We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We came with my husband to this prime location for the first time in early November. We really enjoyed every minute of our holidays. The location is amazing; the hotel is between the old town of Rhodos and a beautiful beach with crystal clear water! The staff, the food and the hotel amenities are excellent. We had such a great time that we prolonged our holiday. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We visited hotel Mediterranean for my wife's birthday in early November for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience: superb location, the old town in walking distance, very nice beach with clean blue waters just opposite of the hotel, very friendly staff, super tasty food, very clean and tasteful rooms with great sea view. We had a great time thanks in Rhodos thanks to Mediterranean!!! Th. T, Izmir

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo-Phoeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location - city break meets seaside holiday with a bit of culture thrown in - no problems on that score. We had the same issue as other reviewers when we checked in. We had requested a room on a low floor with a sea view but were allocated one on the 5th floor which is the 2nd highest. We did get our sea view but this room was really disappointing as the decor was pretty shabby, stains on the chairs, loose panel on the bathroom ceiling and a horrible pong from the drain. We were moved the next morning to a 2nd floor room which was much nicer but why couldn't they have got it right first time? Even the maid said it was a much better room - they need to pay more attention to details. It isn't as if they didn't know were coming!! On the whole, the staff were fairly helpful especially when my suitcase disappeared from Reception having been loaded on to a bus taking a party to the airport. We had a late checkout and had to leave our luggage unattended in the corridor - there was no system of labelling or any security. Fortunately, the guy on Reception was able to contact the tour rep by phone and they had stopped for a meal on the way to the airport, my case was identified and sent back to the hotel in a taxi. Thank goodness I went back when I did or it would have ended up who knows where. Just a couple of things they could improve at breakfast - the ghastly watery juices and the slowest, most inefficient 'make your own toast' machine. We don't normally stay in big tourist hotels so maybe we expected too much from this one.

Room Tip: Sea view - some of the others have no view at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel's location is extremely convenient, facing the sea near the center of Rhodes town and the medieval city.
Very comfortable and clean rooms and public areas, excellent breakfast, very friendly staff.
We will book again in this hotel on our next visit to Rhodes.
Thank the management and the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Mediterranean as part of our Air Transat package and we were there for 3 nights. When we arrived and shown to our room it was on the 2nd for overlooking the street, so I immediately went back to the desk and they checked their records and we were supposed to get a seaview room. They didn't have one available that night but they moved us to a bigger room with a seaview the next day and sent up a fruit basket and a bottle of wine. It is right across from the beach, very close to the New Town and a pleasant walk to the Old City. The food was good and lots of choice.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Daydreamer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have stayed many times in this lovely located and by the Sea Hotel and I can speak responsibly it is the bet in Rhodes if you wish to stay in Town. Great Management, Experienced long time Staff, Restaurant, Service,etc

Room Tip: If ou can affordit, book a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was confused by the reviews for this hotel prior to my visit. It appeared to be a hotel that you either love or hate so I was pleased to be able to visit it during the first week of October 2013 and find out the truth.
My main concern was the reports from people who booked sea view rooms were ,on arrival, given rear or side view rooms. So in order to make sure that this didn't happen to me I faxed the hotel 2 weeks prior to my arrival and received a reply confirming that my wife and I would have the sea viewroom we had ordered and paid for in March 2013. On arrival we were swiftly checked in and shown to our room. Before the porter left I pulled back the drawn curtains to admire the night sea view and was greeted with a view overlooking the back of the hotel. We immediately left the room fuming and returned to the front desk. After a big heated discussion I realised they didn't have sea view room to offer me but assured me that there would be one available the following day. They also said that this was a very unusual occurrence but as we know from Tripadvisor reports this was a lie.
The following morning we were given our sea view room at 9.15am and we were compensated very well I have to admit in terms of a generous bar credit.
After that the week went very well. The room and view were terrific, the food was good for the price, the waiters and bar staff were friendly and its location could not be faulted.
Shame they have to treat you so unprofessionally on arrival and they need to sort this problem out.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, have a seaview room but they are only in the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SouthNottinghamFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,
We appreciate your time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor. We would like to transmit our sincere apologies for the inconvenience concerning the first night in our Hotel Mediterranean.
Unfortunately, we didn’t manage to provide you the room you have booked and paid for, from the first moment but fortunately, the inconvenience was only for few hours.
Thank you for accepting our apologies and for enjoying your stay in Rhodes and in our Hotel Mediterranean.
At this point we would like you to know that we work hard trying to be professionals after 45 years of experience in the hospitality sector and during all these years, we always try to treat all guests with the utmost courtesy, honesty and personal attention. This is also the reason that our guests have honored us with their preference by receiving a Certificate of Excellence for the year 2013 from Tripadvisor, from Zoover and finally from Holiday Check!
We hope you have finally loved your stay with us, and visit Hotel Mediterranean again in the near future, to relax and enjoy the sea, the sun and the rich culture of our beautiful island!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
711 reviews
0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,533 reviews
3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: 35 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £57 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island's most privileged location, it is set in the heart of Rhodes' most popular sandy beach near the Aquarium, minutes away from Rhodes city, next to the Casino and a small distance from the Medieval City, Castle of the Knights and Ancient Ruins. Perfectly positioned, it is one of the very few hotels of the island that combines the benefit of proximity to Rhodes town, for those who seek to take advantage of the city life or explore the attractions of the Medieval town, with the comforts and all round hospitality provided by a first class hotel on the beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing