We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Hotel”
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Agla Hotel
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very good location, only a few minutes walk to the beach and about 15 mins to the Old Town. We felt comfortable here, the rooms are more than adequate, very clean and good bathrooms, but not very good views, good food and the staff are excellent and very friendly and obliging. On the down side you have to pay for wi fi which you usually get free in public areas, there is only one plug in the room so I had to decide to keep the fridge on, charge my phone, my tablet or hubbies kindle. Also there is only about 20 sunbeds so if you weren't on the terrace by 9:30 you had no chance of getting one. Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday here and would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxychick1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you guests from Cyprus for your generally good review. I note your comments about views and just for your information you should know at one time we were the only hotel in the area and thus had outstanding views. However they built all around us and slowly our sea view rooms became less and less and the sun in the pool area too.
I know that everyone expects wi fi for free in hotels but the fact is that very few medium sized hotels on Rhodes provide this service. In fact I was just in 2 hotels in London for the World Travel Market and despite paying over 150 pounds per night the wifi was not free. I do however hope that in the future if the technology on the island improves we will be able to have this service.
May I take this opportunity to send you good wishes for the festive season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    194
    73
    19
    18
See reviews for
93
254
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in the Alga for 3 nights in September, I totally agree with the report from McCleery, the rooms are adequate and clean, in a good location for Rhodes Town, pool area is nice and the staff are lovely. We booked half board and the food was unexciting, restaurant in the evening is open 7pm until 9pm, but sadly if you did not arrive by 7pm then most of the food was gone, it was not replenished much, especially the hot food, mostly the choice was pork (yes pork again), no fish was served, not much choice if you are a vegetarian (we're not). All in all it was ok but we were disappointed as we booked the Alga due to the glowing reports on Tripadvisor. Drinks at the bar were fairly expensive but service was good. All in all it was good for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I think all in all this was a positive review but just wish you had given us that extra star. Regarding the restaurant I am investigating the comments but have to say this week with 80 people eating evening meal I have no complaints so far. However I will keep an eye on this and I am glad that you thought you got good value for money as this is our aim.
I am sad I did not meet you as I have good friends who live just outside Wrexham in a village called Holt.
Thank you for your review
Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limassol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here in September/October 2013. The hotel is situated in a good position close to the beach and 10/15 min walk to Rhodes town centre. The staff at the hotel were brilliant, always pleasant and smiling and they assist you any way they can. Can't fault them at all. Rooms are all clean and pleasantly decorated, though due to the position of the hotel, there are few rooms with a nice view. The pool is clean though there were only 20 sunbeds (they couldn't fit more round the pool) and these got filled up pretty quickly. As has been mentioned before there is only one socket in the room and this is awkward especially if you want to charge your phone and dry your hair etc at the same time. Unfortunately we had young and loud neighbours but some ear plugs soon cured the lack of sleep problem!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepieLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Interesting to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write it. I am very much aware I have great staff, and I am grateful to every one of them from the room maids to the restaurat and from the maintenance to the reception. Most of the older hotets only have one socket in each room and even in the modern new hotels perhaps 2, but we always offer to charge phones in reception if needed. The lack of sleep I can do nothing about but glad the ear plugs worked for you. The night porter can be called and will go to quieten noisy clients but I think you had bad luck as looking back I can see very few complaints of this sort this year.
Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Most if not all the reports are about the staff who would grace a 5* hotel with the friendly nature.
However we felt that the hotel was let down by the restaurant. The food was just exceptable but lacked variety and their were less choice the later you used it. The restaurant was bright and clean and enhanced by Sophia however it was a bit like a school canteen.
Would I go their again Yes but only on a B&B base. Its ideal for the Old which is about 10mins away and there are loads of Restaurents within mins of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I totally agree that our staff are very special as this is our aim in the training we give.We believe most of them give 110% for the clients and this is so important for a smaller hotel.
I was disappointed with your comments about the restaurant food and if you do come back again in BB basis would like to discuss this with you and get your imput. We use negative comments in order to improve the hotel and thank you for giving us a good mark overall.

Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

One of the prime reasons we chose the Agla Hotel was because of the glowing reports we read on here. Our expectations were high, but sadly they were quckly dashed. We paid extra for a room with a sea view on the 4th floor and were told it was a "superior" room, but the expense really was not worth it. Yes, we could see the sea, but it had to be viewed across some rather ragged buildings between which was a mere glimpse of the beach.
The room was an acceptable size, but the shower room was small and the shower itself very small. We only had lukewarm water for the first week, but eventually the problem was resolved and was fine for the second week. Storage space for clothes etc. was limited. We had to request extra coat hangers as there were only 6 in the wardrobe - we were given just another 4! Our tee shirts and tops had to be piled on a chair as there was no drawer storage space except for the shallow dressing table and side tables drawers. The only electric socket was placed close to the door opening on to the balcony which was most impractical. We had to move the dressing table stool to enable us to plug the kettle in. We found a kettle and 2 cups in the wardrobe, but we had to buy our own coffee and sugar and wash the cups ourselves! On the plus side the rooms were cleaned every day (except Mondays!) and the beds and towels changed daily.

The meals (breakfast & evening dinner) were adequate and of reasonable quality, but sadly limited, unimaginative and lacking in variety. The menu definitely needs to be expanded to give guests more options. The restaurant itself is not particularly appealing and reminded us of a school canteen.

The pool area is pleasant but quite small and at the time we were there soon became shaded.

Without a doubt the staff are the shining lights of this hotel. They are friendly, extremely helpful and informative. Sophia, in the restaurant, is an absolute gem. The staff make up for all that the hotel lacks in other ways.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCleery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I am sorry that you found the hotel disappointing and note all your comments. I sat in the restaurant this week and did not get any negative comments except that the desserts were limited. We are slowly upgrading our wardrobe space and we know the problem, you should have insisted on more hangers, as towards the end of the season they tend to disappear.
All in all I do not think the negative aspects you mentioned spoiled your holiday and I thank you for taking the time to bring your thoughts to our attention

Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Agla is in a brilliant location. A stones throw from the windy beach and local facilities. The Old Town and New town are less than 15 minutes walk away.
We were on Bed and Breakfast, the daily breakfast buffet was the best we've had in a long time. The quality and variety of food available was second to none.
The rooms were very clean and towels changed daily.
The staff are very friendly and efficient, it would not be fair to single out any individuals.
The swimming pool is a reasonable size with ample sunbeds available.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Rhodes Town.

Room Tip: A high floor room on the front of the hotel has a wonderful view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
A wonderful review, thank you so much, you covered everything and there is not much more I can add .
Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is in a good location with easy access to the town, but as many others have commented, it is the friendly staff that make the holiday here. Breakfast is reasonable quality but there are better options elsewhere for other meals than the buffet meals on offer. There does not seem to be any point in paying for more than the standard room as none has much of a view. The bar is friendly and efficient, but not cheap. There is a good pool and when we were there in September it was in full sunlight all morning. Everywhere is clean and fresh. The bathrooms are small in all the rooms we saw. If you want a quiet room ask for it at the back of the building

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back. There is an excellent shuttle bus service to and from the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dem0Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for y our concise and excellent review with valid tips. We are so glad to know you enjoyed your and thank you for raking the time to write a reveiw. Its much appreciated.
Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#38 of 127 in Rhodes Town
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#37 of 127 in Rhodes Town
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#24 of 127 in Rhodes Town
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#16 of 127 in Rhodes Town
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
#57 of 127 in Rhodes Town
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#22 of 127 in Rhodes Town
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Property: Agla Hotel
Address: 35 Amerikis, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Agla is situated 50 meters from the beach in a quiet area near the centre of Rhodes Town, only 5 minutes from the Old Town and the shopping centre of the New Town. Therefore it is in the ideal position to combine a beach holiday with shopping and sightseeing. Combining the advantages of a modern city hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, the hotel Agla is the ideal choice, summer and winter, for holidaymakers and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing