We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
89
43
8
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
43
8
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Imagine you are in a dream world with castles with turrets, minarets and a distant land across sparkling blue Mediterranean waters. That is your view from Hotel Andreas. The rooms are filled with light; the location is in the middle of the Old Town but on a slight hill up a side street, without noise and bustle. The accommodations are clean and comfortable – my room had a deck and a view of minarets, the sea and the hills of Turkey. And the breakfast was delicious – Greek yogurt with fruit and fresh bread, a cup of strong coffee, while watching the sun rise over the walled city. Hotel Andreas transformed Rhodes into a wonderland.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cheyanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for your poetic review of our unique hotel and our breakfast ( included in the price) Please come back soon to be inspired by the poetic landscape of Rhodes!!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We loved the Hotel Andreas. I actually do not usually write these reviews -- the occasional Expedia review -- and in fact this is my first TripAdvisor review after years of using it, but I had such a great stay at the Andreas that a review is definitely in order. First, our hosts – Constance and David were welcoming, friendly and really helpful. That’s one of the things that made the stay special – both Constance and David were very generous with their time explaining things to us about Rhodes and sharing their insider tips on restaurants and places to go. The seafood place nearby they recommended was superb. As to the hotel itself, we had a room that slept three (myself and two kids) and that can be hard to find in Europe – so often it is necessary to book separate rooms. The bathroom was simple but perfectly fine – it certainly was more than adequate. The room was very clean and well-presented. This is a historic Ottoman era building so it has its quirks – but that is what makes it so different and appealing. When I go to a place like Rhodes I am not looking for the Holiday Inn. The free wifi is a plus and works fine – it’s a good connection. There was a little common seating area just outside the room shared by several rooms where we could make ourselves some tea – a nice touch. The breakfast terrace is simply extraordinary – it is really an amazing view from up there. A pleasant breeze blows though – it’s just delightful. There’s a second guest area down below – a spacious private courtyard for the guests to use and relax in. I say all this because it is rare that a hotel in this price range has such generous common areas. We liked the location a lot – Rhodes can be pretty touristy and it was good being just a bit away from the tourist “tat” – yet we were close enough to most everything. (One tip -- if you can, try to make it to the market near the hotel just outside the wall but caution – it is not on every day – Constance can tell you the day. It’s almost all locals.) So five stars – even with a few imperfections, it was just such a pleasant experience staying there with these gracious hosts, the view is unbeatable and it is very good value-for-money. The little imperfections are tolerable and more than outweighed by its historic character, charm and uniqueness. We will be back.

Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DanielBK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for your review of the Hotel Andreas. We know from your post that you are well traveled and sophisticated so your review means a lot to us. We hope you return soon to Greece and the Hotel Andreas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

There are lots of good things about this hotel. Firstly the owners are helpful and informative - only too happy to help with taxi bookings etc which is a real asset. The place is spotlessly clean. Public areas are lovely - the little bar and breakfast terrace overlooking the port; and the garden which gets the afternoon sun are great places to sit, read, contemplate. And in the cool interior of the building there is a communal area where tea and coffee and refrigerated water are available free of charge. The Ottoman character of the house is reflected in some of the soft furnishings, tiles and pictures - although this house has not been 'restored' to its former Ottoman glory.

Breakfast is good. Fresh bread, white and rustic brown - fresh fruit - boiled eggs - yogurt and honey - homemade preserves - good coffee on tap - and fresh feta and olives. All served up with that wonderful view.

However ..... depending on what you want from your room, you may find that there are lots of not great things about this hotel too. All rooms differ slightly, so my review is for ROOM 20 and ROOM 17. The facilities in these rooms are basic and just OK. In both rooms we could feel dampness in the bed and in the towels. Furniture is very tired and in need of updating. It goes with the nature of an old building that bathrooms are odd shapes and not entirely user friendly - like the tiny hand basin in 20 ... if you want to splash your face, you either have to aim in that general direction or bend to the basin and hit your head on a badly positioned glass shelf. Lights not working. Wobbly plug sockets not quite attached to wall. Sink plugs not working and no bath mats provided which scuppers the eco message about saving water/towels.... we had to sacrifice our precious towels to make the bathroom floor safe after a shower.............etc etc.
In 17, delightful though the mezzanine bed space is, neither of us could stand up in it ( I'm 5"1 ). Shower wets toilet, nowhere to put toiletries except a set of tiny shelves that are unusable as they are not level..........

None of these things are the end of the world, and are fine if your room is not a major component of your enjoyment. Of course other rooms may be less quirky. All things considered, I think comparable breakfast and public areas could be found in hotels with better room facilities, so I have to be honest and say - it is just about average.

Room tip: 20 is small. It gets noise from the communal areas, and noise from room above. Windows look straight down into breakfast terrace. Curtains don't cover windows. 17 mezzanine ceiling really low. Low balcony which could be dangerous if disorientated during night. Small bathroom window opens directly onto public tea/coffee area..........
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you very much for your review and your constructive criticism. We value your input and we will correct the problems. We hope welcome you back to the Hotel Andreas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had really a pleasant stay at hôtel Andreas. The room was beautifull, clean and romantic. We even had a terras overlooking the entire old city. The breakfast (included in the price, which normally isnt with all the other hotels in greece) was divers And fresh. The building is Nice, authentic and nicely decorated. The staff is really helpfull And kind. The perfect way To enjoy Rhodes!

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JbDebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Andreas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My housemate and I shared a wonderful room at the Hotel Andreas within the walls of the old city of Rhodes. The hotel has been remodeled from a single family mansion and is situated at the top of a small hillside neighborhood. The ancient cobblestone streets and arches seem right out of a movie set...but it's the real deal. Felt like we were staying in a private home in ancient Greece with all the amenities of the 21st century. The small staff was friendly and helpful, but not in your face. We never wanted for anything. It's a perfect place for a large family vacation, or retreat, with 7 or so rooms and a dining area with view of the City and the ocean. Wonderful winding walks through ancient streets right from the hotel to the center of the old city...restaurants, atmosphere, shopping and fabulous people watching. LOVED this place, and LOVED Rhodes. Great help from staff on "non-touristy" restaurant choices.

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Marna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you can return to see the improvements we have made. We have two courtyards now, each 100 sq meters making our common space the biggest in the old town !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews