We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capsis Hotel Rhodes
Ranked #85 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the price”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This comfortable and clean Hotel was built in 1972; many of the friendly staff working there for nearly as long.
We paid £300 each in May, all inclusive of food, drinks and flights from London (Ryanair) for 7 nights, bargain.

Only 15 minutes from the airport by taxi for 18 Euros each way.
We had a great time at this hotel, our bedroom was extremely comfortable.
We had an 8th floor room facing the sea and the view was breathtaking, the mountains of Turkey in full view.
There is confusion over the 5 star rating systems, if you compare a new build hotel with sauna, steam room, spa etc for example then this hotel, would be classed around the 3 star mark.
Loved the food with plenty of variety, expect to come home a little more heavy.
The tasty cocktails are wonderful; you will not be disappointed.
The Hotel is looking worn and in need of modernisation, but on the over hand is remarkably pleasant clean and comfortable.
Rhodes is now very expensive since going to the Euro, so the all inclusive is essential.
If you like to Jet Ski, wind surf then you are in the right place, there is an underground tunnel leading from the hotel to the beach where the hire shop is.
The bus stop is just outside, 1.60 euro into Rhodes or 8 euro by taxi.
Negative individuals, who want it all for nothing, keep dreaming, you get what you pay for, and in our case, a lot more than we had expected, so very very happy.
Would we go back again, at that price…… oh yes.

Room Tip: Try for the 9th Floor rooms, they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nigel_estonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    74
    50
    47
See reviews for
81
161
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Rooms are very basic and in need of a lot of work to bring this hotel up to the 5*s it boasts, unless you are saying on the top floor which apparently are much nicer than all the other floors however only ‘classy people stay there’ which is what we were told by a member of the front desk!
One day we found a plaster attached to the new sheets and for the duration of our stay there was a used ear bud in the corner of the room (not ours as was there when arrived) even though the cleaners visited.
Bathroom had nasty brown stains in places.
Spent two evenings in darkness as the power in the whole hotel went out and people were stuck in lifts, received no explanation.
Food is terrible and boring, unless you don’t mind eating the same thing for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Entertainment was sparse; the same man played the piano for a handful of people that could find somewhere to sit on the 10 tables in the bar area, provided the electricity was working otherwise you got to watch him throw a tantrum.
The swimming pool is nice, but be advised you have to get up around 7-8am to secure a sun bed as there is not enough for the number of people that stay.
The area around the hotel is dead, and everthing has closed down (depressing) there are however two strip clubs right next door but they are also closed.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone I know unless I wasn't too keen on them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therese2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Capsis for 3 nights and I can see that the hotel may have been nice in its heyday but those days are definitely over. In my opinion a 5 star hotel would at least have turn down service and waitstaff service at the pool but this hotel had neither. They don't even serve you coffee -- just point to the machine for you to go get it yourself.

We were on the ninth floor with a large balcony with a tiny table and two chairs but when you sat in the chairs you could not see over the wall so I think a hightop table and chairs is better suited for that floor. The accommodations were cute but very outdated. One of the beds sunk down in the middle and was very uncomfortable. Air did not work when we arrived and had to have someone come up and adjust it. It was better but not really cool. Service was not that great -- had to ask for shampoo the first day and when we ran out had to wait over three hours and five phone calls later to get more.

Elevators were horrible -- only three went to the 9th floor and for most of our stay only two were working - very frustrating.

Food -- just OK. Dining is total confusion. I don't know if it was because it was at the end of the season or if they were just understaffed but no one seemed to know which end was up. We had a 1/2 board service which meant that we received breakfast and either lunch or dinner. It seemed that most people at the hotel were from the UK and had an all inclusive plan. Don't know why it was not offered to us but we booked through a third party and perhaps it may not be offered to the US clients. Would have liked to been offered the choice though. However, the staff is so used to everyone having wrist bands that it was very hard to try to pay for something - it was like they didn't know what to do with paying customers. It got to the point that we got frustrated and realized that they really don't pay attention as to whether you had a wrist band on or not so if they did not come back within a reasonable amount of time we just left and the drinks were on them.

Beach -- water was absolutely beautiful but getting to it was a trip. We had been told that it was a public beach and that if you wanted a chair that there was a fee for it -- no problem but it would have been nice if the hotel had tried to clean the area like the other hotels. We walked along the beach after our swin and realized that in front of the entrances to all the other hotels the beaches were clean of the debris and some like the Sheraton seem to have paid to have a separate area for their guests -- that's five star.

Would I stay at this hotel again or recommend it - definitely not.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pon421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

was a little worried about arriving at the capsis as read a few reviews that did not do it the justice it deserves. the hotel itself was clean. our room which we had a sea view was very clean and the most comfortable bed ive slept in abroad. the food was unbelievable, really really nice and plenty of choice all week long. could not complain at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstngez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We all are different and wish for different things; we wanted a hotel with a good size pool, adequate number of loungers, good food, and absolutely no mindless music and noise in the public areas including poolside. And, we got it; far more pluses than negatives with quite smart, polite and friendly staff. It worked for us, we loved it and so did others we exchanged views with. On the matter of pools, there were three and all good with one having a grassed area to lounge around. If I seem anti-noise that does not extend to the formal entertainment which was very good and included great dancers and a Beatles tribute band. I would give the beach a miss though and it appears the hotel has too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob670206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The room was titled 'Delux' yet it was on the small side with single beds looked very bland.Problem with the drain in the bathroom caused the floor to be wet after a shower.
The restaurant service was indifferent and the food boring with very few local dishes. Breasfast was the same every day with 'tinned fruit' Sometimes it was difficult to find a table due to the tables not being cleared. Staff were not very friendly.
There was a power cut on one of the days there were no staff helping customers and no security lights people had to use there mobile phones to provide light.
Some entertainment was provided but you never knew what was going to be on as they did not have a notice board with the information.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hi everyone, I've just got back from Rhodes and I stayed in the capsis hotel Rhodes. All I'm saying is don't listen to the negative reviews, I think people on here was thinking its going to be like the posh hilton. The hotel was nice, staff was so friendly, the cleaners was on the ball every time cleaning the hotel. The only negative I can say is the food was near enough the same everyday but was nice. So all in all we enough the experience.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevief18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.1 mi away
Area Blue Beach Hotel
Area Blue Beach Hotel
#24 of 31 in Ialyssos
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#49 of 126 in Rhodes Town
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sentido Ixian All Suites
Sentido Ixian All Suites
#27 of 126 in Rhodes Town
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsis Hotel Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsis Hotel Rhodes

Property: Capsis Hotel Rhodes
Address: Ialissou Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capsis Hotel Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 691
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Capsis Hotel Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Ixia
Capsis Hotel Ixia
Ixia Sofitel
Sofitel Capsis
Capsis Hotel Rhodes Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing