We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel great location but go b&b not half board!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
ayrshire scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel great location but go b&b not half board!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

just back from our second visit to rhodes. last time was 7yrs ago at same hotel. hotel was very comfortable best beds iv'e slept in. great central location for old town,harbour and great walks around shops at night. good to have air con which you can put on and off at your convenience. breakfast was adequate and pleasant girl making omelletes every morning. bathroom bit tight but ok. there was hole in shower wall next to shower holder which i thought should've been filled in before guests used it. our room was 307. half board option at 10 euros each was not expensive but unless you like tepid soup pork or koftas nearly every other night and sparrows flying into restaurant and pecking the sweets humans have to eat don't go half board. plenty of restaurants nearby with more imaginative menus than chef in hotel. i.m not a french fry fan but it would've been nice once in the week we were there. instead of which we were offered them out as part of buffet breakfast. went couple of evenings out to a resturant called scalinis which was 300yds from hotel down to the left in pedestrianised area. food was delicious and 12 euros each. had a great holiday and staff on reception were very pleasant and helpful so if you're looking for a comfy hotel which is central to harbour and sights this is for you.

Room Tip: take pool side room at middle of the hotel as they have larger balconies to sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    319
    106
    26
    16
See reviews for
138
287
46
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We first stayed for a weekend in May 2011, liked it so much we came back for a 5 day stay at the Plaza this June. The room was good, the bathrooms clean and the staff very friendly. Our package was with 1/2 board and we ate breakfast and supper there each day. The meals were all buffet, but the food was fantastic. There were many choices, a great salad bar and lots of sweets for desert. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have seen in our travels. There is a pool and hot tub. They are both very well kept and clean. What really impressed us was the location. It is just outside of the old town and you can walk there in less than 15 minutes. You can walk down to seaside in 5 minutes. The bus station is only a 10 minute walk away. After touring the old town for a couple of days, we suggest that you take a city bus to Lindos, an old acropolis and tourist destination. For only 5 euros each way, you can take the 55 minute drive and enjoy the afternoon. Taxi fare from Lindos is 50 Euro, so the bus is the way to go. You can also go to the "Valley of the Butterflies". The best time to go is in the middle of June. but it is worth the trip to walk the gorge, even if the butterfly season is not at its peak. You can get a bus for 5 euros to the valley and there is a 3 euro entrance fee. There are only two buses there and back, so plan carefully. You can also take a taxi for around 35 euros one way. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for a room at the back. If you want sun, ask for a room with a pool view, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Excellent location, just 1 min walk from the shopping area.
Upclassed food quality at the main restaurant of the hotel.
Adequate - spacious and relaxing rooms, pretty much worthing the rate of 50-60 euros per night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to Mandraki Harbor. And around 10 minutes walk to the old town. The room was quite spacious, with a balony that overlooked the pool area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is free WIFI in the hotel lobby and there is a small convenience store across the road. The breakfast was good, however, there are far too many sweets and not much healthy options. I did notice that there was a terrible smell in the room the last few days I was there, lucky I was not in there much.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I went there with my parents and they wanted to stay in a nice hotel while I was more concerned about the price. This was the perfect compromise: we were at distance walk from both the old and new town od rodhes and the hotel was clean and had a nice pool and bar. My parents were very happy about the staff and the facility and I saved few money (which I spent on the amazing Greek food anyway!)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelidonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It is typical city hotel in a strategic location , at walking distance from the old city and the New Market. Ideal for those who come mainly to visit the sites and not the (crowded) beaches.
Nevertheless upon entering the loby a bad smell like open sewage prevailed and remained for the 2 days we stay WITHOUT any apology or explanation from the hotel. The lady at the reception was ready to argue with us when we showed her our booking with confirmed 2 beds while the hotel had arranged 1 big bed. She claimed has no staff at Saturday evening to prepare an other room. We have been offered ...to make up the room ourselves and the case solved. all in all no friendly approach. Rarelly you see any one smiling .(strangelly that day the newspapers mentioned that the hotel bookings in Rhodes were 50% down from the previous year!!!)
The breakfast was very good with a lot of choises and traditional greek flavors. SMILE PLEASE!!

Room Tip: the rooms looking the swimming pool were quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great location for access to the harbour, the Old Town and the beach, all within a 5-10 minute walk.

The rooms are a bit old fashioned and we noticed some damp on the ceiling. However, they're clean, reasonably large and definitely value for money. If you're a light sleeper - take earplugs! Either the noise from the aircon, or from outside during the night is guaranteed to wake you up. We had a pool facing room, and something that sounded like a machine used to clean the pool would wake us up at 5am every day.

The breakfast is ok - a full fry up and loads of sweet baked goods are on offer. It would have been nice for the hotel to have some more healthy options, but you won't starve.

The staff are really friendly (except for one old guy who told us 'this is a hotel, not a travel agents' when we asked for recommendations for day trips), and have a lot of local knowledge for great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are likely to be even noisier than the ones facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#54 of 126 in Rhodes Town
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Plaza

Property: Best Western Hotel Plaza
Address: 7 Ieroy Lochou Street, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#30 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel located 300 meters from beach, opposite Olympic Airways Offices, near center of Rhodes Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rhodes Town
Rhodes Town Best Western
Rhodes Best Western
Best Western Hotel Plaza Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing