We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,445)
Filter reviews
3,445 results
Traveller rating
2,845
481
90
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,845
481
90
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool pool bar jacuzzi bath guest relations main restaurant sea view lobster night half board excellent hotel the bell boy a la carte restaurants old town breakfast and dinner taxi rank asian restaurant turkey special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
2,155 - 2,160 of 3,445 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is perfect in any way of view! the rooms are totally luxury designed, the view is amazing and the best thing about the hotel is the service from the staff! they make a great job running this hotel, and especially the hotel manager! the food was amazing, we went for HB and it was totally enough for the whole day! the pool is huge and is suitable for children and adults as one! the pool bar has amazing staff and great coctails! the beach is close, the hotel is close to rodos town, amazing mini market and a few restaurants! the only bad thing i saw is that there isnt enough entertainment, but who cares? i guess most of the people arent going there for it (:
from my true and honest experience, this hotel is an amazing for a good vacation!

Room tip: in this hotel, any room is good!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

There is a little bit of room for improvement to make this hotel 5 star every time. We ordered a double room upon booking but when we arrived found 2 single beds. We asked at reception and we were told a 'double' room just means for 2 persons, not necessarily a double bed (even though you offer double or twin rooms when booking). She told us we would only get a double mattress if there was one available- We never got one even though the hotel barely seemed busy.

The food is amazing! However, on the first night we were there we weren't told exactly how the buffet or table service worked. In the main restaurant if you order from the menu the main course is brought to you although this wasn't made clear on our first night and when I asked a different waitress and got an answer our designated waiter was quite sharp and was made to feel like it was my fault for not knowing and for asking another waitress!!

After this hiccup everything else was great- The pool is fantastic, always sunbeds available. The entertainment at the pool bar is fine, especially the greek night on Tuesday- by far the best!!

On 2 occasions we were visited by maids in the evening to check if we needed towels and we got a chocolate too! Was slightly confused why this only happened 2 nights out of 7 though. Again, not quite 5 star service- if you offer this service it needs to happen everyday!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidays2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We travelled as a family at the beginning of August and had booked 5 days at this hotel and 6 days at the sister hotel the palace over near Lindos.
One of our travellers had had a major operation a couple of months ago and I had emailed forward to inform the hotel of this fact.
We had booked 2 x shared pool rooms but after arriving very late at night we found we had been booked into rooms without pools. This meant we could not unpack and they did move us very quickly and efficiently the day after but I was a little disappointed after having emailed forward.
Moving on to more constructive info:-
Plus points:- Beautiful rooms, clean, spacious. The nice thing about the shared pool rooms were that you could look over the main pool area and feel you had some atmosphere of the hotel at the same time as having privacy. Best holiday room I have ever stayed in!!
Fabulous food - we ate in the restaurant a couple of times ( we took B+B) and were delighted with the quality of the fantastic buffet starters and the waiter service mains.
Pool bar staff- wonderful, attentive and remembered what you liked to drink. Sunset cocktails a must!
Little niggles - reception! I think this was only due to other nationalities staying at the hotel not having the level of manners to queue to be seen, so if they were next or not, they would push in. On a couple of occasions I had to really push to be seen. perhaps reception staff should be more aware of who is next in 'line' and make sure they are seen before the others.
In all, a lovely place, near to Rhodes and a great place to properly 'chill'.
Ixia is a short stroll away and there are bars and the usual restaurants/bars in situ

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited the Atrium Platinum from the 7 – 17 August as a family of 4, and travelled with Thomson holidays. The hotel is advertised as a 5 Star.
LOCATION and SURROUNDING AREA
The hotel is located in Ixia on the Northwest coast of Rhodes. This does mean that there is an almost constant breeze/strong breeze coming in off the sea from Turkey, 17 Km away. Out of the 10 days we were there, there was perhaps 1 day with no breeze. It is not too noticeable by the pool, but the on the beach it can be quite strong. The hotel is set back from the main road that runs between Rhodes town, 3km away, and the airport which is about a 20-25 minute drive away. Traffic can be heard within the hotel grounds but it is not intrusive, and most other hotels are closer to the road. The beach is immediately across the road, and can be accessed via a subway at the end of the small path that runs from the hotel to the road. From the hotel to beach will take about 2 -3 min slow walk and is pushchair friendly until you get onto the beach itself. The beach is long, but it is a mainly pebble beach, as stated in all the information we looked at prior to booking. Unlike some of the other hotels on that part of the coast, the Platinum does not have a private beach area although there are sunbeds and umbrellas for hire, 4 Euros for 2 for the day. The beach is very popular with wind and kite surfers. The beach does not look that inviting, but was as clean as can be expected. Once in the sea the waves provide some fun, but there is a fairly strong current pushing you along the beach towards Rhodes town. It can be difficult to get into the sea without beach shoes on as the pebbles make it a challenge, but once in about 2-3 meters then it is a sandy bottom and fine. No good for snorkelling though, you need the other coast for that. There is a water sports hire place a short distance away other than that there is nothing on the beach. Before you cross the road there is a mini supermarket which is open until late and sells all essentials. There are also a number of café’s. You can walk into Rhodes town from the hotel by following the promenade (nothing on it other than a walkway). After about 1.5km the promenade ends and it becomes a compressed dirt track that runs right next to the beach. This track does go up and down a little before emerging onto one of the beaches in Rhodes town itself. There is then about a 200m walk on sand before getting to the pavement into town. It is generally pushchair friendly but those with smaller wheels may struggle on some parts of the track, and all will have to negotiate the short stretch of sand. The hotel advised us it was about an hour’s walk, I would say allow about an hour and a quarter for a stroll into the old town. It is a nice walk. The location of the hotel and airport, combined with the wind from an almost constant direction does mean that landing aircraft do pass over the hotel, again though it was not a problem.
HOTEL
The Platinum is a new hotel; its first season was in 2011.The hotel is a sort of split level affair, with the main reception at the top level and the rooms and pools etc below. It is a large hotel with a spacious feel to it. As some other reviewers have noted, there are areas that have not been completed, but these areas do not resemble a building site, and we did not find this a negative side to the hotel. What has been completed has been done to a high standard. Although the hotel was supposed to be busy, apart from meal times it did not feel crowded due to large open spaces and the general size of the place. UK guests were certainly in the minority during our stay. The bulk of guests appearing to originate from eastern Europe and Israel.

Rooms.
Check in was smooth with no problems. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with all the facilities you would expect. We had 2 x Deluxe Double rooms with sea view. We did e-mail the hotel prior to our departure from the UK, asking for our two rooms to be next to each other. The hotel responded with a few hours saying they would do their best, and we did get rooms next to each other. It is worth mentioning that the sea view for some rooms will look out over some small fields with cows in them before you get to the sea. Some rooms have sea and pool view, but they also get to hear the evening entertainment whether you want to or not, as the entertainment happens around the poolside. It is complete by 23:00. We just had a sea view which is around the corner from the pool and was nice and quiet. The beds are very comfortable and offer a good night’s sleep. Housekeeping was not quite where it should have been on some days, beds not made up properly, surfaces not wiped down and bathroom supplies not replenished. We were also billed for use of the mini bar, which we had not used, although to be fair when I raised the issue with reception, the bill was torn up without question. The evening turn down service was also missed on a few occasions. These were all fairly minor issues, but when put together did not live up to a five star service. We did consider having rooms with a private pool, but at £1200 extra we decided not to. The majority, but not all, of the rooms with private pool are on the lower floors and are overlooked by the floors above. The pools are of a decent size, but if privacy is your thing bear this in mind. They are screened from your neighbour, but not from above. I am presuming that the pools on the upper floors are for the higher spec rooms, and they do look nice. We booked a late checkout room, until 18:00, as we had an evening flight and we were glad we did. If you ask early enough they will let you have the room you are staying in. Leave it too late and you may get moved to a different one.
Dinning
We opted for half board for our stay. The hotel has a number of restaurants. The main one is Archipelagos which is situated on the lobby floor. It is a large venue and although tastefully furnished it can have the feel of a canteen/dining hall when it is busy as the tables are quite close together and people are constantly pushing past. Couples will generally be seated by the windows (quieter) while any family groups are seated in the middle. You can request a window table for four, but the tables are much smaller. On occasion you were shown to a table that was not set up or cleared from the last customers and had sit and watch them clear up and set up. Again not five star for me. It is a more pleasant experience during the quieter periods. The food is excellent with plenty of it and loads of variety. Breakfast has a wide range of choices from salads to full cooked breakfasts and everything in between. There are subtle variations each day over a week for the evening meal depending on the theme. All meals take the form of a buffet self service with the option of selecting from an additional Main Course menu for dinner, although you do not have to. There is a dress code for all the restaurants for men in the evening, where long trousers must be worn. This is enforced and a number of people were refused entry until they changed. There are a number of other restaurants which specialise in Greek and Asian cuisine. I cannot comment on these as we did not try them, but I have no doubt the food would be equally as good. We did try the poolside restaurant (no dress code) which is a more relaxed venue serving pizzas etc and that was fine. There is plenty of food that children will recognise and eat! We did book an early breakfast, 06:30, on one occasion as we were being picked up at 07:00 for an excursion. Breakfast starts at 07:00 until 10:30 with an advertised option of an early continental breakfast between 06:00 – 07:00. This must be booked before 20:00 the previous evening. On arrival at the restaurant it was locked and we were told that early breakfasts were served in the lobby bar opposite. There was no one there so we had go around to reception. While pleasant, reception did not give out the impression that they were aware we had booked an early breakfast. Breakfast consisted of one plate of croissants and one plate of cake and a cup of coffee, nothing else. No orange juice, and when we asked if we could have some we were told it was not usual for orange juice to be served for an early breakfast. However the staff member serving us did manage to find some. There was also no milk served with the coffee and we had to ask again at reception. This was not a pleasant experience and the standard of breakfast and service fell well below what was expected. We spoke with customer relations who listened and said things like that had to go into her daily report. We heard nothing more from the hotel by way of explanation. The hotel needs to clearly define what their interpretation is of a continental breakfast and where it is served. This was made even more frustrating when we were sat around a small table opposite the main restaurant where a continental breakfast was already laid out.
Pool Area
Well laid out with a number of pools flowing into each other. There is a shallow area for kids. There is no lifeguard and you are responsible for your own safety. There is a pool bar serving the standard fare of drinks and hot/cold food which can be served to your sun bed. You also exchange your pool towels here. Given the size of the hotel, the pool area and surround is not massive, but there were always spare sunbeds no matter what the time of day. There is a no reservation policy with sunbeds and this seemed to work well. The sunbed area is split into 2, the pool surround which is tiled and a grassed area a little further back. All areas have the sun for the majority of the day. The grassed area is fine, but certain parts of it have got a lot of ants and the occasional one or two will make it onto the tables. The path to the beach does start from the pool area and is not controlled so anyone can walk up from the road into the pool area. That said we did not notice any non-residents using the pool. The pool temperature was refreshingly cool and did feel slightly cooler than the sea, but once you are in it was fine.
Spa
Located on the ground floor and offers the usual range of treatments. There is also a gymnasium for guests to use. My wife and 15 year old daughter did use the spa for massage treatments and nail manicures. The massage treatments were fine although my wife did end up with quite nasty bruising on the back of her legs as the beds were a bit high to get on and off and she scraped her legs on the back of it. My daughter booked a manicure and nail art. She had grown her nails especially, so when they were filed down to fingertip level she was not impressed. She was even less impressed when she had to remind them she also had nail art booked. She was initially asked to come back later but we could not. The staff member doing the nail art said she could do a flower. By her own admission it was not a good flower and was taken off. When asked if she had any examples of designs, she said no. The end result was that my daughter ended up on her iPod searching Google looking for a design that the staff could do. The staff member then had to work through the online step by step instructions to try and do it. It did not turn out too well and fell well below what was expected. My wife and daughter went back to complain to the spa and to customer relations who listened but nothing was done.
General
This is a nice hotel and we had a pleasant stay but it should and could have been so much better for a five star hotel. All staff without exception were very welcoming and friendly, however present them with an issue to deal with or a problem that was outside of the normal day to day business, then they seem to struggle to deal with it. We raised our issues with them while we were there to allow them to respond and provide an explanation but apart from the mini bar, nothing was done or explained. In general service provided was not bad, but some areas lacked the final touches that you would expect from a five star hotel. The true measure of quality is how a company deals with problems, and the Platinum still has some work to do in this area.

Room tip: We had floor 6 (632 633) nice and quiet. If you have a pool view, then you will probably also have to listen to the evening entertainment, which is fine as it completes by 23:00 and you can sit on your balcony to listen.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank WelshFreebooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at Atrium Platinum. We have stayed in some fabulous 5 star hotels. I know the 5 star rating is subjective, depending where you are in the world, but in our experience this just doesn't compare.

Positives:
1. Food is wonderful, the buffet restaurant is huge, lots of choice and you are greeted each time you visit and are seated.
2. Staff are also lovely, very friendly, especially Antonis and Maria in the Restaurants.
3. Rooms are spacious and light.
4. No problem getting a sun bed, even in August it was so quiet. We turned up at around 10:30am each morning and there were lots of beds. It does have a sign on the parasol stating beds should not be reserved, so this does seem to work, although there were some couples who reserved their 'favourite' slot every morning !
5. Because of the location, you get a wonderful breeze by the pool.
6. The hotel is designed around the central lifts and reception area, which means finding your way around is very easy.
7. Local Supermarket nearby, as is local bus stop and taxi rank. Its worth noting if you walk to taxi rank, taxi is 8 euros in to Rhodes town, but if you book via hotel it is 10 euros, even though its 8 euros coming back !
8. Free wi-fi in the room, but you have to ask at reception for them to switch it on, then it is temperamental. Free wi-fi is available in lobby area. You can take a laptop and they will provide an ethernet cable for free access in your room.
9. Gym light and airy, free weights, a couple of running machines etc..

Negatives:
1. Reception is dated and doesn't match the rest of the hotel, the plastic birds above are a big mistake and its just not very welcoming. Lobby, bars and the rest of the floor is modern and bright.
2. When we arrived there was no concierge, so the Taxi Driver had to help us in with our bags. Once we had checked in we were offered help with the bags to our room.
3. Not enough bar staff to cover the lobby, 1 person is expected to take orders then go back to the bar and make the drinks ! We waited over 15 minutes one evening before we walked out.
4. Tiles around pool are missing, making it look messy, even though these loose tiles kept my Daughter amused, picking them from the bottom of the pool and asking us to throw them back again. You would think someone would tidy them up from the bottom, but they were there for the 2 weeks.
5. Spa bath in our room didn't work, we did get an engineer to come over and he said it was faulty. The shower also leaked all over the floor, as the glass panel was loose, so we had to pop our used towels all over the floor when we had finished so we could walk around without slipping.
6. Nightime entertainment, poor, we went out most evenings to the local bars.
7. Children's club was the tiniest I have ever seen, my Daughter didn't go in once, its approx the same size as a garage but with floor to ceiling windows.
8. There were supposed to be Water Aerobics everyday, but he only turned up for the first week !
9. I had to phone for towels at least 3 times a week, they either forgot or didn't provide enough for each of us.

We did enjoy our fortnight at Atrium Platinum, we wouldn't return, but would definitely go back to Rhodes, as we loved the town and we spent most evenings there. Its beautiful and I would advise you to steer clear of the restaurants on the front and go explore the back streets. We checked some the best rated restaurants on TripAdvisor in Rhodes town when we were there and ate in some of them. Tamam (twice) Kerasma, both on the same road in the new town and both were fabulous. Their is also an Indian on the same road which is highly recommended. We also ate at Fainos in the old town, which didn't disappoint.

We hired a car for the day, and drove to Lindos and St Pauls Bay (lovely for snorkelling). We hired this in the hotel as it was cheaper than the holiday company.

Room tip: Best views are from high rooms because of the way its built.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HouseofBlues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Atrium Platinum Luxury Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear valued Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay in Atrium Platinum and for such a detailed review. Antonis and Maria send you their regards and thank you for the compliments.Your feedback is always important for us and we treat all comments with the utmost seriousness, as we always look to fulfill all of our guests' wishes and to fully satisfy them. Regarding the Jacuzzi bathtub and the shower, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and mention that this was an isolated incident, that we tried our best to take care of. We hope that you will consider visiting again in the future in order to allow us to change your view and overall impression.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews