We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty grubby looking little cafe”
Review of Boukia Boukia - CLOSED

Boukia Boukia
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Dirty grubby looking little cafe”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Next to a taverna called Yiannis, which looked fractionally better but not much and had some diners eating unlike Boukia Boukia. We walked past several times as we visted Nireas and Romios. The restaurant didn't have a homely feel to it, nor did it appear clean or welcoming. The tables didn't do much to entice us in, there was no menu. The women waitress/cooks looked like they both needed a wash. If you like grubby looking cafes then head here for your home cooked food. I have no idea who gave this place excellent reviews, I have to ask where else have those reviewers eaten if they thought this was 'excellent and 'Good'', McDonalds? My husband and I beg to differ from them. Avoid like the plague and keep walking past. It may be cheap, cheap for a very good reason!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    3
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you want excellent real Greek food (not the stuff that's meant to be sold to tourists), this is as good as it gets. It's what you would find at the dinner table if you were from a Greek family. What's really nice is its dishes have a Rhodian influence with regional herbs and spices. And how many restaurants invite you to the back in the kitchen to show you what the specials for the day are?? Lastly, given the quality and authenticity, the prices can't be beat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in Rhodes city”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Almost in the center of the most popular monument-the Old Town of Rhodes island,in a quiet little street,you can find one of the best restaurants in the city.
Living in Rhodes for a whole life,having travelled a lot and working in the Old Town for five years now,i can tell that this little tavern is an oasis between the touristic "restaurants" that are drawing the customers,drowning the quality and raise the prices in crazy amounts.
Here you can taste a huge variety of home made food.
Being a Greek i can find,between the several plates, food that my mother and grandma are cooking. Everything is fresh made,cooked the same morning (as nothing can last till midnight,when the restaurant finaly closes). We can choose between lots of different food that covers all the tastes (from fish to meat, vegetables and rich salads),drink the delicius home made beer (when is available) and be treated with the most fresh fruits and home made sweets and liquors. To order,we can see everything to the place where the food is cooked and create our own plate,combining whatever seems to be more delicius. Sometimes the only negative thing is that it's so hard to choose... But no choice can be wrong!! And except the food that is already prepared,it's always possible to order the most popular and traditional greek food to be cooked strate away.
The restaurant is a family business,so the owners are cooking and serving themselves. The service is always fast and warm,however busy they can be.
Eating there (almost) every hard working summer day,i can highly recomend it to everyone: to the visitor,who wants to have a real taste of Greece in a realy good price (no meal costs over 8 or 8,50 euros per person) and to everyone who needs to spend a pleasant afternoon or evening with good friends and nice food. And this is what i do to whoever asks me where he can find a nice,non-touristic and non expensive restaurant.
Don't miss it. And enjoy!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisaMoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best way to eat”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We went to Boukia Boukia on the recommendation if our hotel and ended up eating there three times in four days!! It's best for lunch. There are no menus and you are invited to look at what's been prepared that day in the kitchen and choose what you like. There are different things each day and a good range of meat and vegetable options (which I was craving - Greece is so meat heavy). There are no prices but don't be deterred - it is dirt cheap! You will be pleasantly surprised! I wish there were more restaurants that operated this way. It's great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LivHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime venue”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We went to Boukia following a recommendation, and upon arriving we were told by the owner that lunch was not ready come back in an hour! We are so glad that we did. Greek (tapas size/style) dishes to die for and an unhurried approach with good house wine! It was so cheap that we though that there had been a mistake with the bill! Go to Boukia!
(It was so good we went back later that afternoon for another drink and snack!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boukia Boukia also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes, Dodecanese
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing