We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, friendly service”

Golden Olympiade Peridis Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 414 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Was very pleased to find this lovely place again (after a two year gap), the staff were so courteous, and happy to recommend a light snack and a lovely wine, this restaurant is really worth out looking for. Overlooking a lovely shady square and away from hubbub of main drag.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    78
    26
    15
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Namsos, Norway
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Not worth the money, plain and simple. The food was expensive and the portions were small. The food was not very well presented on the plate either. The taste was ok, but I lost my appetite when I found a black hair in my Tzatziki. The biggest disappointment on Rhodos during our 14 days on the island. The price considered, we expected much more than this. Do yourself a favor, spend your money somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
199 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A POSH restaurant with a creative cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

In the sea of mediocre restaurants occupying the historical center of the ancient city of Rhodes, the Golden Olympiade is immediately noticeable by the quality of the modern design of its interior and of its big outdoor space under huge ficus trees with their trunk painted in glossy white, up to 2 meters. The table clothes and the pastel colours of the terrace furniture are elegant. The menu carries traditional, classic, Greek dishes but with much creativity. The veal tail, the lam, the octopus with humus were superb (we had 2 suppers there). The wine list is impressive, although several wines listed were out of stock and the waiter did not seem to understand that his customers knew about wines. Excellent value for money for the food, less so for the wines which are excellent but expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ideal place for getting ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were looking for to eat at the first night at Rhodes and we have no idea that the people standing behind the restaurants and try to persuade toursits to eat their places. It was so bothersome and we found ourselves to sitting that restaurant. Then a waiter came with a menu and try to persuade to open a very expensive wine at the winelist. He talked nonstop and not give a chance to look at the menu or cheaper wine. I got bored of his cackle and said just a glass of wine and greek salad octopus and calamari. The portions was smallest I ever seen in Greece. Taste was mediocre , price was 43 euros and very bad first night for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juneight A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We was very disappointed with the food in this restaurant . The presentation is none existent , just plonked on a plate .Very small portions . Main meals , had no salad or veg or rice or potatoes or chips . The waiter did not explain or ask if we would like , some with our meal . Our main meal , was a small portion , on a large plate . The food tasted ok , but nothing special .
Very Over Priced ! ! !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Olympiade Peridis Restaurant also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes, Dodecanese
 

Been to Golden Olympiade Peridis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing