We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, nice hotel”
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agla Hotel
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money, nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This hotel was booked last minute after we had to rearrange our travels at last minute. We wanted to explore Rhodes Town and found this hotel available last minute for a good price. (€60ish per night)

The hotel was well positioned, we were able to walk round the coast into the historic part of the city (roughly 20 minutes stroll). It was well located for evening meals and drinks as there appeared to be moderate nightlife in the streets nearby.

The room was clean and we had a great beach front view on the sixth floor. The breakfast was an adequate continental, plentiful and good service.

The only disappointing part of this hotel was the pool. It was in the shade for most of the day and there were limited sun beds. We had to hire towels for round the pool.

some reception staff lovely and very helpful, others inconvenienced by our presence

All in all, good positioning (if you don't mind a walk) and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby-lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    195
    77
    21
    18
See reviews for
94
263
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Agla has a great location; every attraction is at walking distance: a rocky beach to the Aegean Sea and a sandy beach to the Mediteranean Sea, the new city with all its bars and clubs, restaurants and shops, the medieval city and the ancient ruins. This West side of the island is very windy, but then again, it's not the hotel's fault :)

The hotel is not so small as one might think, but the rooms are (but I've stayed in smaller in Spain). The rooms were cleaned daily, as opposed to a 4 star hotel where we stayed last year, the towels changed daily and the sheets every 3 days. The price was very attractive, especially because we've been there in August. We had the half-board type. The food was OK, but very repetitive: in the morning always the same food, you could choose the dishes with your eyes closed and not mistake anything. The staff was friendly, although we didn't interact too much, as we spent time in the hotel only for sleeping. I noticed the swimming pool to be quite small, but they are all the same in that area and we went there for the sea, not for water pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed in the Agla Hotel after recommendation from a friend who visited a few years ago and I was thoroughly pleased with my choice. The suite that I stayed in was very clean and comfortable with more facilities than I expected, comparable with a 5 star hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and welcomed us every morning as well as evening and were happy to provide info on sightseeing and recommend places to see. Whilst we ate out most nights, when we did eat at the restaurant, we enjoyed the selection from the A la Carte menu, try the Shrimp Surprise - a delicious delicacy not to be missed! The hotel is located on the windy side of the island, however the breeze is refreshingly cooling in the hot heat of Rhodes. We only had a short walk into the Old Town and were 2 minutes from the beach so all round, the hotel scored highly for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This hotel charged for everything. Even the air-con had a timer on it. The breakfast area was stinking hot because they don't turn on the air-con until the minute people arrive. Then it goes off again (with the lights) at the crack of 10am, regardless of whether guests are still there. You even have to pay for internet, (2 coin-operated units in the lobby, but no USBs for downloading photos etc), pool towels and safety deposit box (at 3.5 Euros per day)!

The post-mix coke and tonic were both flat. The "bald barman" basically said bad luck. He only replaced a drink using a can of fresh tonic etc because the boss was nearby and heard what happened.

We thought we had booked a double room via the internet, but we got two single beds pushed together, and made up as one. (The booking form did say "double or twin room").

Yes it was very windy. This was a negative around the pool later in the afternoon, even though it was hot across town. Town was a good 15 minutes walk away, but there was a varity of small resaturants and two supermarkets nearby.

The English manager is a nice woman, and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portpad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Me and my girlfirned stayed here towards the end of June and had an absolutely fantastic holiday, the hotel is close to the beach and Bar street so everything we needed was within a few minutes walk. The staff were really friendly and helpful and a lot of the time we found ourselves eating at the hotel as the food was really good. The rooms were always clean and whilst you aren't too far away from the nightlife we managed to get a decent nights sleep every time. We both think it's one of the best hotels we've stayed at during our various holidays in the med!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weasel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel was the perfect place to stay in Rhodes. Location wise it is around one minute from the beach and Bar Street. The Room was amazing with great views from the balcony and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food nice and good value too for a hotel, particularly liked the poolside restaurant. If you are going to Rhodes I can not recommend the Agla enough, it made our holiday!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superjack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My wife & I recently stayed at this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this place to any couples. Bar Street is about a 2 min walk from the hotel, but this did not disturb our stay in the hotel. The beach is 50 metres from the hotel and the tip of the island about a 10min walk. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean. The staff could not have done enough for us. We did eat out a few times, but the food in the hotel is of a high standard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VuvuSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#33 of 126 in Rhodes Town
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#41 of 126 in Rhodes Town
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#26 of 126 in Rhodes Town
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
Blue Sky City Beach Hotel
#47 of 126 in Rhodes Town
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Property: Agla Hotel
Address: 35 Amerikis, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Agla is situated 50 meters from the beach in a quiet area near the centre of Rhodes Town, only 5 minutes from the Old Town and the shopping centre of the New Town. Therefore it is in the ideal position to combine a beach holiday with shopping and sightseeing. Combining the advantages of a modern city hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, the hotel Agla is the ideal choice, summer and winter, for holidaymakers and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing