We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff really made this place”
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Agla Hotel
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“The staff really made this place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Other reviews have made reference to how good the staff are...and we can only concur. They are very friendly and helpful...with a good command of English.

We paid a very fair price for this holiday...an All Inclusive deal for four.

The rooms are fairly standard but comfortable, very clean and maintained well daily

The food is what one would expect for a 3+ star hotel....not spectacular, but very edible. Maybe not too much variety but something for everyone's taste.

Our only negative, and it's a small one, is that we arrived at about 11pm and the restaurant was closed. There was no alternative offered to us so we had to pay for a meal at an outside restaurant....something we hadn't really factored in our budget.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would happily recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SteveCAFC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review and also for your comments about the staff who work so hard to make a great holiday for all guests. I note your comment about the meal on the arrival which is a valid one. Our system is that the people who miss their meal on arrival get a meal on the last day or a set lunch at the pool. As we are sometimes not advised of arrival times of the guests my suggestion is that if you have a late arrival on your next holiday you contact the hotel directly and ask either to have a cold plate in the fridge in your room or if they can arrange something for you.
Pamela Salvaris
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    201
    80
    24
    18
See reviews for
101
272
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For anyone who has a bad word to say about the Agla you must be the one in the million. The staff, room service, facilities all excellent. The breakfast buffet and ever smiling Sofia set us up for the day, the room was always clean, bar and other staff always helpful and friendly. What more can you ask for. And this, only 10 minutes walk to the Old Town and a stone throw to the first of many ideal beach locations. I have however knocked one rating off for only one socket in the bedroom and the power going off when you leave the room so you cant charge until you are in the room which for the phones x 2 , Ipads x 2, Camera.....is a bit of a juggling act.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddiorhodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your great review and do appreciate your comments concerning the recharging of phones etc. We are hoping in our next renovation to do something about this but it has been delayed because of the economic climate. However for all clients benefit you can leave your phones to be recharged in the reception area at no cost.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your break and maybe one day we will see you again.
Pamela Salvaris
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I do not normally write reviews but having recently stayed at the Hotel Agla I happened to read their page. I was shocked to see the review NO HOT WATER, as I distincly remember the day that this Greek man was so badly behaved and asking everyone if they had hot water which they did. He was screaming and shouting in reception and called the ladies a very rude name which means lady of the night and was abusive to another lady .
I just want to say that the Hotel Agla is a lovely hotel with brilliant staff who were always kind and courteous and went out of their way to help everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We do appreciate it.
Hope to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Agla is a great hotel :) the location for the hotel is perfect...close to beach...close to new town and old town :)
Staff in the hotel is so nice and polite and friendly :) specially in the reception and lobby bar :) Felt welcomed all the time.
Rooms are nice and clean.... TV could be better but it is not that important as you don´t spend much time in the hotel room :)
Will recommend this hotel and if I come back to Rhodes I would be happy to stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_Aule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate that you used your valuable time to write your feedback.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have been staying at the Agla hotel for over 30 years and never made a review before, but feel I should share the joy that I get from there. The reception staff and the bar staff are wonderful friendly people who cant do enough to please. The hotel owners are also very wonderful. I go there twice a year so that must prove how wonderful this hotel is with a perfectly location for everything. The rooms are perfect and spotlessly clean and the food is very good value for money, a very relaxing place. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Your review is very much appreciated and thank you so much for all your positive remarks. We cannot wait for you to visit us again as it is a pleasure to serve such contented clients.
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wamberal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

There is good and bad here

Good

We had a fabulous sea view on the 6th floor
Rooms are clean and comfortable and spacious
Breakfast has good choices
Staff are friendly and helpful
Easy walk to the old and new towns

Bad

Located in a very very windy area so that the beach at the front of the hotel is unusable lest you be blown away

Wifi only in the lobby..really! !! In this day and age..does not even reach the pool area.

Safe in room costs 10 euro per stay..this is always included in every hotel ive ever stayed in.

Charge for pool towels even..we used our own.

Aircon in room turns off every time you open the balcony door.....very annoying.

Would I stay here again .....no... id try the other side of rhodes town away from the wind with wifi in all areas

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Raich-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests fronm Australia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will attempt to reply to your comments. Obviously we cannot do anything about the wind which I note was particularly strong when you stayed. Many of our clients chose to stay with us because we are on the windier side so this is a question of preference. As I have said many times wi fi is not standard in all hotels in Greece or in the world. I recently attended a conference in London paying quite a hefty rate and the wi fi was not free even in the lobby. We are a superior 3 star hotel but our rates are not extortionate and that is why we charge for extras which gives the clients the choice of where they spend their money. On a small island where we try to be ecologically minded it makes sense for the air co to go off when the windows or doors are open, one of many small innovations to make our little mark on the world.
Thank you for the positve comments about the hotel.
Hotel Agla
Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been a client of the Agla Hotel for many years now but this is my first review. I did not realise how important reviews are nowadays and that is why I have now decided to write one! As a regular client I think it is obvious that I find the hotel totally charming with wonderful friendly staff. They are always ready to have a chat or help you with any problems. The rooms are of a good standard and kept spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. The food is very good value for money and the bar a friendly place to relax at the end of the day. What more could one want!

5 stars for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzie29655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
A wonderful review and thank you so much for writing it. The management and staff do appreciate hearing positive comments as they work so hard and this is part of their reward. Working 7 days a week for 5 months is not easy and I am so proud of my staff.
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
#47 of 126 in Rhodes Town
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#25 of 126 in Rhodes Town
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#57 of 126 in Rhodes Town
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Property: Agla Hotel
Address: 35 Amerikis, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Agla is situated 50 meters from the beach in a quiet area near the centre of Rhodes Town, only 5 minutes from the Old Town and the shopping centre of the New Town. Therefore it is in the ideal position to combine a beach holiday with shopping and sightseeing. Combining the advantages of a modern city hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, the hotel Agla is the ideal choice, summer and winter, for holidaymakers and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing