We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Andreas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Andreas
Ranked #68 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Kensington, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Imagine you are in a dream world with castles with turrets, minarets and a distant land across sparkling blue Mediterranean waters. That is your view from Hotel Andreas. The rooms are filled with light; the location is in the middle of the Old Town but on a slight hill up a side street, without noise and bustle. The accommodations are clean and comfortable – my room had a deck and a view of minarets, the sea and the hills of Turkey. And the breakfast was delicious – Greek yogurt with fruit and fresh bread, a cup of strong coffee, while watching the sun rise over the walled city. Hotel Andreas transformed Rhodes into a wonderland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your poetic review of our unique hotel and our breakfast ( included in the price) Please come back soon to be inspired by the poetic landscape of Rhodes!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    43
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
66
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We loved the Hotel Andreas. I actually do not usually write these reviews -- the occasional Expedia review -- and in fact this is my first TripAdvisor review after years of using it, but I had such a great stay at the Andreas that a review is definitely in order. First, our hosts – Constance and David were welcoming, friendly and really helpful. That’s one of the things that made the stay special – both Constance and David were very generous with their time explaining things to us about Rhodes and sharing their insider tips on restaurants and places to go. The seafood place nearby they recommended was superb. As to the hotel itself, we had a room that slept three (myself and two kids) and that can be hard to find in Europe – so often it is necessary to book separate rooms. The bathroom was simple but perfectly fine – it certainly was more than adequate. The room was very clean and well-presented. This is a historic Ottoman era building so it has its quirks – but that is what makes it so different and appealing. When I go to a place like Rhodes I am not looking for the Holiday Inn. The free wifi is a plus and works fine – it’s a good connection. There was a little common seating area just outside the room shared by several rooms where we could make ourselves some tea – a nice touch. The breakfast terrace is simply extraordinary – it is really an amazing view from up there. A pleasant breeze blows though – it’s just delightful. There’s a second guest area down below – a spacious private courtyard for the guests to use and relax in. I say all this because it is rare that a hotel in this price range has such generous common areas. We liked the location a lot – Rhodes can be pretty touristy and it was good being just a bit away from the tourist “tat” – yet we were close enough to most everything. (One tip -- if you can, try to make it to the market near the hotel just outside the wall but caution – it is not on every day – Constance can tell you the day. It’s almost all locals.) So five stars – even with a few imperfections, it was just such a pleasant experience staying there with these gracious hosts, the view is unbeatable and it is very good value-for-money. The little imperfections are tolerable and more than outweighed by its historic character, charm and uniqueness. We will be back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielBK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for your review of the Hotel Andreas. We know from your post that you are well traveled and sophisticated so your review means a lot to us. We hope you return soon to Greece and the Hotel Andreas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

There are lots of good things about this hotel. Firstly the owners are helpful and informative - only too happy to help with taxi bookings etc which is a real asset. The place is spotlessly clean. Public areas are lovely - the little bar and breakfast terrace overlooking the port; and the garden which gets the afternoon sun are great places to sit, read, contemplate. And in the cool interior of the building there is a communal area where tea and coffee and refrigerated water are available free of charge. The Ottoman character of the house is reflected in some of the soft furnishings, tiles and pictures - although this house has not been 'restored' to its former Ottoman glory.

Breakfast is good. Fresh bread, white and rustic brown - fresh fruit - boiled eggs - yogurt and honey - homemade preserves - good coffee on tap - and fresh feta and olives. All served up with that wonderful view.

However ..... depending on what you want from your room, you may find that there are lots of not great things about this hotel too. All rooms differ slightly, so my review is for ROOM 20 and ROOM 17. The facilities in these rooms are basic and just OK. In both rooms we could feel dampness in the bed and in the towels. Furniture is very tired and in need of updating. It goes with the nature of an old building that bathrooms are odd shapes and not entirely user friendly - like the tiny hand basin in 20 ... if you want to splash your face, you either have to aim in that general direction or bend to the basin and hit your head on a badly positioned glass shelf. Lights not working. Wobbly plug sockets not quite attached to wall. Sink plugs not working and no bath mats provided which scuppers the eco message about saving water/towels.... we had to sacrifice our precious towels to make the bathroom floor safe after a shower.............etc etc.
In 17, delightful though the mezzanine bed space is, neither of us could stand up in it ( I'm 5"1 ). Shower wets toilet, nowhere to put toiletries except a set of tiny shelves that are unusable as they are not level..........

None of these things are the end of the world, and are fine if your room is not a major component of your enjoyment. Of course other rooms may be less quirky. All things considered, I think comparable breakfast and public areas could be found in hotels with better room facilities, so I have to be honest and say - it is just about average.

Room Tip: 20 is small. It gets noise from the communal areas, and noise from room above. Windows look straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your constructive criticism. We value your input and we will correct the problems. We hope welcome you back to the Hotel Andreas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had really a pleasant stay at hôtel Andreas. The room was beautifull, clean and romantic. We even had a terras overlooking the entire old city. The breakfast (included in the price, which normally isnt with all the other hotels in greece) was divers And fresh. The building is Nice, authentic and nicely decorated. The staff is really helpfull And kind. The perfect way To enjoy Rhodes!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JbDebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Andreas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My housemate and I shared a wonderful room at the Hotel Andreas within the walls of the old city of Rhodes. The hotel has been remodeled from a single family mansion and is situated at the top of a small hillside neighborhood. The ancient cobblestone streets and arches seem right out of a movie set...but it's the real deal. Felt like we were staying in a private home in ancient Greece with all the amenities of the 21st century. The small staff was friendly and helpful, but not in your face. We never wanted for anything. It's a perfect place for a large family vacation, or retreat, with 7 or so rooms and a dining area with view of the City and the ocean. Wonderful winding walks through ancient streets right from the hotel to the center of the old city...restaurants, atmosphere, shopping and fabulous people watching. LOVED this place, and LOVED Rhodes. Great help from staff on "non-touristy" restaurant choices.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you can return to see the improvements we have made. We have two courtyards now, each 100 sq meters making our common space the biggest in the old town !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our impressions of Hotel Andreas varied from highly impressed to slightly appalled . The staff are, to a man, delightful - very friendly and always helpful. Our pickup from and return to the airport was extremely efficient. Breakfast buffet was good with lots of local and homemade food and the position within the walls was within an easy and interesting walk of all the sights. The views from our roof terrace and the breakfast terrace must be among the best in Rhodes.
The big letdown was the room (23) which while a reasonable size was dingy, somewhat tatty and furnished with some of the cheapest furniture I have ever seen. The tiny bath/shower was very old and stained and the green , gloopily varnished crazy paved floor was vaguely repellent. With a very hard and creaky bed too you got the impression that this room had been furnished and decorated with only one thing in mind - to spend as little as possible. Almost forgot - one of the sun loungers on the roof was broken and unusable. By Greek standards this is quite an expensive hotel and our room could easily been made much more pleasant with little outlay.
The owners, who have been lucky enough to assemble a great team are not reinvesting in the place, with the excuse of being historic and chic. I think the term is " laughing all the way to the bank" and we were glad to be leaving after two nights. There must be better places in Rhodes Old Town.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are sorry that our guests disliked the room. We would have been more than happy to change it. We would like to welcome them to return and stay in our honeymoon suite free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in May. We opted for the room with a terrace overlooking the town. What a magnificent view! Our private bathroom was down the corridor but this was not a problem as bathrobes were provided. Every room is different which adds to the charm of the place. The hosts are most welcoming and the bread and marmalade in a morning superb. Patrick's coffee? Delicious. If you like somewhere different and quirky this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
We hope you had a good summer.
May seems so far now!
Thank you for choosing our place during your stay in the old town.
May be you will have the opportunity to taste our marmelade again!... with the best coffee of Rhodes.
Sincerely
Hotel Andreas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#78 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#31 of 126 in Rhodes Town
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medieval Inn
Medieval Inn
#5 of 54 in Rhodes Town
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Attiki
Hotel Attiki
#2 of 54 in Rhodes Town
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andreas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreas

Property: Hotel Andreas
Address: Odos Omirou 28D, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Andreas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andreas is small hotel converted from an Ottoman mansion overlooking the old town of Rhodes and the sea. We are located in a disco free, residential neighborhood. We serve breakfast on our panoramic terrace each morning. Every evening from 6-9:30 pm we light the candles in our private bar for guests only. Meet fellow travelers and a friendly international staff at the Hotel Andreas. Nous parlons Francais, Hellinika, Espanol, Italiano, Deutsch et Neerlandis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Andreas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Andreas Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing