We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing 2 week holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Ranked #37 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing 2 week holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Kipriotis hotel 2 weeks (18.8-1.9.2013) for a sunny holiday. We had booked the trip at quite low cost and really had no expectations. The bus ride from airport took approx. 25minutes, stopping at 2 hotels in the west side Rhodes before arriving Kipriotis. At the hotel we got our room in an instant without any hassle. We stayed in room 424. Generally we were really satisfied and all the small remarks I list later are the things that kept the hotel from being perfect.

I'm not much of a storyteller so I'll just list everything:

Reception & hotel generally: Did not need reception services much but they were friendly and helped when we had questions. The hotel has a bar, a restaurant, lounging area, pool with pool bar & restaurant.

The hotel itself is about 5 minute walk away from the edge of the town but trust me, it's not an issue. Walk 5 minutes and you find the touristy area with tourist shops and tourist restaurants. Walk maybe 5mins more and you reach the modern part of the town with more shops (zara, bershka, H&M, pull&bear, Adidas etc.). Walk a minute or so and you reach the old town that was like all the other old towns in the mediterranean area. Restaurant after restaurant, tourist shop after tourist shop. Visited 2 or 3 times.

Elevators: They exist. But unless you can't walk stairs, don't wait. There are 2 elevators that fit 2 or 4 small persons so they are very crowded, we had to carry our luggage to 4th floor and had to walk daily up and down from breakfast and from the pool area but it was no problem, good exercise after all the eating!

Room: Regular 2 bed room you can expect in Greece, nothing fancy but definitely not bad. Very little noises during the night. Plumbing makes a little sound and the hotels nearby have program during the evening but still, not noisy in my opinion. The balcony overlooked the hotel across the street and the sea of course. The hotel across was really not the problem but the wind was: you could not play cards etc on the balcony and I think we sat there maybe 5 times during 2 weeks.

Breakfast: Had the same breakfast for 2 weeks so you can imagine the last few days were not very enjoyable anymore. Generally the breakfast was eatable quality. Warm food (eggs in different forms, croissants, sausages), bread with ham and cheese, greek yoghurt with peaches (canned), very sweet juice (orange or grapefruit) and machine coffee (cappuchino etc. too)
The breakfast was served 7.30-9.30 and it was usually crowded after 8 o'clock but to us it wasn't a problem because the queueing took max 1min and there was another breakfast room a bit further down that was always empty.

There was also a dinner buffet in the "restaurant" where the breakfast was (19.30-21.30). We did not try it as there were lots of restaurants in town. It would have cost 13€ so not a bad deal if you're really tired.

Pool area, bar & restaurant: The pool area was really great for us. It was quite crowded and we had to reserve beds before breakfast to get a good position in the sun. The pool is 1 to 1.6 meters deep so no jumping etc. There were swimming matresses left by other people in the first week which was great. The not so great side was that there were also balls that people were throwing in the pool and ultimately splashing water all over the place. There was OK music playing throughout the day, starting with more relaxing music during the AM and turning to a bit too disco in my opinion at 2-3 o'clock. The pool was closed at 18.00.

The pool bar offered all sorts of drinks for a restaurant price, we decided to save a few pennies and bought all drinks from supermarkets. Bar stools seemed to be occupied by the same people throughout the week.

The pool restaurant served a variety of foods from pizza, pasta and salads to greek specialities. The price was good, 20-30eur for 2person lunch seemed cheaper than going to the town. Going to the town for a lunch would take 30-60minutes when you can eat at the pool area in 20minutes and be back in sun tanning!

The hotel bar next to the reception offered a variety of drinks with about same prices as all over the town, 2-3eur for a beer and 5-7 eur for drinks. It was a good place to go before going to dinner or after the dinner. There was also a pool table in the next room (cost 2€). The room next to the bar had a sort of "book drop", with books mostly in scandinavian languanges and only a few in English.

Lounging area downstairs had a pool table, air hockey table and soccer table. 2 computers with internet access (0,50€ per 10min), changing room, showers and changing room. This was where people were waiting for their flight leaving back home.

The hotel supermarket had a premium of 0,20-1,00 eur comparing to other supermarkets so only use it if necessary. The drinks were almost normal price there so don't bother carrying much from farther unless you want to save a cent or two.

Rhodes generally & restaurants: supermarkets all over were all over and were a good source for drinks etc. All the food stuff was a bit expensive, fruits were a little cheaper. Beverages were about 1€, beer too. We paid 2,5€ for 6x1,5L water which was about the average price.
Restaurants seemed to have the same menu everywhere. If you don't eat the most expensive portions, lunch and dinner will be from 20-40€ including drinks (they usually cost as much as 1 main course). Pita gyros was offered in many places for 2-3€, a great snack for lunch or after a few drinks! The 2 old grey fellas in the pita place next to the Shell were great, try the place out!

I recommend checking out the tripadvisor top10 restaurant list for Rhodes, we visited quite a few of them and they were all OK. Try Jack's, its a good scandinavian style Grill.
Kerasma was good, Saffron was a slight dissapointment but still good Indian food. Tamam was the only restaurant that had a queue(!) during the evening but we didn't try it as it was a bit more expensive. Capriccio (italian) was a good restaurant very close to the hotel, order the bruschetta! I'd try to avoid the most touristy restaurants although we tried a few and they weren't that bad. You will definitely spot when you arrive to the tourist restaurants as they have guys trying to lure you in. For drinks, I'd suggest J&J bar that's on the west-east bound road from Shell to old town.

If you like waterparks, try the Faliraki one. We did and enjoyed. Free bus from the bus station or a taxi (15-20€). The ride takes a little less than 30mins. Google Faliraki water park for more information.

OVERALL: Very enjoyable hotel. Not much to see in the town but if you enjoy the sun and eating well its great place to spend your holiday!

Room Tip: Sea view is the best option, very windy though. Partial sea view rooms overlook the pool or the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank praez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    178
    127
    27
    15
See reviews for
48
283
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived at the kipriotis 11pm greek time,my wife and I,when we arrived at the reception the old gentleman on night shift looked puzzled and asked us to wait for 10 minutes, he said there was a little problem with our room. After 10minutes waiting he told us the room wasn't available and we had to walk to the belvedere on thesea front. The room should have been ready for 12 the next day. ( the belvedere wasa better hotel) they picked usup at 12the next day but our room wasn't ready. When we asked why they weren't bothered. About 12:30 we eventually checked in over 12hours after arriving. Thinking it can't get worse. We got up early next morning for breakfast and the queue was out the door, there were no seats left. The food wasthe same every day for breakfast. Supper do not look forwards toa dessert there is only one choice. The swimming pool area towels are put on sun beds early and there is not much room to walk around the pool is very small, you will be lucky to get a sun bed. Be careful in the hotel shop the prices are sometimes wrong. When we mentioned to the lady behind the counter she told us you don't have to come back. One morning when there was no room for breakfast we sat in bar area, and Marin the head waiter complained we shouldn't sit there as the table would need wiping so we asked him for a cloth. The pool bar man would eat himself if he was made of chocolate, he thought he was so wonderful. The music wasn't suitable around the pool, there was so much swearing motherf..ker and nig..er were words regularly in the songs. The lifts only takes 4 standing closely together. The carpets were badly stained more dirty than clean. Apart from that the cleaners were brilliant. The hotel was situated behind another hotel on a hill but close to the town. Not like the photo tho. The bathroom was tiny. There were no English channels on tv, Dutch and Swedish. A local said the rooms were regularly overbooked and this was normal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent two weeks in Kipriotis Hotel and literally nothing serious could spoil our holiday here.

Usually I don't stay at a hotel for too long during the day. I travel a lot, go sightseeing, visit different places, taverns and cafes apart from laying on a beach. So there are solid reasons why Kipriotis Hotel is the best fit for me.

The building of the hotel is not the newest here (well, all buildings are getting older at some point, aren't they?), although the hotel itself is very clean and cozy. Rooms are pretty comfortable, with nice balconies. We had a room with a view of a small lovely garden but rooms with sea-view are also very good.

I agree that sometimes it can be a bit noisy late in the evening. However, it depends. Honestly, we had no problem with getting a good night's sleep.

Breakfasts are good here but quite usual (yoghurt + honey was my favorite part), still dinners are delicious (Greek, Italian and Eastern cuisine). Variety of dishes might not be as diverse as you can imagine it but all is neat and pleasant.
Even if you don't like something in the food here, stay positive, because there's another advantage of the hotel — its location. I mean there are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby where you can try fresh seafood or have a cup of nice Greek coffee.

Moreover, it's barely 15-20 minutes from the Old Town (an ancient fortress with a beautiful palace and labyrinth-like streets with shops and restaurants) which is a stunning piece of history and architecture and simply a lovely place to walk around, also Archaeological Museum of Rhodes and Mandraki Harbor.
It will take just 2 minutes to cross the street to get the beach as well. Aegean Sea is choppy but amazing anyway.

Also there are a nice bar in the hotel, well-designed pool with snack bar, cozy veranda, hotel's super market, games, spa etc. — range of facilities is wide enough among other hotels of same level in Greece, trust me.

Special thanks to clever and always very friendly staff for creating great mood in the hotel and advising to take part in "Greek Night" here which was fun.

All in all, Rhodes is a wonderful island and you'll never get bored here. We enjoyed our holiday in Rhodes and our stay at Kipriotis Hotel, so why don't we come here again?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Vladimir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We visited Kipriotis Hotel in early August and had the pictures from our tour operator gave us (Winger) very high expectations. These may not be fully met. Kipriotis is a very central hotel, where you have all the sights at your doorstep - but also a rather worn and old hotel. The halls are full of carpet stains, the corridors are long and there are only two elevators (side by side) of the building (this leads to long queues morning and evening).

We stayed the first three days, on the first floor, but got thanks to the very friendly staff the opportunity to switch rooms to the fifth floor. This saved our entire vacation! The room was a bit smaller, but had to return double bed, there was enough air to sit on the terrace, you would not have to worry that someone was standing on the terrace, not to mention - you do not have all the noise in the hallways! For there is no doubt that it makes so much noise in the hotel at night, as the bar street is a 5-minute walk away.

We had breakfast included in our stay, we regret this a bit, for breakfast was really not very good. I ate eggs one day and was sick for two days.. Otherwise, they have a lot of dry bread (luckily they also have a toaster), fatty ham, tomato, beans, small sausages without a hint of meat, extremely sweet jam, juicWe had breakfast included in our stay, we regret this a bit, for breakfast was really not very good. I ate eggs one day and was sick the rest of the day. Otherwise, they have a lot of dry bread (luckily they also have a toaster), fatty ham, tomato, beans, small sausages without a hint of meat, extremely sweet jam, juice (with no hint of real fruit, just sugar), canned fruit and Greek yoghurt (very good!). The biggest problem is that it was always full in the breakfast room, and extremly hot. When we tried to find a place on the terrace outside the reception, we were given strict instructions that this was not allowed. Very sad.

Otherwise, the hotel has several events throughout the week, few of them seem to be particularly well attended.

The hotel still get plus points for a central location, have incredible service minded staff, a newly renovated pool area, air-conditioned room and good cleaning!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise in the nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff and nice entertainment ( live music) on Tuesdays. Good theme nights in resturant, among other Greek buffet and live entertainment.Rhodes has a very nice Old Town and Lindos is worth a trip.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent a week here in the beginning of the summer season (21.-28.4.). Hotel was quiet and cold. Affter few first days we didn´t need anymore extra blankets. Old visitors were complaining cold rooms, we just asked extra blankets :) Our room (in the highest floor) was big enough for us (three friends), bathroom was very big. Our balcony was small, we had a little view of sea. Restaurant was nice, breakfast was normal: nothing special and everyday the same. Staff was friendly all the time. Bar street is about 5 min to walk, harbour about 15 min. Position is very good! Greeks men are terrible, unless you are a single. I don´t recommend for families (hotel or Rhodes town), recommend for friends who are there to have fun!

Tip: Take earplugs with you, you can hear everything from the corridor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiutau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I like this hotel. So does my colleague, he has been there twice. It is close to the beach, the staff is helpful, good breakfast buffet.
If you don't like the beach, just across the road, stay at the pool. Good bartender and many chairs. There is a little store in the basement which is convenient. Large bar and balcony to sit and enjoy a drink.
The breakfast is good and fresh.
AC is included and it works great.
I recommend this hotel, cheap, good and nice

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#36 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#28 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexia Premier City Hotel
Alexia Premier City Hotel
#44 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#19 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#64 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#23 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes

Property: Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Address: 2 Valaoritou Aristotelous, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes Town
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing