We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but the prices were a bit off”
Review of To Megiston

To Megiston
Ranked #19 of 453 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had the mixed grill for one person and the sea bass, and everything was quite good except the overdone vegetables. the service was good and the atmosphere was OK. The prices though were as if we were 4 people eating and not 2...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Randriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apostolos N, Γενικός Διευθυντής at To Megiston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016


Dear customer Thank you for your positive comments . It is our pleasure to serve our customers as best we can and stay happy. We will be glad to see you at our restaurant .
Sincerely on behalf of the owners thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Megiston taverna on Sofokleous looks from outside really nice and it is located in one of the quiet side street away from the main shopping street just across an old mosque. Everything started well but we needed to wait for our food about twice as long as in other restaurants. Other guests were served before us despite that we were earlier there. Be aware when locals come – they will be served their food way before you get yours. We had fish and Gyros. The fish (sea brass) was OK but the Gyros horrible. It was probably some processed minced meat frozen before and had nothing to do with that which you can get everywhere else rotating on the sticks. The service was also not listening to special orders such simple as not to put any raw onions on the Gyros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IndianaKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apostolos N, Γενικός Διευθυντής at To Megiston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016


Dear customer Thank you for your positive comments. It is our pleasure to serve our customers as best we can and stay happy. Your parangeleia apparently delayed because of slow to cook the fish because he will slow roasting to cook properly. Not force those who write for the locals in our own restaurant everyone is the same, and servo series with priority and the roasting time since everything is fresh. We will be glad to see you at our restaurant.
Sincerely on behalf of the owners thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent three days in Rhodes and went here each day... food is very fresh and delicious, especially the octopus! Also really enjoyed the shrimp saganaki and salads. We appreciated that the service here was much "quieter" than the more touristy areas of Rhodes Old Town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apostolos N, Γενικός Διευθυντής at To Megiston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016


Dear customer Thank you for your positive comments . It is our pleasure to serve our customers as best we can and stay happy. We will be glad to see you at our restaurant .
Sincerely on behalf of the owners thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

i had a realy good time there,the food was teasted good, the service was great and the owner was very friendly with us!!!good prices and tha plate of kleftiko was realy good..me and my husband was eating there every day!!!thanks guys,i ll see u soon...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katia888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apostolos N, Γενικός Διευθυντής at To Megiston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016


Dear customer Thank you for your positive comments . It is our pleasure to serve our customers as best we can and stay happy. We will be glad to see you at our restaurant .
Sincerely on behalf of the owners thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

visit with my family and friends to the island of Rhodes in the last 3 years. Our proposed restaurant: MEGISTON. Our friends who had visited us and the tourism operator. is a traditional restaurant in the old town with knighthood decoration. the food was excellent with fresh fish, seafood, meat and Greek, homemade food. also features Italian specialties. the staff was very helpful and polite and very friendly environment. prices were very affordable and the portions were large and filling. at the end of our dinner treat traditional sweets and ice cream, baklava was perfect! we also treat ouzo, liqueurs and fruits. every time we go is perfect, listening Greek rebetika music. recommend it to all who will visit the beautiful island of Rhodes. is one of the best restaurants in the old city has been written about it in travel guides. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marbellaRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apostolos N, Γενικός Διευθυντής at To Megiston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016


Dear customer Thank you for your positive comments . It is our pleasure to serve our customers as best we can and stay happy. We will be glad to see you at our restaurant .
Sincerely on behalf of the owners thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed To Megiston also viewed

Rhodes, Dodecanese
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to To Megiston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing