We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agla Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Belair Beach Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atrium Platinum Hotel(Rhodes Town)
US$116
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mediterranean(Rhodes Town)
US$106
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$254
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dionysos Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$109
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
233
213
92
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
213
92
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townwindy beachsea viewnice hotelfrosted glassmini marketa stones throwthree starbreakfast roomswimming poolremote controlair conbar streetbathroom doorroom cleaningthe rooms were cleaned dailylovely island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Good service all round.
Comfortable room with balcony.
Situated in a convient and quiet location less than 200m from the sea front, within walking distance of the town centre.
Buffet breakfast catering for most tastes.
Staff were particulary friendly and helpful.
Difficult to fault.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

First of all, I will write about our whole stay, including a very unpleasant
problem we had.If you want to read just the overall comments, skip to the next
paragraph.

As we arrived at the hotel, we were excited to see a very friendly lobby, but
then we came to reception. We were informed, by the receptionist that there
was a huge problem with our room, and that they are going to place us in
Kipriotis for 2 nights. We said no, and asked what is the problem, with
receptionist saying "It just happened", "It was fast"... We called our travel
agency guide, but managed nothing. After 3 hours, we knew that there was nothing
we can do, but we insisted to move to a 4* hotel. They offered us hotel
Semiramis. As I knew that it has 4* and looks amazing outside, we accepted it.
We were put in the most horrible un-renovated room above laundry room. The
shower had curtain and hot pipes coming out of the wall. The shower was so
small, that I couldn't turn around in it. After a few floods, we managed to take shower...
But that is Semiramis, not Agla. When we came back to the Agla, we got a room in
the land floor, and as we were very tired from nights without sleep because of
the hard pillows in Semiramis, we went to nap although it was 1 pm. When we woke
up, I opened the terrace and was met with a huge branch from a tree. The car
noise was unbelievable, and to our shock, our room was above the kitchen. The
smell was horrible, but we didn't want another fight with reception. But the
pillows were ok and we thought we could sleep. We were so wrong. At about
midnight, a power generator was turned on, and there were vibrations and such a
horrible sound, that we informed the reception. I brought the receptionist to
our room, who said that we were right, so he tried to locate the machine that
was making the sound, but with no success. We asked for another room, but the
hotel was full. We had to turn the music channel on TV to get at least 2 hours
of sleep. Tomorrow we asked for another room again, and they said that some
people are leaving that day at 12 o'clock. We packed our bags, and waited noon
to transfer to that room. We were hoping for best, and we were lucky. We got one
of the rooms that is connected to another room in which no one was in. We had a
view on the pool, Plasma TV, but most important, it was quiet. We could finally
sleep. We got 2 apples and grapes as apology, along with Compliments card.


Overall, the hotel on the map looks far from the old town, but believe me, it
isn't if you go through the center of new town. It's about 5 min walk to D'
Amboise gate that leads to old town. It is just one street from the beach, so
it's in a peaceful location. There is a mini market in hotel, but it is more
expensive that those on the street facing the sea. The pool is not big, but it
is bigger than most of the hotel pools (Semiramis, Ibiscus, Mediteranean...) And
very clean. The breakfast was very poor. It didn't have boiled eggs or sausages,
it had very little meals, bread, toast, butter, salads, pie, cake, juice,
cornflakes, ham, cheese, sweet bread, scrambled eggs, and hot dogs... But at least it was tasty. I can absolutely recommend the a la
carte restaurant by the pool. The staff are divided, Receptionists that work
during day are not as friendly as during night: the man on reception is nice
and friendly. All restaurant staff are friendly, especially a woman that looks
and sounds like Sharon Osbourne :). Now, about the older barmen, at first I
thought he is a little funny, but then he asked one madman not to disturb the
guests. I think he is nice, but funny. The second room was very nice (see the
pics), with a very clean bathroom and a balcony. Be aware that cleaning ladies
come later, about noon and after. The air condition was more than good. We
didn't use coffee/tea making facilities, but it was working, and you get glasses
and cups. There are no shampoo's in bathroom. There is no "hurricane" on Rhodes as the others say,
but a constant breeze. We thought it was impossible to breathe without the wind. The pebbles/sand beach
near the hotel has waves only after 3 pm, but in the morning, it is even better than
Elli, which is crowded all day. Go to the windy beach near aquarium and take photos, because the waves are more then beautiful. Overall, without our problem, we had a great
time, and would recommend Agla to all tourists who want to swim and visit the
sites of Rhodes city.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UniqueGlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This hotel was booked last minute after we had to rearrange our travels at last minute. We wanted to explore Rhodes Town and found this hotel available last minute for a good price. (€60ish per night)

The hotel was well positioned, we were able to walk round the coast into the historic part of the city (roughly 20 minutes stroll). It was well located for evening meals and drinks as there appeared to be moderate nightlife in the streets nearby.

The room was clean and we had a great beach front view on the sixth floor. The breakfast was an adequate continental, plentiful and good service.

The only disappointing part of this hotel was the pool. It was in the shade for most of the day and there were limited sun beds. We had to hire towels for round the pool.

some reception staff lovely and very helpful, others inconvenienced by our presence

All in all, good positioning (if you don't mind a walk) and good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toby-lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Agla has a great location; every attraction is at walking distance: a rocky beach to the Aegean Sea and a sandy beach to the Mediteranean Sea, the new city with all its bars and clubs, restaurants and shops, the medieval city and the ancient ruins. This West side of the island is very windy, but then again, it's not the hotel's fault :)

The hotel is not so small as one might think, but the rooms are (but I've stayed in smaller in Spain). The rooms were cleaned daily, as opposed to a 4 star hotel where we stayed last year, the towels changed daily and the sheets every 3 days. The price was very attractive, especially because we've been there in August. We had the half-board type. The food was OK, but very repetitive: in the morning always the same food, you could choose the dishes with your eyes closed and not mistake anything. The staff was friendly, although we didn't interact too much, as we spent time in the hotel only for sleeping. I noticed the swimming pool to be quite small, but they are all the same in that area and we went there for the sea, not for water pool.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed in the Agla Hotel after recommendation from a friend who visited a few years ago and I was thoroughly pleased with my choice. The suite that I stayed in was very clean and comfortable with more facilities than I expected, comparable with a 5 star hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and welcomed us every morning as well as evening and were happy to provide info on sightseeing and recommend places to see. Whilst we ate out most nights, when we did eat at the restaurant, we enjoyed the selection from the A la Carte menu, try the Shrimp Surprise - a delicious delicacy not to be missed! The hotel is located on the windy side of the island, however the breeze is refreshingly cooling in the hot heat of Rhodes. We only had a short walk into the Old Town and were 2 minutes from the beach so all round, the hotel scored highly for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews