular rooms
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eransan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear valued Guests,

Thank you for visiting the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa for your recent holiday and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking and enjoyed our Atrium Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Atrium Platinum in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Katja Kougras
Guest Relations Executive
One island, three destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Atrium Platinum for a fortnight in a double room with sea view. We were on a half-board basis.

There was a feeling of space in this hotel. Our room was large, the bathroom (with jacuzzi bath, shower over the bath) was a reasonable size, the reception area was very big with a high ceiling, and the dining room had floor to ceiling windows overlooking the sea and Turkish coastline. Even the corridors were wide, though it has to be said rather bare and a little gloomy during the day when some of the lights were switched off.

We found the service to be very good - the bellboys, receptionists, barman, restaurant manager and staff were all efficient and friendly, precisely what we want from a holiday hotel. For example, my wife telephoned Reception at 11 o'clock in the evening on our first night to request a different type of pillow and the pillows were delivered 5 minutes later. In fact, the service was better overall than other, similar level holiday hotels where we've stayed over the last couple of years in Madeira, Crete and Turkey, even though staffing levels didn't seem particularly high. (Sorry, Tripadvisor, I haven't reviewed all the hotels we've stayed in.)

A few words about the buffet dinner, where according to the menu outside the restaurant you help yourself to starters and desserts but have your choice of main course served to you at the table. In fact, you could help yourself to anything from the buffet, which included "main courses", and these were in addition to whatever was served to you. Sometimes we chose a main course to be served to us, sometimes we didn't if we preferred the choice of buffet food. It's advisable to look at the buffet first before choosing. A previous reviewer commented on meat or fish being dry, and occasionally we found this to be the case, but we then selected other items. In any event, I put on 3 kg during our stay!

The gym was OK (a cross trainer, 2 running machines, bike, weights, mats for floor exercises) and my wife described the outdoor swimming pool as "cold but superb". The indoor pool and steam room were part of the spa, and their use was either free for guests who booked a treatment or, annoyingly, around 10 euros per day for those who didn't.

The location suited us. We could walk along the sea/coastal road into Rhodes Town or alternatively take a bus (1.60 euros per person each way and very frequent). We liked the Old Town, which was surprisingly large, my wife enjoyed looking around the shops in the New Town, we also visited Lindos (I can recommend the donkey ride up the hill for 5 euros but remember to ask "how much?" ) and took a boat trip to Symi island. (The boat owners on the harbour are prepared to negotiate outside high season if you speak to them direct rather than go through a travel agent. We were offered a reduction from 23 euros per person to 15 euros, which I was about to accept when my wife proposed 13 euros. Deal!)

On a more general note, Rhodes itself seemed calm despite the economic difficulties facing Greece. There were no strikes while we were there, and tourists of all nationalities seemed to be welcomed. The islanders just wanted the business we bring to their island.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel. Like all hotels, it has its faults (we were sometimes irritated by not having the milk or toiletries replaced in our room, or by the occasionally irregular turndown service) but we had a very good stay. Well worth considering for a holiday, or possibly a business meeting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequent-traveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear valued Guests,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa. Such reviews certainly motivate our team to continue to aim even higher in customer service.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and found our services to your liking. We try to continuously improve our level of service and reviews like yours give us the initiative to strive for excellence in customer service. All aspects of your review will be thoroughly looked into by our Management.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Katja Kougras
Guest Relations Executive
One island, three destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had short holiday in your hotel, just one week but it was excelenet. We spend there realy nice time. Hotel is new and beuatifull, all the staff is very friendly and try to help us with everything. In main restaurant we had every day dinner and breakfest. Breakfest was great, everything what you think they had. For dinner was changed every day buffet and food was realy excelent! Waitterss in restaurant was very kind and friendly. We had realy great time there and we hope that we come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear valued Guests,

thank you for posting such a positive review regarding your recent stay at the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa.

We have shared your comments with all members of staff.

Such comments give us the initiative to keep up the good work and strive for excellence in customer service.

Thank you for choosing the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Katja Kougras
Guest Relations Executive
One island, three destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Postives ...
We love to travel and if I'm totally honest we're not easily pleased. It can be tricky finding a hotel & location that ticks all the right boxes. Atrium Platinum is a new hotel which is modern and contemporary in design. The hotel is immaculately clean with impecable service - nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. There is a wide range of food availble which is as good as any European hotel we've stayed in.
Negatives ...
The hotel is a little quiet in the evenings after dinner bearing in mind we stayed in May which is early season. Although there was entertainment some evenings.
Tip ...
Head down to the surf bar on the beach front where a rock band plays live on Weds, Fri, Sun nights. Good atmosphere and lovely cocktails! I would also recommend using the hotel A La Carte restaurants on the top floor, you can exchange your half board meal in the main dining room and book a table through reception where you will be given €20 per person against the cost of your meal. All in all a fab holiday, we would go back

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying extra, there is also the option to book rooms with a sea view and priva...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela and Davi... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear valued Guests,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the quality of services provided in our hotel.
We have shred your comments with the entire team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Katja Kougras
Guest Relations Executive
One island, three destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had a great vacation. The location is good, the food is excelent but there were some issues with kids. There were only 2 child sitts in the dining room. We found ourselves many times without one. There is no shade in the childrens pool and I have to add that the mini club is rather small and the staff was not very enthusiastic. There was also a problem with the room. We came with two kids, a baby and a 3 year old. The room was very very small because there is a bed instead of a sofa so we had to upgrade the room and added 200 euro.The overall was super. I highly recommand the hotel and we will return. The service in the dining room was amaizing.
The spa is very nice but the treatments are not recommanded.

Room Tip: If you have a baby and another child the room is not big enough
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lib0ss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa.

We were happy to you’re your positive comments related especially to the service and the meal options in our restaurants.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the lack of high chairs. We can assure you that there are more available in the restaurants, we just keep them in storage until needed. We have discussed matters further with our restaurant staff, in order to avoid similar incidents in the near future. The same applies also to the Mini Club staff where some changes will be made very soon.

Again we thank you for your comments and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Katja Kougras
Guest Relations Executive
One island, three destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
38.5 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Platinum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Platinum Hotel

Address: Iliados Street, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £74 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atrium Platinum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 5* Atrium Platinum Resort & Spa is located next to the beachfront and has a direct breathtaking view all over the west coast and the bay of Ixia. Let yourself be enchanted by romantic sunsets as well as relaxing walks along the center of Ixia with various shops and restaurants. Just a step away (3km) of the City center, where once the statue of the Colossus of Rhodes, one of the seven wonders of the ancient world, used to welcome travelers at Mandraki Harbour. The stunning medieval Old Town has been declared as World Heritage Site and is waiting to get discovered by you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atrium Platinum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Platinum Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing