We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterranean

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

I've heard all the best about this place as my parents were there just a few days before me. I went there alone searching for a perfect spot to have a solo vacation. I needed a room, half board and a beach, and I get even more.
Price was a bit high for conditions in Serbia, but this I can proudly say amazing hotel, had given me the perfect vacation. As I've said I went alone so walking around the city was extremely easy as everything is near by. The staff was very polite, on service all the time, kept my place for breakfast and dinner and for drinks at the bar after meals. I had a spotless sea view room (217). Rooms are spacious and perfectly cleaned with great balconies and big bathrooms. Beach is just in front of the hotel, to get there you can use the main entrance or the tunnel underground in which you have showers, bathrooms etc. Perfect choice if you're decent enough not to walk half naked through the lobby. Meals were enormous (and we in Serbia eat a lot), drinks were generously poured and once again, the staff were so polite that I almost cried on my check out.
The hotel has a private pool but it’s not for people who want to swim a lot. It’s small and perfect for kids and afternoon laziness. It's true that Internet is a bit expensive but I guess this is the regular spot for business staying and if you want you can bring your laptop to many cafes. There are like 5 of them in 2mins distance, including Starbucks, which have free internet access. Hope to come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BojanaRomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    323
    123
    58
    40
See reviews for
155
360
53
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mediterranean Sunday through Thursday for our honeymoon. The rooms are nice size, very tidy and clean. We came on a deal that included flights and half board. We got a room facing a different part of the hotel. We upgraded the room to a sea view for 15 euro a night. Not cheap but totally worth it for people who like waking up and stepping out into the sun and a beautiful view. The hotel isn't large and you won't find a spa or a gym but there is a nice sized pool (which was closed do to the weather) and a nice bar (Prices are a bit high). Plenty of sitting areas in the lobby to hang out and have a drink. Free wi-fi in lobby and a few computers to use for free. For internet in rooms additional pay is required. The food was good and the dinner was way more than anyone really needs to eat. The staff were friendly and helped us out. It's a 7 min walk from the old city and to get to the beach all you have to do is cross the street. The casino is a min walk away, for people who enjoy a gamble. (tip - don't go back for the third time: it is not a charm! :)) Car rentals can be found all around. Overall, A really good hotel for someone that doesn't like huge, too fancy hotels. Simple yet clever, friendly and has all you need.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank studentneedsvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amboise, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Actually, I stayed there in july 2009 but the system did not allow an older date. The staff was extraordinary, we made a lot of sightseeing and trips. And, as we had breakfast and dinner included, sometimes we got to the holtel later than the time of serving dinner and we took a lunch box and served a lunch there, another day. The hotel is very clean, the staff attentive and I even saw people that come back there for another stay. The food is more than enough, sweedish buffet in the morning and at dinner, both the dinner and the lunch serving a la carte. the hotel is near the medieval city, center of Rodos town, near the Aquarium, the harbor, the clubs and the museums; it has sea view, a side view - allows you to see both sides of the island as the hotel is situated in the north most point, and back view. The pool is rather small, but the sand is just across the road, in front of the hotel, so.... there is the wonderful sea... i recommend it. Do not miss the trip to Prassonisi. Enjoy your stay as musch as we did and it was not our first stay in Greece....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dikimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Hotel Mediterranean was our first stop on our 2 week adventure of 4 Creek Islands and it was absolutely beautiful. Rhodes is such a beautiful island filled with lots of great adventures. The food is fantastic, the wine was the best I had in Greece! The variety on the breakfast buffet table every day was great! Our room was clean and very comfortable, the staff was always willing to help with local things to do. The market is amazing and the people are very welcoming and humble. The ocean is just steps away from the hotel and it is absolutely georgeous. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffaelaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

We loved this hotel, definitely a keeper. Great location, great view of the sea from our room, friendly and knowledgeable staff, very clean swimming pool. Fantastic breakfast, but no fresh orange juice. The hotel and the rooms are very clean. Good breakfast, but no fresh orange juice……. Walking distance to the fantastic Medieval Town. Internet access, but not free. Beautiful rocks by beach, great colors)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emphyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Very nice hotel. Extremely busy when I was there as it's the only beach front hotel open at that time of the year. Be prepared for a long wait for your room at check-in. Breakfast was very good and plentiful with quite a selection of foods. Very convenient to the old town. I visited it on a Sunday when most of the shops were closed, thus very peaceful to walk around. One interesting thing that I found unusual in this type of touristic attraction is that the people who reside in the old town are very poor, so all businesses geared to the residents e.g. supermarkets, etc. are very inexpensive, as opposed to the souvenir shops and restaurants there. Be careful, set markers of the entrance you use, I got hopelessly lost and when I finally made it out through a different exit/entrance had to take a taxi back to the hotel (normally 10 minute walk from the hotel). Do not understimate old town, it's quite large. Restaurants are plentiful in the area, although not all are open that time of the year. BE aware that there are no boat transportation to Lindos or Faliraki (Sp?), only bus transportation that time of the year. Make sure you point at your destination in a map to the driver or other fellow greek passangers as they do not announce the names of the towns. The sea water was coolish, and the beach is quite stoney, so water shoes are a must if you are not a local. The beach in front of the hotel was packed every day as the weather was beautiful (80 day time 50's at night) not a cloud in the sky the 5 days I was there, although the latest fad I guess is a game that is played by 2 people, a version of ping-pong but with a bigger ball and paddle. It must be the most annoying noise in the universe when 100+ people are playing it at the same time. Found a very honest and reliable taxi driver, his name is the loose translation of George and his cell number is 6974813694, very nice and speaks English. He works from 3 or 4 PM on. All in all, nice hotel, location and Manager. Thank you Priscila for your assistance. Very kind of you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We always choose to stay in this hotel every couple of years when we visit Rhodes all the way from Hawaii.

It's location in Rhodes Town is great as it is right opposite the "less windy" side of the beach so the ocean view from our room is really beautiful and it is also just a few minutes walk to Old Town, Rhodes Harbour, Aquarium and the Casino.

The Mediterranean offers a great buffett breakfast, which is always a good start to our day. We also love having our evening drinks at the hotel bar which has most of its seating outside. It is beautiful to sit and relax overlooking the beach and watch the passing parade of people whilst we enjoy having our drinks with a generous choice of various tasty snacks offered "buffet style".

All the staff provide such great service and we would personally like to thank Priscila, Niko & Alexandros at the front desk, and also to Michael our attentive waiter at the bar.

We are creatures of habit and love staying at this hotel, and look forward to be come back again in 2012.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDRINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Property: Hotel Mediterranean
Address: 35, Kos (Cos) Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#32 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island's most privileged location, it is set in the heart of Rhodes' most popular sandy beach near the Aquarium, minutes away from Rhodes city, next to the Casino and a small distance from the Medieval City, Castle of the Knights and Ancient Ruins. Perfectly positioned, it is one of the very few hotels of the island that combines the benefit of proximity to Rhodes town, for those who seek to take advantage of the city life or explore the attractions of the Medieval town, with the comforts and all round hospitality provided by a first class hotel on the beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing